Customer Reviews for

From the Ashes

Average Rating 3.5
( 558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant book!

Greatly written and holds no bounds

posted by 4852742 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

STOP!

Why are you dopes giving the book a 1 star rating just because you can't find the free friday book on your Nook. Your inability to operate your Nook doesn't have anything to do with this author's work. Now STOP!

posted by jmoney6 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not a need to read.

    If you can get through the prologue, you might enjoy this cliche and cumbersome novel. However I found it tedious, over written, and unengaging. One star.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Avoid

    Poorly written and boring book. I wish I had the time I spent slogging through this book back. I could have squandered it more effectively in some other manner. I kept expecting it to at least try to get interesting or introduce some plot point that wasn't ludicrous but it disappointed me at every opportunity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    not for discerning readers

    Someone mentioned a new editor needed. I'm thinking there never was one. Trite, predictable, juvenile with strange dialog considering the situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Boring

    I tried very hard to like this book, but I was so bored with it in the end I didnt even finish it. Very much a cookie cutter formula, like many others I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    ????

    Should I read it?

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Cliche filled and predictably boring

    This story feels like it was meant to be the screen play for a made-for-TV movie. The law enforcement is inept, the female lead is a charicature of every stubborn woman in film and our hero is a mashup of several different male archetypes. The book is filled with "assassins" that can't hit moving targets, investigating officers that refuse to believe a crime was committed and an antagonist straight out of Saturday morning cartoons. The title is ironicly appropriate as it seems like an author wrote this novel and decided to burn it only to have it resurrected by Jeremy Burns. Skip this title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Bad

    Like a cartoon. No substance, weak writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Went onto the I will not read shelf.

    The blurb for this book looked promising, but it fell flat. It's not often I don't finish a book but this one went onto the argh! I can't read another page!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Not a horrible read but not a good one. Story line way to predi

    Not a horrible read but not a good one. Story line way to predictable, too much discribtions. could have been a great book. charactor names like Jon and Wyane seam almost comical. Jon Jealous of Mara. Mara Jealous of Jon, Jon jealous of Michael, Michael jealous of Jon. and to think a government agency is trying to to whack me I really dont think i would stop for lunch and dinner breaks in public. and play cutesy with my freshly murder brothers girl . glad it was free friday book. my opinion not worth the read. waste of time. come to think of it i wasted my time reviewing this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Not the best

    Kinda dull. Not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Not my taste

    I got through the first 3 chapters. Although I tried to like it, I could go no further. I could not connect with any of the characters and the storyline was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Ripoff of DaVinci Code

    Predictable; trite dialogue. Characters following puzzling clues to unearth a mysterious document. Substitute New York for Italy/France/England and you have it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2