Customer Reviews for

From the Corner of His Eye

Average Rating 4.5
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a book you fall in love with

From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I ...
From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I was still satisfied. I LOVE seeing characters grow up and the Lampion family is such a great example. Barty is amazing and Cain is very interesting. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

posted by JAJbooks on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Different read from Dean Koontz.

At first this novel caught me off-guard, since it wasn't the typical Dean Koontz thriller: i.e. no dog and no one on the run as a result of a government conspiracy. Still, I found the book to be an enjoyable read with a bit of humor thrown in for good measure. This is p...
At first this novel caught me off-guard, since it wasn't the typical Dean Koontz thriller: i.e. no dog and no one on the run as a result of a government conspiracy. Still, I found the book to be an enjoyable read with a bit of humor thrown in for good measure. This is probably one of the few books I have read where at first I found the villain, Junior Cain, to be a likeable character. However, about midway through the book it becomes clear that he is a vicious serial killer.

The ending was a bit of a disappointment, but, the book was still a great read. Although, maybe not one of Koontz's best.

posted by conniejackson on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    a book you fall in love with

    From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I was still satisfied. I LOVE seeing characters grow up and the Lampion family is such a great example. Barty is amazing and Cain is very interesting. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    One of his very best!!

    I have read all of Koontz's books, with Watchers as my favorite, but this one is right up there with it. A page turner, can't put down book...read it...you won't be dissapointed!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Brilliant

    Brilliant, At 640 pages "From The Corner Of His Eye" was a fantastic story with a lot of characters from San Francisco to Oregon; Koontz does a great job at bringing all their storys together in the end. I would say this is a must read and that it ranks in my top 10 for sure. A strong 5 stars for "From The Corner Of His Eye".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly un-Koonts-y

    I've read a few books by Dean Koontz, and they usually follow the same pattern. There will be a man who's strong and handsome but doesn't know it, a woman who's witty and much more beautiful than she thinks she is, and a dog. Occasionally, there's also children. Throw all these people together during adverse circumstance, and love and a grand adventure will follow.

    This book isn't like that, and that's why I like it so much. It's different, exciting and at parts very sad. It's easy to get into, and one of my favorite books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I've enjoyed several of Koontz's books (particularly the Odd Tho

    I've enjoyed several of Koontz's books (particularly the Odd Thomas series), and this one did not disappoint! Koontz again enthralls with a masterful combination of suspense and soul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Different read from Dean Koontz.

    At first this novel caught me off-guard, since it wasn't the typical Dean Koontz thriller: i.e. no dog and no one on the run as a result of a government conspiracy. Still, I found the book to be an enjoyable read with a bit of humor thrown in for good measure. This is probably one of the few books I have read where at first I found the villain, Junior Cain, to be a likeable character. However, about midway through the book it becomes clear that he is a vicious serial killer.

    The ending was a bit of a disappointment, but, the book was still a great read. Although, maybe not one of Koontz's best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I'm a fan of dean koontz and have liked/loved most of his books but this one i was dissapointed. I enjoyed the beginning of this book but towards the middle and deff the end it was boring to me. I wasnt a fan og this one :-/

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Junk

    If I could, I would only give this book a 0.5 star. I had to whine my way through 300 pages before giving it up. I'm damn sure I won't even attempt to read another Dean Koontz book again, after struggling with Dark Rivers of the Heart and The Husband. Sorry, Dean, but from now on, I draw the line at you.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    One of my favorite books EVER!!

    I actually got this as an audio book. The man who read it was a genius! He gave each character its own voice. I felt like I was there. I would drive around longer than I had to because I didn't want it to stop. I have recommended this book to everyone I know, seriously! But it, you wont be sorry. I have both audio and hardcover versions. Maybe now have to get it for my Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love Koontz, but I could not get in to this book. It was far too wordy...most of which had no bearing on the story. I believe this book could've been written with about 200 fewer pages. I hate to start a book and not finish it, so I had to force myself to finish this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    boring

    This was one of the most boring books I have ever tried to read. I couldn't even finish it. From what I did read I thought it should have about 100 less pages, there was just so much useless iformation that did nothing to move the story along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Not my favorite

    I am an avid Dean Koontz fan and this is the first book I was actually skipping paragraphs just so I could get it over with. I even had to renew it from the library 3 times. It was way longer than it needed to be. It just drug on and on and on... The story line was good, it just needed some serious editing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    The usual letdown

    As usual, Koontz starts his story well, and then bogs down in pseudoscience and pseudotheology. This book could have been far better if there were three hundred fewer pages and far less of some of Koontz's flights of literary excesses. Koontz always impresses me as a man who is very impressed with his own brilliance. And I always have the feeling that he is looking over his shoulder for Stephen King,who, in my opinion isn't gaining on Koontz. He's far beyond him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    A miss from Koontz?

