Customer Reviews for

From the Ashes

Average Rating 3.5
( 556 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant book!

Greatly written and holds no bounds

posted by 4852742 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

STOP!

Why are you dopes giving the book a 1 star rating just because you can't find the free friday book on your Nook. Your inability to operate your Nook doesn't have anything to do with this author's work. Now STOP!

posted by jmoney6 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 557 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Overall, a pretty decent read

    I was hoping for a Da Vinci Code-esque thrill ride, and while it didn't QUITE deliver that, it was still a pretty worthwhile read. Looking forward to more from this author!
    Pros: interesting plot kept me engaged; an interesting tour of NY landmarks
    Cons: author constantly recycles the characters' motivations, meals, etc., which feels like page-filler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a thriller!

    What a thriller! A fast paced, keep you glued to the page, perched on the edge of your seat kind of thriller. If you like the works of authors such as Brad Meltzer and Dan Brown you are going to love this one by Jeremy Burns. “From the Ashes” is a story of secret government agencies and the cover-ups of a conspiracy dating from the depression-era.

    When Jon Rickner’s brother Michael is found dead in his apartment by his fiancé Mara, and learns that the authorities are calling his death a suicide Jon wants answers. Michael had been working on his dissertation and had stumbled upon a huge conspiracy that involved the Hoover Administration, the Rockefellers and the rise of Nazi Germany, a secret so big that his brother was killed to keep it contained. Jon and Mara embark on a quest to find the secret dossier the private government agency “The Division” is looking for before any more innocent lives are lost.

    Following a series of encrypted clues and with the help of a rogue Division agent the couple are lead to museums, churches and monuments throughout Manhattan dodging attempts on their lives until they find the coveted dossier bringing the truth to the world.

    The story is well thought out with many factual details included in the telling. Readers will find themselves questioning if in fact this scenario could be possible and realizing the lengths that the omnipotent government would go to in order to keep it from the masses. I know I did. This book is a must read for conspiracy theorists or those with a passion for the thrill. Go out and buy the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    interesting story but...

    Story was too easy to figure out, especially when it went DaVinci Code on the places in New York and clues - even the good cop/bad cop was formulaic. Much information repeated - but I did get to the end - even though I scanned the last 100 pages. Very happy it was Free Friday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Eh.....so-so

    Snags one's interest in the beginning, but becomes wordy, and ultimately, reminiscent of a Nancy Drew story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Excellent Book

    Jeremy Burns kept me interested from the beginning. His writing almost made you believe that this really happened. Since I have been to New York City I could relate to the different places the book visited. I would recommend this book to any one that likes suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    not for discerning readers

    Someone mentioned a new editor needed. I'm thinking there never was one. Trite, predictable, juvenile with strange dialog considering the situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Boring

    I tried very hard to like this book, but I was so bored with it in the end I didnt even finish it. Very much a cookie cutter formula, like many others I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    ????

    Should I read it?

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Disapointing Disappointing

    Implausible, predictible, juvenile

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    I just found a new must-read author!

    I love this stuff--history, uncovered secrets, assassins trying to keep people quiet, a race to expose the truth and find justice--especially when it's done right...and From the Ashes is done right. Lots of action, characters I love...and love to hate...a plot that's linked to history, conspiracy and reality. Too much fun! I couldn’t put it down. Based on this debut, Jeremy Burns is now one of those rare authors whose stories I will buy sight unseen. With this one, he proves himself a more-than-capable researcher and storyteller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    ???

    Just bought hope I like it btw love free book fridays IT'S THE BEST THING EVER

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    This is a great thriller with a great deal of history thrown in.

    This is a great thriller with a great deal of history thrown in. Thought the ending was a little over the top. Loved the NYC setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    A bit boring

    '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    Not the type of book I normally read but I got it on a "Fre

    Not the type of book I normally read but I got it on a "Free Friday" and finally got around to reading it. Government conspiracy keep you guessing thriller. Really enjoyed it. There were a few times where it was a little slow  but overall a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great read

    I thought this was a well written novel with a fast moving plot and very developed characters. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Really enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it months ago but find myself thinking back on it often. I would definitely recommend it if you like adventure, mystery & suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Good read

    Exciting read in an interesting story line. Perhaps a little predictable but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great Cloak and Dagger

    This is a great Cloak and Dagger mystery! Would have given 5 stars, but it drug on a little too much in some areas. Still, I would say READ THIS BOOK! It will make you think about how the U.S. is being destabilized by continual borrowing and the build up of Homeland Security's stock pile of ammo and armored vehicles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Burk200

    I love mysteries that include history. Great read.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great idea; poor execution. The story line in "From the As

    Great idea; poor execution.

    The story line in "From the Ashes" is marginally interesting, but the plot moves along so slowly I would hesitate to call it a thriller.  I was about 250 pages into the 348-page book still wondering when things would pick up.  Too much exposition, too many grammatical errors and typos, and too many confusing run-on sentences all combine to make this book a difficult read with a poor, predictable pay-off.  A "twist" character is introduced so clumsily that the ending is a dead give-away.  It seems like the whole book was a rushed effort using a formula originally contrived by another author and used poorly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 557 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28