Customer Reviews for

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Average Rating 4
( 384 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

book lover

I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They...
I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They run away with only $24 to live on. They sleep in dusty old beds and hide in the restrooms for many hours a day. They always have excuses why they were caught by the guard. But one time while Jamie was hiding in the men¿s room and he heard the water running. He thought that it was just another visitor but it was a janitor who was wondering why Jamie was there. Jamie, the second youngest can take on any challenge like hiding his things in historical figures. Claudia the oldest of four kids is very intelligent. She is the one who comes up with the plans for everyday, like how many hours to hide in the bathrooms and how many hours they get to sleep so they won¿t get caught by the night guard and how much they should spend on the two meals they get a day. I love this book because it is an exciting adventure about Claudia and Jamie. I haven¿t finished the book yet but I can¿t wait to read the adventure that awaits. It also makes me want to really go and visit the Metropolitan Museum of art in New York. And like I said I highly suggest it.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Boring with a capital b

It was really stupid

posted by 9967746 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Far far away

    I hated it very much. It was tourchourously ( i spelled that wrong so tor-chor-us-ly) boring. My novel group teacher, who is a devil woman, made us read it. Too much detail. I started to slip the cover over one of my other books, and when i stopped i skipped 30 to 50 pages and still understood it. (swear on my life im not lying) The thing is that claudia feels unapprechiated by her family so she grabs her brother and runs away. The thing i hated most about it is claudia pratacilly( i spelled that wrong) says: " hey im running away tomorrow. Can you come with me cause you have lots of money."
    "Sure!"
    I dont know why its considered a classic. You wonder why kids hate reading well this is it. Your students will see you as a devil woman like my teacher. Dont read it, it will cause brain decay.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Ehh

    Its ok not the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Kind of boring

    I read this book in fourth grade and it was really boring to me only at the end it was interesting. When my class and i read the book together it was really boring so my friends and i would talk while my teacher reads. I am now in seventh grade and i still dislike this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Ok

    Did not realy understand it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    not a good book dont read

    Claudia knows she can't pull off an old fashioned runaway. She knows her brother is smart with money and saves everything he earns. Claudia doesn't really like the outdoors so she run away to the metropation art musurm of New York. as they are there they see a staue called angel but no konw who made it. they try to find out but the musurm already konww it. they start to run out of money will they go home with the money they have left of try to still find out.it jump into the story witch was good. it gave great deatails and it seemed like u were right there with them. but after a while it got boring. they kept doing the same things it did make the reader kept reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Interesting message but dated delivery

    This is one of those books I bought hoping to interest my son in a Newbery-winner instead of another installment of "My Weird School." I've taken to prereading his books myself so I know what to expect and, unfortunately, this one was a disappointment. While the idea of the kids secretly spending their nights at the Metropolitan Museum is delicious and fascinating, the mystery the kids find there is simplistic by the standards of today's info-savvier children. And the adventure itself, while still a fun idea, feels more irresponsible than irrepressible. Somehow what the little girl who drives the adventure gets out of it in the end seems not worth our investment of time and empathy. Sorry to say I think this little book is not aging well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    It was not the best book I ever read!

    From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs.Basil E. Frankwieleris a clue puzzle. The author of the book is E.L. Koningsburg. The book is about Cladia and her brother Jamie, Cladia ran away because she wasnn't getting enough attention, and she picked Jamie because he had the most money. They ran away to the Metrepolitan Muesem, and that is were they hid. after many days they find a statue called angel, everybody thinks it is made by Michealangelo. I don't recamend this book to peaple who like exiding books, I would also recamend this book to boys or girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1