Customer Reviews for

From a Buick 8

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good one...

Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded...
Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.

posted by bnhietala on June 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% chara...
I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

    I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From a Buick 8

    This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series. I hated this book. It was booorrriiinnngggg! The ONLY reason I finished reading it was because it was a gift, and I felt guilty if I didn't. In a secret shed behind the barracks of the Pennsylvania State Police, Troop D, there's a cherry Buick Roadmaster no one has touched in years -- because there's more power under the hood than anyone can handle...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Good one...

    Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

    Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    who said 'Oil's fine!' This book needed to identify the original driver of the Buick. I always wonder about that creepy guy. Did I miss something, or was he not explained? The story was ok, very descriptive, made me picture everything in my mind. But it never went anywhere. It could have, but it never did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    It's not 'Christine'

    This is the 2nd book by SK that's disappointed me. His early work rated 5 everytime. I keep looking for the quality he once gave his readers. I hope he'll slow down and give us great 'characterization' as he did in his early work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Fiction: I wanted to write a review because I saw so many n

    CD/Fiction: I wanted to write a review because I saw so many negative reviews. I listened to the audio and I really liked it. Yes, it can be slow at spots, but it is good storytelling and that makes up for a lot. The characters have a story to tell and things aren't always what the seem.

    All the narrators did a great job. Coincidence: Bruce Davidson is narrating and mentions the Beatle's song "With a Little Help From My Friends", WHICH was the reason why the movie "The Lathe of Heaven" (starring Bruce Davidson) was vaulted for 20 years! I was lucky enough to see the movie several times on PBS back in the 1980s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    My fav book. Try it.

    This is my favorite book. My family laughs at me when i say this because i am a lifelong avid reader with many books under my belt. But this is the most engaging, creepiest & funniest book in my personal library. It won't change your life. But you will be entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    The Best

    Stephen King is the best writer. I will never tire of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Not Quite A Review

    Just finished reading The Buick 8. Normally when I finish reading a novel by Stephen King, I am very much like that unfortunate author, who has his one cigarette, but instead of waking up in some mad woman's spare bedroom, I am off doing other things, sans the smoke.

    I couldn't sit and think about what I read. Is this story that forgettable? Maybe to me. I was not sitting here wanting more. It just ended. The entire story was told, it isn't like there was a cliffhanger at the end, it was simply finished. I probably won't remember reading it.

    It *was* predictable at the end. I knew what Ned was going to do. I mean, what other choice did he have?

    I may come back and give this book a proper review, but then again, I may not.

    I would like to question all of these role playing comments going on here, on a page that is specifically designed for book reviews. Children need to go find their own playroom, and leave these pages for the adults who are quite capable of understanding the meaning of a time and a place for activities such as theirs.

    To TPTB at Nook, clean these up or you won't find ANYTHING worth reading on here.

    K.R.C.
    June 2014
    Phoenix, Az.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Taylor

    Asks Matt to bend her over

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Sierra

    "Master?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    reworked short story from a scifi mag ?

    Seemed familiar and i havent read King for years and havent kept up with sci fi or horrror(since dracula) or adult fantasy.perhaps was on a tv twilight zone or that other series whose name i forgot buska

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Just good

    The book just keeps drawing you in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    An awesome book!

    Veryvery very very very very very very very good and well-written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Thought it was very thought-provoking.

    I had never heard anyone talk about this book and even though I'm a fan of King's, I never bothered to even read the inside flap of this book. In the library with my son one day and I just decided to pick it up to pass some time. I was hooked from the first page. Ended up checking it out and taking it home. It was a very fast read and was very thought-provoking with theories of alternate universes and mystical powers. If you haven't read it you should.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    great reading

    I love Steven King's books and this one did not disappoint. lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING Title of revie

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    A little creepy but very interesting and grabs all of your attention right away and keeps it throughout the entirety of the book
    Description and summary of main points
    A book about a Buick 8 can’t give away anything
    Evaluation
    It was awesome
    Conclusion
    This book was very interesting
    Your final review
    Good 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Pretty good. Not superb. But good.

    Pretty good. Not superb. But good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Read this book years ago and it is still one of my King faves. They were going to make a movie but it looks like they never did...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Good read if you are a King fan

    I am a big King fan, but was skeptical of this book for some reason. I was very happy with the book and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10