Customer Reviews for

From a Buick 8

Average Rating 3.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    who said 'Oil's fine!' This book needed to identify the original driver of the Buick. I always wonder about that creepy guy. Did I miss something, or was he not explained? The story was ok, very descriptive, made me picture everything in my mind. But it never went anywhere. It could have, but it never did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Great Story, Bad Plot

    For my book review I choose to do a report on a book by my favorite author, Stephan King. The book I read was called From a Buick 8. don't get me wrong, Stephan King is one of the best wrires of his time, but this was by far the worst of his books I've ever read. The book was about a bunch of old sherrifs, who stories of a car to one of the dead sheriifs sons.Between the flashbacks and the confusing plot, I found it boring for a bunch of old guys to talk about a car. I thought this was agreat story with a BAD PLOT. The book has the usual sarcasm of King, the car is setting off fireworks as the book says. When a man gets caught in the light,a nother man expects him to be gone in another universe, polishing Darth Vader's shiny black butt. I don't reccomend this to anybody, but his other books aren't too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Is this really a Steven King story, If so, it's the worst.

    This story is about a car that seems to be a porthole to another world. It has a lot of potential that, alas, was not fulfilled here. Instead of focusing one the main draw of the story, which was the car, Mr. King focuses on the lives of the people involved with the car, and how it has affected them. Long forays into their pasts prove boring and their attempts to get to the bottom of the mystery of the car, which is the most compelling aspect of the book, are frustrated. At the end, I questioned whether my modern day Shakespear actually wrote this book. It was very unfulfilling and I was very dissatisfied. It's hard for me to believe that I am writing these words, about a story written by the great and(I hope) immortal Steven King!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    Not one of King's Best Books

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as I did some of King's other books. It's not as scary as the Shining, nowhere near the page turner as Bag of Bones, and didn't both disturb me and tug at my heartstrings at the same time, like The Green Mile. It's just a story about a wierd car that sits in a police barracks, and occaisionally does wierd things. It drags way too much until about the last 75 pages, and even that I'm having a hard time finishing. Christine was better, and that wasn't even one of the finest of King's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    king could have done better

    from a buick 8,did not put a hold on me,like desperation,or the dark half,it was really not that scary,or suspensful enough,i guess i exspected a little more of this book then i got,im a big king fan!and this book did nothing for me!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    WHY?

    I love books by the king of horror but why didn't he make this a short story instead. This was the first king book that I almost didn't make it to the end. Too wordy, intrest is lost fast. I kept waiting for it to get better ...it never did. I only read this book to the end because of my loyalty to the KING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    THIS BUICK RUNS OUT OF GAS

    THE SLOWEST KING NOVEL I EVER READ. NO SCARES, NO THRILLS. MAYBE I NEED TO USE MORE IMAGANATION, BUT THIS PUT ME TO SLEEP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    is wordy, in true new age stephen king style

    This book could have easily been half as long as it is, and wouldv'e been a good short story. As is, it is wordy and not fun to muddle through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    This book is scary? NOT!

    Not scary enough for me to keep awake all nightr reading the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    THIS STORY IS OK

    I think that this story is good, however Stephen King does tend to use the same basic story lines over, and over again. Such as Christine- Maximum Overdrive, and now this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    What's Scary about the Buick?

    Having never read a King novel before I didn't know know what to expect. I was disappointed by the outcome. I thought the book would have some horrible or thrilling aspect to it. I experienced neither. The characters except for Sandy were outright boring. The monster or car in this case was ineffective . It seemed that Mr. King was searching out there for the meaning of life without any suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Maybe this is the last S.K. novel but ...

    The car that is not a car had no gas. What a great metaphore. The author who really was an author of great, entertaining books seems, with the Buick 8, to have run out of gas. Maybe this is the last Stephen King novel but I doubt it (hope not). That Stephen King should end his career with this clunker, this lemon just cannot be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Deeply disappointing

    I love Stephen King, so it's truly a disappointment to find a book so shallow and confusing as this; it almost seems like it was something Steve wrote as an afterthought. After hearing of his pending retirement (a few more Dark Tower books and some TV projects, and that may be it) I was expecting a big, exciting, meaty novel in the tradition of Bag of Bones or It or Pet Sematary. Instead we get a couple hundred pages of weird supernatural claptrap interspersed with a few textbook gross-outs in which King seems to be trying too hard. He did a good job with researching the police, and parts of the story are very interesting, but in the end the whole works is definitely under par compared to even the most average of Stephen King novels. You would think that over thirty years after Steve wrote The Long Walk, which he penned in college, his craft would be honed to its absolute peak. But The Long Walk is a hundred times better than this book, alas. I'm hoping like mad that Steve manages to crank out one more good epic before he goes, because this one wasn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2