Customer Reviews for

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Average Rating 4
( 384 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

book lover

I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They...
I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They run away with only $24 to live on. They sleep in dusty old beds and hide in the restrooms for many hours a day. They always have excuses why they were caught by the guard. But one time while Jamie was hiding in the men¿s room and he heard the water running. He thought that it was just another visitor but it was a janitor who was wondering why Jamie was there. Jamie, the second youngest can take on any challenge like hiding his things in historical figures. Claudia the oldest of four kids is very intelligent. She is the one who comes up with the plans for everyday, like how many hours to hide in the bathrooms and how many hours they get to sleep so they won¿t get caught by the night guard and how much they should spend on the two meals they get a day. I love this book because it is an exciting adventure about Claudia and Jamie. I haven¿t finished the book yet but I can¿t wait to read the adventure that awaits. It also makes me want to really go and visit the Metropolitan Museum of art in New York. And like I said I highly suggest it.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Boring with a capital b

It was really stupid

posted by 9967746 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    book lover

    I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They run away with only $24 to live on. They sleep in dusty old beds and hide in the restrooms for many hours a day. They always have excuses why they were caught by the guard. But one time while Jamie was hiding in the men¿s room and he heard the water running. He thought that it was just another visitor but it was a janitor who was wondering why Jamie was there. Jamie, the second youngest can take on any challenge like hiding his things in historical figures. Claudia the oldest of four kids is very intelligent. She is the one who comes up with the plans for everyday, like how many hours to hide in the bathrooms and how many hours they get to sleep so they won¿t get caught by the night guard and how much they should spend on the two meals they get a day. I love this book because it is an exciting adventure about Claudia and Jamie. I haven¿t finished the book yet but I can¿t wait to read the adventure that awaits. It also makes me want to really go and visit the Metropolitan Museum of art in New York. And like I said I highly suggest it.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    For a real review....

    For those of us who are looking for a lagitament review on this book... here goes: This book is a wonderful summer read for when you just want to keep buisy. It is an easy read but still uses great vocabulary and has hidden themes. Adults and students alike will enjoy this book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Why Read Any Other Book?

    This is the best book I eever read. It is a excellent mystery book. It is good for grades 3 to 7. I hope this helps.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I love it

    Its been one of my favorite books since i was in third grade. I am now in eighth and i still love it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Mysteriousness

    I love this book so diffrent and suspenseful

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Im thirteen and i still love this book

    Some people have noted that this book would not be good for a child under eleven. I just wanted to say that im thirteen and this book is still on my bookshelf. Granted, its not the ABSOLUTE best book ever written, but its defenitly one of best. I love the timelessness f it and it makes you feel like thisis a real story. So i would defenitly recremennd this book to anyone :) :3

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil A. Frankweiler

    The book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Bail E. Frankweiler, by E. L. Konigsburg, is a great book because it is funny and gives good detail about the adventures of Claudia and James Kincaid. Claudia loves secrets and Jamie loves challenges. Claudia felt injustice at her home, so she decided to run away. She chose her brother, "Jamie", to run away with her because he had a lot of money. They decided to stay at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. They learned something everyday. When they saw a sculpture called Angel, they were so interested in it because its sculptor was unknown. The two children actually found a clue to whom really made Angel. They sent an anonymous letter to the museum owners to tell them about the clue, but, sadly, the Metropolitan Museum of Art already knew. Claudia and Jamie were so interested in the clue that they actually went to the house of the person who auctioned Angel to the museum. They found out everything at the house: (1) if the work was designed by Michelangelo, (2) if the work was designed, but not done by Michelangelo, or (3) if Michelangelo did not have anything to do with the sculpture at all. In the end, Claudia and Jamie came back home with a story to tell and secrets NOT to be told.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    BUY IT!!!!!!

    U R a tru genius Konigsburg!!!!! Cant wait to read more of your books! A must read for every reader ;0)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Best

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read in my life!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great book

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING IT HAS MYSTERY AND ADVENTURE I HAD TO READ FOR SCHOOL I I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE BOOK

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Godd

    I absolutley LOVE this book. It is really well written. It is appropriate for ages 9-14 probably.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Bv

    Read this book for accelerated reading and thought it was awesome.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Love it

    Its awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Besr book

    So interesting!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Aweful

    this book is absolutely horrible. i bet the people who gave the award didnt even read this book. to tell you about. it is about a delusional girl runs away with her brother and lives in a museum. then she thinks she is lucky because the polics havent caught her yet. then she solves a boring mystery. the end

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Okay, a thirteen-year-old who has been forced to read this book

    Okay, a thirteen-year-old who has been forced to read this book will not like it. That's a given.
    I read this many moons ago when I was eleven and loved it. Still remember it clearly, even. Once one is a Grandmother who clearly remembers a book so many years later... well, you get my drift. Luckily, the lack of personal technology is what makes this story so great. If your kid is totally tuned into his or her devices, she/he may not appreciate what it means to be a runaway with little money and no technology. If the child is curious about such an existence, then it may work. Nevertheless, this is terrific literature wrapped up in a compelling plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Read this review

    Read this book in third grade and now in sixth grade i still love i it . .! Its amazing . .!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Booooooo!

    I absolutelly hate this book. How in the name of something did this horrible book even get published! I can not even call it a book. Its filth. Totally not jk.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great book

    This is one of the best books i have ever read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Boring with a capital b

    It was really stupid

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20