Customer Reviews for

From the Ashes

Average Rating 3.5
( 558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant book!

Greatly written and holds no bounds

posted by 4852742 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

STOP!

Why are you dopes giving the book a 1 star rating just because you can't find the free friday book on your Nook. Your inability to operate your Nook doesn't have anything to do with this author's work. Now STOP!

posted by jmoney6 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for Thriller Lovers and 20th Century History Buffs.

    As a novel, From the Ashes follows a formulaic path. If you loved National Treasure and cannot wait to read a new Steve Berry novel, this one is for you. As an addendum to the fictional content, pages 104 through 114 give a nicely condensed history regarding the events leading up to World Wars I and II worth reading and pondering, even bookmarking. As a precautionary note, be careful to avoid confusing history with fiction. The author draws subtly visible lines delineating which is which. Having read this book, you might be moved to do some research of your own. You may encounter more erudite material, but nothing more concise than those eight pages. Readers will find as well interesting information about New York City and the Rockefellers throughout the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    If you like Dan Brown you will enjoy this book as well. A slow build up of characters background and plot, then a fast pased adventure through New York and a satisfying ending. Who could ask for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this immensely, very pleasantly surprised since it was a "Free Friday" selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not bad

    Great book. There are a lot of swear words though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Overall, a pretty decent read

    I was hoping for a Da Vinci Code-esque thrill ride, and while it didn't QUITE deliver that, it was still a pretty worthwhile read. Looking forward to more from this author!
    Pros: interesting plot kept me engaged; an interesting tour of NY landmarks
    Cons: author constantly recycles the characters' motivations, meals, etc., which feels like page-filler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Excellent Book

    Jeremy Burns kept me interested from the beginning. His writing almost made you believe that this really happened. Since I have been to New York City I could relate to the different places the book visited. I would recommend this book to any one that likes suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    Not the type of book I normally read but I got it on a "Fre

    Not the type of book I normally read but I got it on a "Free Friday" and finally got around to reading it. Government conspiracy keep you guessing thriller. Really enjoyed it. There were a few times where it was a little slow  but overall a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Really enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it months ago but find myself thinking back on it often. I would definitely recommend it if you like adventure, mystery & suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great Cloak and Dagger

    This is a great Cloak and Dagger mystery! Would have given 5 stars, but it drug on a little too much in some areas. Still, I would say READ THIS BOOK! It will make you think about how the U.S. is being destabilized by continual borrowing and the build up of Homeland Security's stock pile of ammo and armored vehicles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Burk200

    I love mysteries that include history. Great read.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Fans of DaVinci Code & Mational Treasure...

    Picked this up as a "free Friday" selection and really enjoyed it. Well written, good twists, fascinating conspiracy theory. Because I love stories like DaVinci Code and National Treasure- where clues within current day landmarks, art, buildings, etc. lead the characters through the story- I really appreciated the concept and obvious research which went into this book. Give it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    good

    A real page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good. Author did a good job of keeping it moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    really good read

    I liked this book a lot. it reminded me of the National Treasure movies with clues to follow & puzzles to solve. The ending was ........ suspenseful. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Awesome

    A great read, love the twists. I'm ready for the movie to be made !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Excellent book, can't wait for his next one :-)

    Excellent book, can't wait for his next one :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good Read

    I like the action and storyline. Would read more from this author. Also brings to mind what if that was really the case???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Good Read

    If you are a Dan Brown fan, read this book. Different subject matter but really enjoyed this book. Great beach book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Solid Suspense

    The prologue of From the Ashes is gripping. It totally hooked me. Then I was sad when the first chapter took me from Manhattan 1957 to Iraq 2010. The sad didn't last long. The first chapters of this book are intriguing and fast moving. I was settling in for another action filled ride - and, for the most part, that's what I got. The story does get bogged down in the middle for just a bit in order to bring the reader up to date on all the history that is necessary to the conspiracy, but then it picks up and the ride gets back on track.

    Jeremy Burns has written a solid action novel with mystery and suspense. I was pleased with the decisions he made with regard to the character development and the plot. There were a few minor editing errors but it wasn't distracting enough for me to quit the book - and I am a bit of an editing snob so that says something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Great story!

    Fast paced and very visual. Loved the storyline and found myself cheering for the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9