Customer Reviews for

From the Corner of His Eye

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a book you fall in love with

From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I ...
From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I was still satisfied. I LOVE seeing characters grow up and the Lampion family is such a great example. Barty is amazing and Cain is very interesting. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

posted by JAJbooks on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Soooo Disappointed

As I lifted the book into my hands, the joy that I felt for reading another Dean Koontz book was overwhelming. As I turned to page one, I just knew I wasn't going to be disappointed. It was a page turner. I would rush home just to continue reading this book. It was so d...
As I lifted the book into my hands, the joy that I felt for reading another Dean Koontz book was overwhelming. As I turned to page one, I just knew I wasn't going to be disappointed. It was a page turner. I would rush home just to continue reading this book. It was so different than anything else he had written. Then all of a sudden, the last hundred pages went downhill. I wanted to cry. What started out so magnificent was becoming such a disappointment. Where was the suspense? Should I stop reading the book? No, that wasn't my nature to give up. I continued reading hoping that things would improve, but unfortunately it just got worse. I still haven't gotten over the shock that something that started out so good ended so poorly.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    a book you fall in love with

    From The Corner Of His Eye had such a great cast of characters and intertwining plots I became deeply attached to book. There is love, gore, suspense, devastation, and everything in between all packed into this 700 page novel. I didn't want it to end but when it did, I was still satisfied. I LOVE seeing characters grow up and the Lampion family is such a great example. Barty is amazing and Cain is very interesting. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    One of his very best!!

    I have read all of Koontz's books, with Watchers as my favorite, but this one is right up there with it. A page turner, can't put down book...read it...you won't be dissapointed!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Brilliant

    Brilliant, At 640 pages "From The Corner Of His Eye" was a fantastic story with a lot of characters from San Francisco to Oregon; Koontz does a great job at bringing all their storys together in the end. I would say this is a must read and that it ranks in my top 10 for sure. A strong 5 stars for "From The Corner Of His Eye".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly un-Koonts-y

    I've read a few books by Dean Koontz, and they usually follow the same pattern. There will be a man who's strong and handsome but doesn't know it, a woman who's witty and much more beautiful than she thinks she is, and a dog. Occasionally, there's also children. Throw all these people together during adverse circumstance, and love and a grand adventure will follow.

    This book isn't like that, and that's why I like it so much. It's different, exciting and at parts very sad. It's easy to get into, and one of my favorite books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I've enjoyed several of Koontz's books (particularly the Odd Tho

    I've enjoyed several of Koontz's books (particularly the Odd Thomas series), and this one did not disappoint! Koontz again enthralls with a masterful combination of suspense and soul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    One of my favorite books EVER!!

    I actually got this as an audio book. The man who read it was a genius! He gave each character its own voice. I felt like I was there. I would drive around longer than I had to because I didn't want it to stop. I have recommended this book to everyone I know, seriously! But it, you wont be sorry. I have both audio and hardcover versions. Maybe now have to get it for my Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Beautiful, funny, thrilling

    This is not a book for anyone who is looking for a fast, easy read. Koontz takes three groups of people, develops them and their back stories seperately, and then finally weaves them together into a beautiful and breathtaking story.
    Koontz is one of the few authors who can make me laugh out loud, something I did frequently in this book. He also shows the stupidity of evil, the strength of good, and the potential impact we all have, no matter how small our lives may seem. And he does all this with characters you can't help loving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Intimidating at first...

    This book was recommended to me by a friend, insisting that I read Dean Koontz. At first I was intimidated to start it with it being so long and having other books on my "to read" list. Don't get me wrong, I love a long good read, but I had other things to get into. After reading this, however, I will definitely be listening to my friends recommendations. This and Relentless by Dean Koontz made me a fan. The plot was convoluted and smart, intertwining with the other characters and really showing their growth over the course of years. I don't understand the bad reviews for this book, as it never seeed to be destined to be a fast-paced thriller or horror. Authors need to show their flexibilty in writing, and writing the same formula over and over again must eventuallly get boring. This was a piece that showed the depth of humanity and the psychology of people. With the length of time that passed in the book, it matched the "wordiness" it held and seeeed to stretch the time I took reading it. Yet it also had its interesting, fast, thrilling parts. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this work and will be reading more books by Mr. Koontz. I highly recommend it, first time Koontz reader or not,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Suspense thriller

    This is a good one to read! Keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Wonderfully thought-provoking

    I usually breeze through books quickly, finishing one and discarding it to get on to the next. But this book, with its lovable characters, science and theology, has me anxious to do further research on quantum mechanics and on the relatively unknown Apostle Bartholomew. It will be a permanant addition to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I only discovered Dean Koontz in 2009 and I've been busily readi

    I only discovered Dean Koontz in 2009 and I've been busily reading him ever since. I don't like every single one of his books (they are always superbly written, but sometimes I don't care for the setting or a main character or something else), but this book was an absolute delight to read and I did not want it to end. I checked it out from the library and now will buy it so I can read it again. What did I love about it? (1) It draws you in from the first paragraph. (2) The main characters are endearing; you'll cheer for them from the moments they arrive. (3) There is a profound spiritual slant to it that really makes you think about life as you think you know it. (4) The plot is complicated (but not confusing) with many strings that all come together at the end. However, the main reason I love this book is because I laughed all the way through it. Koontz seemed to have great fun with the characterization of the serial killer, a narcissistic megalomaniac who suffered physically every time he killed someone (but at the same time was pleased to know that he was such a sensitive guy that his killings would affect him so), was filled with self pity to the point of crying, when, for example, he killed someone he had cared for and would now have to live without, and who congratulated himself on his logical analyses and deductions, which were, in fact, quite deluded. Not often do I read a book where a character is as entertaining to read as this one was. It drew me to the treadmill and kept me on it for an hour every day--no small feat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great!!!!

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Very interesting and original concept!! I was surprised, disturbed, inspired, shocked, and excited all rolled into one great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    *****

    Very spiritual....not a horror story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    New fan?

    I read this years ago from a stranger simply telling it was a good book. Well, she lied, it was an excellent book!! I couldn't put it down, so enthralling, a true page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    My Fave

    I have read this book about 4 times. Every time I read it I find another twist and pick up on something I didn't notice before. It is an amazing book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    The best--bar none.

    Actually I think this is the best book I have ever read in this genre. I couldn't put it down,and when I was finished I wanted more--much more.I have read probably 2,000 books over the years and none have impressed me as much as this one. Take a day or two to read it and I seriously doubt that you will be disappointed, but rather, delighted at the entire experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    highly recommended

    A different kind of story from Dean Koontz, if that is possible. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Very entertaining.

    I enjoyed this book very much. The story moved right along and new characters were introduced with excellent timing. Another winner from Koontz. It is long at 652 pages...but stick with it. It is a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    A Masterpiece

    What an amazing feat Dean Koontz accomplished with this one. It's a psychological thriller written in true Koontz fashion, but with more meat on its bones. I'm a huge fan of Dean's books, and have read many before and after this one. From the Corner of His Eye still stands out as his best in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9