BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

From the Ashes

Average Rating 3.5
( 559 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant book!

Greatly written and holds no bounds

posted by 4852742 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

STOP!

Why are you dopes giving the book a 1 star rating just because you can't find the free friday book on your Nook. Your inability to operate your Nook doesn't have anything to do with this author's work. Now STOP!

posted by jmoney6 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Da Vinci Code wannabe

    Unfortunately I had no trouble finding the book on my nook. If the author had condensed some of the explanation, would have been a much better book. A good editor would have helped.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    interesting story but...

    Story was too easy to figure out, especially when it went DaVinci Code on the places in New York and clues - even the good cop/bad cop was formulaic. Much information repeated - but I did get to the end - even though I scanned the last 100 pages. Very happy it was Free Friday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Eh.....so-so

    Snags one's interest in the beginning, but becomes wordy, and ultimately, reminiscent of a Nancy Drew story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Disapointing Disappointing

    Implausible, predictible, juvenile

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great idea; poor execution. The story line in "From the As

    Great idea; poor execution.

    The story line in "From the Ashes" is marginally interesting, but the plot moves along so slowly I would hesitate to call it a thriller.  I was about 250 pages into the 348-page book still wondering when things would pick up.  Too much exposition, too many grammatical errors and typos, and too many confusing run-on sentences all combine to make this book a difficult read with a poor, predictable pay-off.  A "twist" character is introduced so clumsily that the ending is a dead give-away.  It seems like the whole book was a rushed effort using a formula originally contrived by another author and used poorly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Typos gallore, too many tedious details

    Could/should have been 30 pgs shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good effort, bad dialogs

    I liked the author's narration and descriptions of events and surroundings. Plot was a bit unbeliveable and crude but this could be overlooked if not for the dialogs. Almost every character was talking exactly the same way, had the same pattern of speech and was talking as if he or she was writing a book. To wit: Mara's description when she found her fiance in his apartment. No one would ever describe event like that with such a finese and erudition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The prologue captured my attention quickly. I expected a thrill

    The prologue captured my attention quickly. I expected a thriller novel – What could prompt the need to eliminate a child!! I was pulled in with the vivid description of the characters at the beginning of the novel. I understood the deep connection between the Rickner brothers through the graphic descriptions in the first few chapters. I also found the historical information very interesting. I rated the book only two stars because I found the story to implausible. Also, the author repeated the same information several times through out the book. I grew tired of reading about the Rickner brother's connection, and I scanned quickly through the last half of the book because I found the repetition annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Good idea, dumb story

    I started with a thriller that was nicely done and I'll end with one that simply isn't. This book was one of the Free Friday ebook selections. Given the high number of romance novels chosen for this slot I was happy to see a thriller. (The reality is that B&N can only offer those books that they are given permission to give away. So you take what you can get) By the time I was half way through the book I wasn't so sure. The basic concept is fine. Burns takes history at the time of the rise of the Nazi Party and gives it a twist. What if, as the Weimar Republic in Germany was tottering towards collapse, the U.S. Secretary of State and American billionaire John D. Rockefeller Jr worked together to insure that communism didn't take control in Germany? What if they pumped large amounts of dollars to support the only other possible party at the time? Then as time progressed they realized the horrible error they'd made and tried to cover it up? It's a great concept for a thriller. Unfortunately Burns just doesn't have the chops to pull it off. His writing is awkward and immature with incredibly clunky and self conscious phrasing. In true thriller fashion there's a secretive government agency charged with keeping the secret. Their rather strange approach is to kill literally ANYONE who even mentions the secret. This includes an 8 year boy chatting with his school friend. I'm serious. They send a professional ASSASSIN to take out an elementary school student. It goes downhill from there. What's really rather frightening is in the Author notes at the end we find out Burns has actually taught Creative Writing. Not someone I'd send an aspiring writer to study under.
    The concept is good, the characters aren't bad, even the storytelling manages to go along pretty well despite the awkward writing and strange story choices. Overall, meh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Not well thought out

    So, did Michael have a funeral? Why would Jon and Mara miss it? Wouldn't friends and family wonder why they didn't attend? After the villian and Jon tangled and Jon got away, why would the villian spend 20 or 30 minutes at the scene of the attempted murder trying to cover his tracks, when Jon would surely be contacting the police? The clues that Rockefeler left for them to find what they were looking for was totally absurd. This could have been a good novel with a little more thought and better dialog. I would never not read a book because someone else didn't like it. This review is simply my opinion, alot of people seemed to like the book. Read the book and form your own opinion you might love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Hard to follow

    This book kept me guessing throughout but i wouldnt read it again or recommend it because the author had so many obscure characters that i constantly had to look back and figure out where they came from. I get that the author knew who he was writing about but it was frustrating to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Not Bad

    Got his as Free Friday selection. Not a bad storyline, but way too much description in many places. Several sections can be skimmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Slow

    Moved too slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Needs a good editor

    The plot is predictable and key situations are so contrived they feel nonsensical. The characters are one-dimensional and speak in stilted, affected language. I felt no connection or sympathy for the characters because there was little other than dialog to define them. There are numerous examples of improper word usage, (the hero "cocks his head querulously") poor grammar and sentence construction, which further distracted me from the flow of the book.m

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Disappointed!

    I'm on my third nook because of little glitches that necessitated deregistering my tablet and starting over. Having to go to B&N for help is a real inconvenience. I finally found a way to get online help, and that person wanted to deregister my tablet again and start over. I refused and threatened to dis the whole thing and, voila! she figured the problem out without starting over.
    I think they put it on the market before it was ready. It has good potential, but don't buy the newest version if they've changed any major systems.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Not a page turner

    This book failed to hold my interest for any legnth of time. I kept finding reasons to put it down it do something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Phoenix

    Id heard of Operation Phoenix before but didnt know the details. Unfirtunately this author put too much extraneous details in the book. I found it difficult to follow at times and tedious at others. Never, in my many years of having the ability to read and all the books I have read, come close to not finishimg a book. This was the first. I finished it, and Im glad I did, but it still eas tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Very Poorly Written

    Spelling mistakes, inconsistencies, and contrivances abound in this ebook. The plot is a blatant copy of another very popular, yet mediocre book. Skip this book and read Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child, or "The Egyptologist" by Arthur Phillips instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great idea, middlin' execution

    Terrifc story idea, but the story telling didn't keep up. Most of the moves were predictable, which drained a lot of the tension. Lots of repetition of the characters' thinking made them less interesting. Pace pretty slow for a thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    One step above the Hardy boys

    Plot was a little thin, the action predictable, the characters stereotyped and the whole story in desperate need of a ruthless editor. Didn't make me want to rush out and buy the writer's next effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4