Customer Reviews for

From the Dust Returned

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    vivid read

    Ray Bradbury's masterpiece, From the Dust Returned, is a strange tale of an unusual family that all live in a house that was said to be made from debris from a hurricane.You could say these family members had a bit of a dark side and you would be correct because they are all monsters. Each individual character had that same common characteristic but each one was different from the next and completely different from the rest. That same diversity showed in the whole story not just in the characters traits but in the plot. This book is definitely targeted for people with large vocabularies. It was a great book and I would suggest it to most anyone.
    I always loved ray Bradbury's books and this one was definitely a great addition to his works. Although it was hard to understand in the beginning, it became clearer what mister Bradbury was trying to get across later in the book. Almost all the aspects of the book were more than satisfactory. I especially loved his vivid language. His description of Timothy's flight with uncle Einar was so exact I could see it happening turn by turn in my head.
    No other author of this genre could compare to ray's work of art, not even himself. This is his best book yet I can't wait for the next one.
    This book was a colorful entertaining descriptive story that I won't soon forget. I think anyone that enjoys reading should try this book. I am sure that you would enjoy it, I sure know that I have. No other author will satisfy you after you read this don't miss out on his most epic novel yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    The magic of the October people

    Ray Bradbury's From the Dust Returned will make you remember why you fell in love with Halloween as a child. Just a gorgeous read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Bradbury is a GREAT author...

    I read in a review that this book will eventually find its way into the fall season pretty much the same way Dickens¿s ¿A Christmas Carol¿ has found it¿s way to the holiday season. I agree wholeheartedly with that statement. What a beautiful fall book. The characters are awesome and Bradbury¿s use of imagery is amazing. Picture a warm yet windy fall evening with the perfect amount of fall leaves floating around your feet and you have the picture that IS this book. There are a lot of different stories woven into ¿From the Dust Returned¿, but they all work well together and tie up perfectly at the end. A great book! This book would even be great to read through and choose passages for kids on Halloween night. I really enjoyed this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Inspiring

    This book truely incompases the feeling of fall and the taste of October. It personifies the characteristics of every story ever written about ghouls, vampires, witches, or any other creature that makes fear seize you in the dark. Its beauty is in its telling but the soul lies inside the mind altering story of the Elliot Family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Awesome book

    I recently read this book for a book report and I loved it! Ray Bradbury is a great author and I love his books. At points i got confused, but this is an excellent story. This is the second book I 've read (the first was Farhenheit 451) by Ray Bradbury and it's wonderful. I definetly recommend this book. The book is wierd, funny, and sad. The characters are lovable and made me want to read even further into the book. r.b.l

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    BORDER

    BORDER

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    A Wonderful read

    I read this book years ago, yet the plot and beautiful language has stuck with me throughout the years. Bradbury makes each character so unique in his/her own way yet strings them all together in an unforgettable tale. I would Highly recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2005

    From The Dust Returned: Outstanding

    Bradbury does a wonderful job with this one. His use of poetic language and imagery is very interesting. I enjoyed this book very much and would recommaned it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    A Top-Notch Read

    This has to be one of Bradbury's best. The plot is excellent, the characters are realistic, and the pacing is top-notch. To think that Bradbury pasted this masterwork together from a few short stories that he wrote in the 40's. That is an amazing fact within itself. Highly recommened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Not a dusty story at all.

    Wonderfully vintage Bradbury! Tight dialogue and excellent plotting, plus whimsical memories of a childhood lost in time. Superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    I loved the Book! Ray Bradbury's a GREAT author!!!

    This book was great, I loved it! The other book, Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury was great too! I can't wait to read his other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Life With the Monsters

    Mr. Bradbury's book was an incredible journey into the life of a different type of family, made up of the creatures of the night. The writing is pure Bradbury with amazing descriptions of strange and wonderful places and the thoughts and emotions of some of the characters. This is not a full story, per se, but mainly a series of vignettes about the "Elliot" familly. Several of the chapters have been previously published. But what an amazing book. And it took Mr. Bradbury only 55 years to complete! Read it and you will be transported to his weird and wonderful world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    Weird.............

    I just read this book and it isssss hmmmmm I can't even describe it in words! I mean this is the weirdest book I HAVE EVER READ. Not that the book is horrible, but it made no sence to me why it was written, not until the end of the book, when I read about the author's family, and the fact that alot of his life experience is in this book especially his family and parts of his childhood. But it is a book to read for people who are intrested in the works of literature.....WHAT AN IMAGINATIVE MIND THE AUTHOR HAS I HAVE TO TELL YOU!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    A Beautiful Book

    This book is full of incredible imagery and wonderful imagination. I loved it! A bit bizarre--you'll never forget the characters--but definitely worth reading. Although you wouldn't expect a sci-fi story to be literary and poetic, this one definitely is. Even if you don't like sci-fi, you'll appreciate the way Bradbury tells the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1