Customer Reviews for

From a Buick 8

Average Rating 3.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Decent Writing, Horrible Plot

    I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From a Buick 8

    This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series. I hated this book. It was booorrriiinnngggg! The ONLY reason I finished reading it was because it was a gift, and I felt guilty if I didn't. In a secret shed behind the barracks of the Pennsylvania State Police, Troop D, there's a cherry Buick Roadmaster no one has touched in years -- because there's more power under the hood than anyone can handle...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    who said 'Oil's fine!' This book needed to identify the original driver of the Buick. I always wonder about that creepy guy. Did I miss something, or was he not explained? The story was ok, very descriptive, made me picture everything in my mind. But it never went anywhere. It could have, but it never did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    It's not 'Christine'

    This is the 2nd book by SK that's disappointed me. His early work rated 5 everytime. I keep looking for the quality he once gave his readers. I hope he'll slow down and give us great 'characterization' as he did in his early work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Just good

    The book just keeps drawing you in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    An awesome book!

    Veryvery very very very very very very very good and well-written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Thought it was very thought-provoking.

    I had never heard anyone talk about this book and even though I'm a fan of King's, I never bothered to even read the inside flap of this book. In the library with my son one day and I just decided to pick it up to pass some time. I was hooked from the first page. Ended up checking it out and taking it home. It was a very fast read and was very thought-provoking with theories of alternate universes and mystical powers. If you haven't read it you should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    great reading

    I love Steven King's books and this one did not disappoint. lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING Title of revie

    Book title and author: From a Buick 8 STEVEN KING
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    A little creepy but very interesting and grabs all of your attention right away and keeps it throughout the entirety of the book
    Description and summary of main points
    A book about a Buick 8 can’t give away anything
    Evaluation
    It was awesome
    Conclusion
    This book was very interesting
    Your final review
    Good 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Pretty good. Not superb. But good.

    Pretty good. Not superb. But good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Read this book years ago and it is still one of my King faves. They were going to make a movie but it looks like they never did...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Good read if you are a King fan

    I am a big King fan, but was skeptical of this book for some reason. I was very happy with the book and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    highly recommended if you are a stephen king fan

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish; it is spellbinding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Having grown up with the old really big Buicks, I loved this sto

    Having grown up with the old really big Buicks, I loved this story. I can still smell the leather and feel the luxury of the Buick Special that sat in our garage. Just like in this story always a secret place inside the car. I liked the whole book and have read it a few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Well Written & A High Creep Factor...

    Another great read filled with a double dose of creepiness. I found the stories near the end unsettling. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Not what you are thinking

    I know the first thought that crosses your mind : "gee - didn't king already write this and call it christine?" I thought it too. But this book has as much to do with that as the eifel tower has to do with an erector set. Nothing in other words.

    This is a good book. And, unusual for king, it doesn't wimp out at the end - it stays strong to the last word. One of his better outings and definitely a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Disturbingly Intriguing

    From a Buick 8 was a creepy and confounded book, exactly what we would expect of Stephen King. One will find themselves itching to continue reading even if they find it disturbing or captivating; they will want to finish the book either out of morbid curiosity or plain interest. In From a Buick 8 the police men from the Pennsylvania Troop From find themselves stuck with a classic model Buick 8, complete with white wall tires and an engine that could never possibly work. At first it seems like a regular car, but as the days drag on they discover that is definitely not the case. When paranormal activity begins to happen from and around the car, the characters find themselves trapped by struggles and what they once considering unreality. Throughout the book you will find yourself in awe at just what this '57 Buick has 'up its trunk.' King used several literary devices in this book, which make it that much more believable, despite how much of a fantasy it truly is. Most apparent are similes, foreshadowing, and tons of descriptive imagery. "He spread his hands with his palms down, then turned them up, like a magician at the end of a good trick." Pg. 69 "The paint sparkled, the windshield sparkled, the chrome side-strike sweeping along the body sparkled, and even before the driver opened the door and got out, and Bradley Roach knew there was something wrong with it." Pgs. 25-26 "The stream was babbling at the top of its lungs, running broad and foamy. " Pg. 31 "Hundreds of black grins swirling and spinning around." Pg. 152 >>!Spoiler! Read at your own risk!<< The best part of the book would have to be how the author describes both the Buick and the oddness happening around, or emerging from, it. These scenes are quite interesting, the details helping you picture the creatures the Buick releases. The author made them up entirely from his own imagination, yet as you read you'll begin to get figments of your own about them, wondering if the giant fish lurks underneath the nearby lake or pond, mistaking a bat for the one in the book. The fact that King could make this so is what makes the book believable, and in turn enjoyable to read. The worst part of the book was the time skip towards the ending. I've never personally liked time-skips; I like to have the story completely wrapped up and presented to me with a pretty bow on top, but this in particular thoroughly bugs me. It occurs right at the climax of the book, basically leaving out the falling action. There was room for the tossed-away time, and I feel that From a Buick 8 would've ended with a better taste in my mouth if it was present. All in all, I would recommend this book to a friend, but only if they were interested in these kinds of stories. This novel is certainly not for everyone, I found myself shaking my head more than a couple times, but those who like the first few chapters will relish in Stephen King's tale of a celestial Buick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic read

    GREAT and fast

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Way too long!

    I love Stephen King's stories, especially his short ones. By the end of the first page I'm always already engrossed.

    Unfortunately, this book is a short story dragged out into a very long and ultimately unfulfilling tale, somewhat akin to ordering a cold soda on a hot thirsty day only to have it arrive, somewhat late, warm and devoid of fizz!

    As short story, it would have been pretty satisfying. As a novel, it was a long and tiring journey to nowhere special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9