BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

From a Buick 8

Average Rating 3.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good one...

Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded...
Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.

posted by bnhietala on June 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% chara...
I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Good one...

    Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read.

    Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    My fav book. Try it.

    This is my favorite book. My family laughs at me when i say this because i am a lifelong avid reader with many books under my belt. But this is the most engaging, creepiest & funniest book in my personal library. It won't change your life. But you will be entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    The Best

    Stephen King is the best writer. I will never tire of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Taylor

    Asks Matt to bend her over

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Sierra

    "Master?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    An awesome book!

    Veryvery very very very very very very very good and well-written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    great reading

    I love Steven King's books and this one did not disappoint. lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING Title of revie

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    A little creepy but very interesting and grabs all of your attention right away and keeps it throughout the entirety of the book
    Description and summary of main points
    A book about a Buick 8 can’t give away anything
    Evaluation
    It was awesome
    Conclusion
    This book was very interesting
    Your final review
    Good 5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Read this book years ago and it is still one of my King faves. They were going to make a movie but it looks like they never did...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    highly recommended if you are a stephen king fan

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish; it is spellbinding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Well Written & A High Creep Factor...

    Another great read filled with a double dose of creepiness. I found the stories near the end unsettling. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic read

    GREAT and fast

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Can't Put This Down

    This book was my first Steven King I read. It was awesome. I couldn't put this book down. To me everyone should read this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    my favorite book

    I dont know if I would really be called a Stephen King fan but I have read lots of his books, mostly the longer ones like bag of bones, the stand, it, the green mile. I would have to say that From a Buick 8 is my favorite and its not to long. I have read the book three times and heard the audio book twice, I just love it but I wish there was more to it. It a short book ( for king) and I just wish he would have went into more detail about where the car came from and where the 'things' were coming from. Overall I love it so I give it five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Weird, But Still Good

    I like this book...partly because Stephen King wrote it...mostly because it's sci-fi weirdness at it's best. Okay, maybe 2nd best to [The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy]. I read it over a couple of days while lounging in the comfy chairs and enjoyed it thoroughly. The end was...well, I'm not exactly sure what that was supposed to be. I do know that if you don't mind reading about things that would be found under your bed as a kid...you might like reading this book as much as I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    incredible book

    This book is the first Stephen King book that I have read. It was really enjoying because it grasped me right from the begining. Also, the genre is my favorite, and has been since I was a little kid. The characters in the story were relatable to me as well. King is such a great author because he incorporates all sorts of feelings into his writing and makes you think. This book is set up so that it goes from past to present. The past always ends in the middle of a sentence right during the action, then cuts to the present. Since you want to get back to the action you will continue reading until you find out what happens. Thats why I like From A Buick 8 by Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    One of King's best

    Not only is the story carried through in an excellent manner but the dialogue and tension building is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    This book is tha bomb!

    I loved this book. Truly, one of the better books King has written during the last decade. It's just so 'out-there' and bizarre that I couldn't put it down. King thought he was repeating himself by writing this book, comparing it to Christine. Don't believe a word of that. From A Buick 8 is a breath of fresh air from a writer who's still got it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    one of de best

    good stuff here its dont really end though like some of his other storys but still a number 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3