Customer Reviews for

From Sea to Shining Sea

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND - EXCELLENT READING!

    Chronicles the Rogers/Clark family from before the Revolutionsry War to just after the Lewis & Clark expedition. Primarily centers on George Rogers Clark - A real true American Patriot - and his younger brother William. Inerspersed throughout, until their death, are the parents John & Anne Rogers Clark. A truely magnificant family with a great foundation in their parents. I would recommend this book to anyone, especually those with a love of earlier American history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    A fitting tribute to our frontier families

    I have read many historical novels and lived in PA & NJ where many battles were fought. In these descriptions of the battles and period of 1778-1779 I especially felt the characters were live people and I lived through their experiences. Written from a mother's experience added greatly to the reality of living in those days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    So very worth your time!

    I found this book epic-like in it's span of history, and psychological in it's character development. Completely absorping me from page 1, this historically-based book became a tremendously touching familial story to me. I have read other books by Thom, though wasn't as stirred. There was just something about this novel... I was so addicted to the story that by the time I finished, I felt mournful in completing the last page. ...the true sign of a great book to me!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Amazingly awesome

    I am a huge American history buff and am especially fond of Colonial times and living. This book has that and more. Battle sequences are amazing! I found it imposible to put down. I must say dont be intimidated by the large amount of pages. Its so good you'll be done before you know it and be ready to pick it up again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Thorough and well written

    This is a most enjoyable and educational book. Keep a US atlas at your side as you read this, and you will you have a better understanding of what was accomplished. A vivid reminder of the courage and sacrifice that built this country.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 1999

    Add This To Required Reading Lists

    When I began this book, I thought it was going to be a bit of a slow read. Soon enough I was caught up in the tale of the Clark family. This book made me realize the courage that was required when the Colonies declared their freedom from England. I was humbled by the sacrifices that men and women made to secure that freedom that we enjoy today. The journey of the Lewis and Clark Expedition was stunningly told in great detail. I felt as though I was on the trip with them. This book should be required reading in high schools! It taught me more than everything else that was ever presented to me on the subject. A wonderful read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Excellent!

    I love this book. I am passing it on to my family members knowing they will thoroughly enjoy it too. Makes me wish I was alive when it all went down. I realize now what people like me went through to make this country a UNION.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Loved this fascinating real life saga! What a contribution the

    Loved this fascinating real life saga! What a contribution the Clark family make for all of us. Who knew the Revolutionary War and the Lewis and Clark expedition could be such a page turner?I learned so much and have more appreciation of what others have done. The fact that it comes from the mothers point of view is also different. My only wish was that the map on the first pages was easier to read. I ended up getting a regional map out so I could follow their exploits. Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I highly recommend this epic story to anyone who enjoys American history

    The story starts just before the Revolutionary War and goes on thru the Lewis and Clark expedition to the Pacific ocean in the early 1800's. Most of the story surrounds John and Ann Rogers Clark's six sons. Their four daughters story's intertwine to enlighten the story and add some romance. This book is over 900 pages long but is very hard to put down so the pages just fly by. I have read other books by this author and they have been real good also. I am from the old school, so I would not recommend this book for children or adults who are faint of heart. He is pretty vivid in describing some happenings in his books and because of this you can get a real feel for the situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1