Customer Reviews for

From the Corner of His Eye

Average Rating 4.5
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a book you fall in love with

From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I ...
From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I was still satisfied. I LOVE seeing characters grow up and the Lampion family is such a great example. Barty is amazing and Cain is very interesting. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

posted by JAJbooks on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Soooo Disappointed

As I lifted the book into my hands, the joy that I felt for reading another Dean Koontz book was overwhelming. As I turned to page one, I just knew I wasn't going to be disappointed. It was a page turner. I would rush home just to continue reading this book. It was so d...
As I lifted the book into my hands, the joy that I felt for reading another Dean Koontz book was overwhelming. As I turned to page one, I just knew I wasn't going to be disappointed. It was a page turner. I would rush home just to continue reading this book. It was so different than anything else he had written. Then all of a sudden, the last hundred pages went downhill. I wanted to cry. What started out so magnificent was becoming such a disappointment. Where was the suspense? Should I stop reading the book? No, that wasn't my nature to give up. I continued reading hoping that things would improve, but unfortunately it just got worse. I still haven't gotten over the shock that something that started out so good ended so poorly.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Junk

    If I could, I would only give this book a 0.5 star. I had to whine my way through 300 pages before giving it up. I'm damn sure I won't even attempt to read another Dean Koontz book again, after struggling with Dark Rivers of the Heart and The Husband. Sorry, Dean, but from now on, I draw the line at you.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    boring

    This was one of the most boring books I have ever tried to read. I couldn't even finish it. From what I did read I thought it should have about 100 less pages, there was just so much useless iformation that did nothing to move the story along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    A WHOLE LOTTA NOTHING

    As someone who began reading Koontz with 'Watchers' and who has read every one of his books through the years, I would have to say that I believe my interest in this man's work has come to an end. After reading 'The Bad Place,' 'Lightning,' and 'Twilight Eyes,' I recognized Koontz's tremendous potential which pops to the forefront periodically in each of his works. But, after the failures of 'False Memory,' this book made it two failures in a row. Some quick points (SPOILERS AHEAD): The climactic scene when Cain is defeated..he's just gone! Can't you at least let us see where he went from his point of view? Koontz gives us meandering page after page of Cain's thoughts on women, sex, art, artists, and music, but we can't be with him as he pays for his sins in the alternate world? Also, the two brothers obsessed with disaster...a good idea, but executed poorly. Those two characters do not seem 'real' to me, although I acknowlege 1)that in my life I have not met people with childhoods as horrible as they had, and 2) this is a work of fiction with other elements where I also am required to suspend disbelief. Finally, Koontz is very wordy, and it hurts the pacing of the book. As a side note, did the diminutive use of names drive anybody else crazy? 'Barty,' 'Serie,' et al.? I was waiting for Vanadium to say, 'call me Tommy.' This book is a disaapointment with page after page of verbosity and absolutely NO PAYOFF when evil is vanquished. The denoument was better than the entire book as a whole! Thanks for letting me sound off. Koontz, thanks for years of entertainment, but there's better out there now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Waste of time! Not a fan of this book, I would pick another. S

    Waste of time!

    Not a fan of this book, I would pick another.

    Spoiler: I had several problems with this book. 1st I felt Koontz misled us in the opening, you think a man just "suddenly" pushes his wife off a tower, but as we get into the story, we find he is a rapist & cares only about himself. Once he kills his wife, he caused ripples which leads a detective to his door, who is not willing to give up! Now wait, what about all the rapes he commited?? They didn't cause "ripples"? but the murder of his wife does? The boys uncles drive one insane. The uncles only talk about death & never leave the house. I skipped over every part of them talking. Why Koontz gave them sooo much dialogue was beyond me. At the end it gets even more crazy seems the kids can go in & out of worlds? Good people suffer & die & the overall theme is very depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Waste of my Time

    The book had me excited in the beginning and then I kind of lost interest in the middle. I stayed with it to find out how it was going to end. To build up the storyline and end it that way was terrible. I cant believe I read 700 pgs for that ending. Please dont waste your time. This was my first book by Koontz and will probably be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    COMPILED RESEARCH FILES DOES NOT A BOOK MAKE!

    I've enjoyed Koontz for years but was highly disappointed with this book. The Characters are hokey and unbelievable with the exception of Junior Cain and Angel (a 3 y/o.). The places are as hokey as is the story line which seems to be comprised of bits of work that Koontz has started over the years, and stashed for a rainy day - This book seems to be a compilation of all the loose ends of information this Author has every researched for any of his books. This book would better have been written by telling at least one of the stories in its entirety within the book rather than making a comedy act out of horror, or boring the reader with all the piles of useless information he knew not what to do with, such as useless world disaster trivia (pages of it) pet words he could never figure how to incorporate into a story line, geography all based on Heaven and Hell themes as well as the names of most all the Characters in the book. The coincidences are not believable and while King got slammed for doing the Green Mile Series, I believe Koontz needs a smart smack on the hand for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1