Customer Reviews for

From What I Remember...

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book!!

    This book reads like you are really watching a John Hughes film from the 80's, but its so entertaining you really don't want it to end. The amazing thing is that the book deals with two short days, right before graduation, but there is so much going on its hard to think of it as 48 hours. Things start out with Kylie waking up with a pounding headache, in an unfamiliar room, and shes laying next to Max, the cute popular guy in school. To make things worse she cant remember how she ended up there, why shes wearing a wedding ring, oh and Max's girlfriend Lily is standing in the doorway ready to blow a fuse.
    This is how the story begins and you spend the next 480 pages going back to the start of the adventure and piecing things back together. Personally I like Kylie, she is a very good-hearted girl who is more concerned with getting out of school and the life she has in La Jolla and going to NYU in the Fall. Her best friend Will is gay, and goes to great lengths to make that point. Its nothing for him to go to school wearing some things female and other things male. But he is loyal to Kylie and they share a love for all things cinema, easily shown in the ease of which they throw film quotes back and forth to each other. But a chance meeting between Kylie and Max makes things totally change for both, and they end up chasing robbers across the border into Mexico.
    What happens after involves a lot of drinking, great street parties, secret pasts, and a lot of wild twists. I do love the point of view changes because you get to see things in a different light. And in keeping with the cinema feel, you really feel as if you are just changing camera angles between the points of view.
    I would recommend this to anyone graduating high school, or even if you are just starting college, just the drinking could put you off, but it is meant for an older teenage audience. Its a fun look at the value of friends and what can happen if you just let things happen for once.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Purely Amazing

    This book got me hooked before i even started reading it. The way the author portrays all the charactes is amazing. And the love story in this book was esquisit. I am a suker for romance and this book had everything in it that i look for. I highly recomend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    I love this book

    Its so amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Amazing storyline and characters.

    Amazing storyline and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Nichele Davis

    OMG I love this book. It made me laugh and I would totally recomend you read this book. I'm only 12 and I know this book is for teens but I didnt mind any of the use of bad language in this book or any of the physical content in it. It was hysterical. And I like how the authors put movie lines in the begging of each chapter and they used different points of views. I hope there will be a series of the books and maybe even a movie! That would be even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Love It!!!!!! From beginning to the end! I think it could have a

    Love It!!!!!! From beginning to the end! I think it could have a better ending but I love it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! It was a great discovery!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! It was a great discovery!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Sometimes it feels as though we can live a lifetime within a few

    Sometimes it feels as though we can live a lifetime within a few short days. The adventure, the new From What I Remember...experiences, and the friends we make set our normal lives light-years away. Reading can also create this phenomenon. When you live in the heads of these narrators for so long, your own life feels empty and distant. From What I Remember… is a literary example of this feeling, throwing three graduating seniors into a small Mexican town and into an action packed, romantic adventure where they each find something they were missing– all of this a day before their graduation. This is another gem by Stacy Kramer and Valerie Thomas, the same authors of Karma Bites. Where Karma Bites was geared towards a middle grade audience, From What I Remember… is definitely intended for older teens.

    Anyone who knows me personally and what I like to read and write knows for a fact that I am a sucker for alternating first person narrators. Kramer and Thomas juggle the inner monologues of several characters without a single drop. Their shift between characters is easy, the reader is able to follow the train of thought without wondering where this new voice came from. They also do not fall into the trap where voices blend together and sound similar– each character is a bold statement and feels something different from everyone else. Kylie’s insecurity, cool head, and determination stands out from Max’s anxiety, eagerness, and aloof mask. Will’s desire to stand out is different from Lily’s desire to be on top. All of them are teenagers that just want to make it to their graduation, but who can fault them their fun along the way?

    This is a true coming of age story. Each character develops in a way true to their experiences and their personalities. They become new people, the people they were always meant to be. This book was a John Hughes movie, and I mean that in the best of ways. It made me long for the adventure of being young, the courage to do something stupid and stand up to those that belittled me. I wanted to be Kylie while I read this book. Sure she was insecure, but she was growing.

    If you love the warmhearted, screwed up yet perfect coming of age stories John Hughes churned out, then this book is definitely for you. It is appropriate for mid to late teens and adults, boys and girls alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Very cute book!

    It was funny and had a good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I bought this book just to pass the time, not really expecting m

    I bought this book just to pass the time, not really expecting much. But this book was amazing! I loved how you got to see the plot from all the different perspectives. At first there were a few characters that I couldnt stand but by the end of the book I liked them all for different reasons. The dialouge between the characters was quirky and fun but fit so well for each character. The ending wraps up the story nicely but I hope there's a sequel just so I can find out what happened to the characters afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    GREAT

    BLEW ME AWAY! ILOVED IT FROM THE STAR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    5 shining stars to an awesome book, that was both deep and funny

    5 shining stars to an awesome book, that was both deep and funny, exciting and sweet and packed with crazy twists and turns! The plot was eventful and gripping, there were plenty of witty dialogues and even wittier monologues, and the characters were freakingly fantastic (my favourite was Will). There were four main narrators and sometimes the fifth narrator appeared, so it was never boring, because it was funny to read the so different perception of events of boys and girls. The action never stopped to surprise me and the romance was lovely, endearing and stormy! I won't retell the plot, it's impossible to do using only few words, I just say, that it's your loss if you haven't read this book, because it's amazing!!! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't let the cover fool you, this book is incredibly good and I

    Don't let the cover fool you, this book is incredibly good and I enjoyed every page of it. It's hilarious, infectious, and downright outrageous at times. Made me laugh numerous times, enough times to get stares from the people around me. From What I Remember... is for fans of those books that have a roadtrip atmosphere to them, like Amy and Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson or Going Bovine by Libba Bray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars! That may sound

    I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars! That may sound silly but really, it's true. For the past two days I have been transfixed by this book. I have been searching for little bits of time to read it because I wanted to see what was going to happen next. There were so many different stories going on but making sense at the same time.

    If ever there was a book that reads like a crazy, non-stop movie, this would be it. I love how the authors even mention how events that happen in the book are just like out of a movie...but at the same time unique to the story in the book. I'm glad this book is a book rather than a movie. Anyone who loves the movie The Breakfast Club or other John Hughes movies will enjoy this book.

    The scenes between Max and Kylie are electric. In the end, I love that the whole book is about going after your dreams and not letting life pass you by. I love it! I have been raving about this to friends who like YA that they have to read this book. I'm so excited to share this book with others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1