Customer Reviews for

From the Ashes

Average Rating 3.5
( 558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant book!

Greatly written and holds no bounds

posted by 4852742 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

STOP!

Why are you dopes giving the book a 1 star rating just because you can't find the free friday book on your Nook. Your inability to operate your Nook doesn't have anything to do with this author's work. Now STOP!

posted by jmoney6 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 559 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A brilliant book!

    Greatly written and holds no bounds

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Well written and incredibly engaging!

    I can't wait to finish the book! I feel as if I know the characters and I am in the chase with them! This author's use of imagery is BRILLIANT!
    Definitely going to be a movie!

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great reading, suspenseful, well written!
    Can't believe the ignorant people giving 1 or 2 stars, because they can't get on their nook. That is their problem, not the author's! Get a brain...

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Fantastic!

    I started reading this 3 hours ago and I cannot put it down! I haven't finished it yet, but I already love this book. This is a "double-dose" book for me. This means I will definitely be reading this book more than once, ie; a double dose.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A book for fans of Steve Berry and Raymond Khoury

    A book for fans of Steve Berry and Raymond Khoury, From The Ashes is well-written and impeccably researched with great characters and a conspiracy that is frightening in both its implications and plausibility. Jeremy Burns is an author to watch.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    A Must-Read!!!

    This book is awesome! Definitely a must-read for anyone who loves thrillers! It's the perfect balance of history and fiction that makes you wonder if it could actually be true. And after reading it, you'll never look at New York City the same! I can't wait to read more from Jeremy Burns!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awsome

    This book is a great thriller for those who love adventure and a good twist

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not a need to read.

    If you can get through the prologue, you might enjoy this cliche and cumbersome novel. However I found it tedious, over written, and unengaging. One star.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    A new Favorite!

    As a first time user of free Friday I was hesitant as to whether I would like this or not but it was awesome! What an amazing twist, easily as good as the Divinci Code for me...I am now a Jeremy Burns fan and am seeking out his books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Jeremy Burns promises to be an exciting author; I want to read his next book. I was captivated by this thriller, and even more by the way Burns thinks outside the box. His historically accurate passages will turn even the most historic-phobic to a fascination gives a well-grounded understanding of how individual actions can, and do, change the world in real ways. Some facets of Jeremy's literary bridging were weak. I learned some real information I hadn't known before. And was interested to learn that the statement "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger" IS accurately attributed to Johann Wolfgang von Goethe vice Nietzsche. I also expected to learn at every turn that the Rockefeller's had filed suit for defamation to the character of NYC's philanthropic hero; the follow-on declamation was welcomed. It makes me want to look at NYC's landmarks in a new light! Good job, Jeremy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Da Vinci Code wannabe

    Unfortunately I had no trouble finding the book on my nook. If the author had condensed some of the explanation, would have been a much better book. A good editor would have helped.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for Thriller Lovers and 20th Century History Buffs.

    As a novel, From the Ashes follows a formulaic path. If you loved National Treasure and cannot wait to read a new Steve Berry novel, this one is for you. As an addendum to the fictional content, pages 104 through 114 give a nicely condensed history regarding the events leading up to World Wars I and II worth reading and pondering, even bookmarking. As a precautionary note, be careful to avoid confusing history with fiction. The author draws subtly visible lines delineating which is which. Having read this book, you might be moved to do some research of your own. You may encounter more erudite material, but nothing more concise than those eight pages. Readers will find as well interesting information about New York City and the Rockefellers throughout the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    A What if conspiracy

    I enjoyed this read thoroughly. Though it dragged a little here and there I felt that the overall story line and twists were great. I like a good surprise and I felt that you never know what is being hidden for your best interest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    A must read for historical fiction lovers!!!

    A great story, with a bit of history from WWI-WW2, how Hitler came to power. The main premise is a search for hidden papers with multiple clues throughout New York. All while being chased by a secret government agency who kill to keep the papers secret. So much more, but don't want to tell you the whole story or give anything away. Read It!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Nook issue with free books

    Seems everyones complaining on here instead of rating the book so some advise 1st. If you have the Nook Tablet get the Book Buddy app. All free friday books ate their weekly, plus cheap books and top sellers. As for rating this book if it was'nt free it'd be worth buying. Brilliant, a definite soon to be movie. Keeps you wanting more. A can't put down book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Hii

    Is it me or does the symbol look like the one on the book prodigy by Marie Lu?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    If you like Dan Brown you will enjoy this book as well. A slow build up of characters background and plot, then a fast pased adventure through New York and a satisfying ending. Who could ask for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this immensely, very pleasantly surprised since it was a "Free Friday" selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    A noteable author!

    I gave this book a 3 star rating and, frankly, would have raised it to a 4 or 5 if the plot had been believable. It was just a bit too far-fetched. However, Mr. Burns writing skills are excellent. Additionally, they prove themselves out by his research of locations, historical facts, character backgrounds. Enough can't be said for his thoroughness in imparting to readers details of churches, monuments, cities - he appropriately weaves his research of events and places gently into the narrative, keeping the reader very well-informed. I do believe Mr. Burns can raise the bar on intrigue and suspense, but make it so much more believable.
    Congratulations to this new author. Hope we see so much more of his work and research. Definitely, he is a notable writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not bad

    Great book. There are a lot of swear words though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 559 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28