Customer Reviews for

From a Buick 8

Average Rating 3.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good one...

Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded...
Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.

posted by bnhietala on June 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% chara...
I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

    I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From a Buick 8

    This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series. I hated this book. It was booorrriiinnngggg! The ONLY reason I finished reading it was because it was a gift, and I felt guilty if I didn't. In a secret shed behind the barracks of the Pennsylvania State Police, Troop D, there's a cherry Buick Roadmaster no one has touched in years -- because there's more power under the hood than anyone can handle...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    It's not 'Christine'

    This is the 2nd book by SK that's disappointed me. His early work rated 5 everytime. I keep looking for the quality he once gave his readers. I hope he'll slow down and give us great 'characterization' as he did in his early work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    reworked short story from a scifi mag ?

    Seemed familiar and i havent read King for years and havent kept up with sci fi or horrror(since dracula) or adult fantasy.perhaps was on a tv twilight zone or that other series whose name i forgot buska

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Thought it was very thought-provoking.

    I had never heard anyone talk about this book and even though I'm a fan of King's, I never bothered to even read the inside flap of this book. In the library with my son one day and I just decided to pick it up to pass some time. I was hooked from the first page. Ended up checking it out and taking it home. It was a very fast read and was very thought-provoking with theories of alternate universes and mystical powers. If you haven't read it you should.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Way too long!

    I love Stephen King's stories, especially his short ones. By the end of the first page I'm always already engrossed.

    Unfortunately, this book is a short story dragged out into a very long and ultimately unfulfilling tale, somewhat akin to ordering a cold soda on a hot thirsty day only to have it arrive, somewhat late, warm and devoid of fizz!

    As short story, it would have been pretty satisfying. As a novel, it was a long and tiring journey to nowhere special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    LINE YOUR BIRD CAGE WITH THIS ONE

    Stephen King is my all time favorite author, over the past he has captivated me, held me spellbound, and so many other adjectives I can not ad. I have lost sleep, and skipped meals because I could not put his books down. Mr. King usually has me hooked by the second page, after reading 150 pages of this novel I was only very mildly interested, and only finished the book because it was a King novel. Save your money and time and skip this title!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    Literary Gibberish!

    This book is so slow going that it could have been cut in half and made for a semi-good short story. King lost me with this one, what was he thinking? I just didn't like it or find it the least bit interesting. When I picture of bunch of old timer's sitting around telling this story to Ned as they keep going back and forth from past to present all the while inches away from the 'Buick' in the shed, it makes me laugh. It makes me laugh because it is so silly and in all honesty it's rather dumb. This one will be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    looking for a great King read? look again

    I have read more than a half dozen King novels, and this one is the only one that i really just did not like. It never gets to a point that you just really need to find out what happens. In fact, it does not really make all that much sense in terms of what is occurring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    definately not the best

    well this book was disapointing to say the least,we all run out of ideas after a while, sometimes a rehashing/remixing of the same ones work, sometimes not. Maybe the next one will be in the groove again, i hope so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Terrifying? Only if this Is the Road The King is On!

    This is not King's finest work, in fact it is really bad. I was so bored with the story that I felt like I was back in High School reading a required story. Is one star the lowest you can go?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Has King lost his touch?

    I was very much surprised at some of the positive reviews for this book. It was agony for me to continue this convoluted and pointless tale. I was surprised and confused by the shallowness and truly pedestrian quality of the plot and character development. Mr. King needs to get back to basics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1