    Though Koontz did a wonderful job developing the characters, and the premise behind the story held alot of promise, the book just ended up disappointing. The book moved too slowly at parts, and the ending just fell short. I finished the book feeling as if I had just wasted my time. Not what I expected from such a brilliant writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Okay book

    I dont read a lot of books, other than school books, I found this book to be very easy to read. It started off well, but it really was not a very good book and I felt like I wasted my time. I would have been much happier watching a movie. Usually when I read a book it is boring in the begining but you eventually get into it. This book was the opposite, my expectations kept getting lower as I read. I read Lightning in high school and I thought it was a lot better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    a failed attempt

    I have read several books by Dean Knootz and am sorry to report that this is the only one that has truly disappointed me. The sad part is, the book has potential. It definitely starts out interestingly enough. I especially liked the way Knootz introduces the villain. Also, in the beginning the book holds a distinction of awe and hope. The ¿good¿ characters, whom don¿t know each other at first seem some what interesting, or at least they have interesting backgrounds. However, as the story progresses you begin to realize that the good characters are just a bit too perfect. I especially hate the flowery fashion in which Knootz uses to describe them. The villain is only a shade higher in dimensionality. He is definitely evil and very twisted, but at some point his eccentrics get to be too much. In small measure, this is a good thing because you begin to feel sorry for him and his twisted view on life in that he will never be truly happy and never extricate himself from the demons that plague him. All in all, it was a decent story that would have been better had it been written more concisely and with less formula.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    5 stars? I don't think so.

    I was very disappointed in this book, which I thought showed promise. As others have noted, the droning on and on about Cain was too much. There were also too many things that didn't need to be in the book (ex - brothers). I like it when I have to figure out how things tie together, but this took too long - by the time I got to the connections I had almost forgotten some earlier details. I can usually get through his books fairly quickly - not so with this one. It took me over a week to read it. Some parts were good and it was definitely disturbing, but it could have been so much better. And the ending - please. Hopefully next time will be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    Soooo Disappointed

    As I lifted the book into my hands, the joy that I felt for reading another Dean Koontz book was overwhelming. As I turned to page one, I just knew I wasn't going to be disappointed. It was a page turner. I would rush home just to continue reading this book. It was so different than anything else he had written. Then all of a sudden, the last hundred pages went downhill. I wanted to cry. What started out so magnificent was becoming such a disappointment. Where was the suspense? Should I stop reading the book? No, that wasn't my nature to give up. I continued reading hoping that things would improve, but unfortunately it just got worse. I still haven't gotten over the shock that something that started out so good ended so poorly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    A WHOLE LOTTA NOTHING

    As someone who began reading Koontz with 'Watchers' and who has read every one of his books through the years, I would have to say that I believe my interest in this man's work has come to an end. After reading 'The Bad Place,' 'Lightning,' and 'Twilight Eyes,' I recognized Koontz's tremendous potential which pops to the forefront periodically in each of his works. But, after the failures of 'False Memory,' this book made it two failures in a row. Some quick points (SPOILERS AHEAD): The climactic scene when Cain is defeated..he's just gone! Can't you at least let us see where he went from his point of view? Koontz gives us meandering page after page of Cain's thoughts on women, sex, art, artists, and music, but we can't be with him as he pays for his sins in the alternate world? Also, the two brothers obsessed with disaster...a good idea, but executed poorly. Those two characters do not seem 'real' to me, although I acknowlege 1)that in my life I have not met people with childhoods as horrible as they had, and 2) this is a work of fiction with other elements where I also am required to suspend disbelief. Finally, Koontz is very wordy, and it hurts the pacing of the book. As a side note, did the diminutive use of names drive anybody else crazy? 'Barty,' 'Serie,' et al.? I was waiting for Vanadium to say, 'call me Tommy.' This book is a disaapointment with page after page of verbosity and absolutely NO PAYOFF when evil is vanquished. The denoument was better than the entire book as a whole! Thanks for letting me sound off. Koontz, thanks for years of entertainment, but there's better out there now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    what 's the point

    instersting read but where's it going? It carries on to much about the disaster twins,the evil villien, and the babys and not much else for pages. Then when you thought things would pickup it ended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16