Customer Reviews for

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Average Rating 4
( 374 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

book lover

I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They...
I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They run away with only $24 to live on. They sleep in dusty old beds and hide in the restrooms for many hours a day. They always have excuses why they were caught by the guard. But one time while Jamie was hiding in the men¿s room and he heard the water running. He thought that it was just another visitor but it was a janitor who was wondering why Jamie was there. Jamie, the second youngest can take on any challenge like hiding his things in historical figures. Claudia the oldest of four kids is very intelligent. She is the one who comes up with the plans for everyday, like how many hours to hide in the bathrooms and how many hours they get to sleep so they won¿t get caught by the night guard and how much they should spend on the two meals they get a day. I love this book because it is an exciting adventure about Claudia and Jamie. I haven¿t finished the book yet but I can¿t wait to read the adventure that awaits. It also makes me want to really go and visit the Metropolitan Museum of art in New York. And like I said I highly suggest it.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Boring with a capital b

It was really stupid

posted by 9967746 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    For a real review....

    For those of us who are looking for a lagitament review on this book... here goes: This book is a wonderful summer read for when you just want to keep buisy. It is an easy read but still uses great vocabulary and has hidden themes. Adults and students alike will enjoy this book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I love it

    Its been one of my favorite books since i was in third grade. I am now in eighth and i still love it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Pretty good

    It was for summer reading but it actully was good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    Its an ok book!!

    Its a good book but some parts its confusing and some parts are really intresting!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Awesome book

    I loved this book it was one of my all time favorites

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    In this book a girl named Claudia Kincaid runs away from home wi

    In this book a girl named Claudia Kincaid runs away from home with her brother Jamie Kincaid. Jamie and Claudia run away to New York City. In New York they hide in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. While hiding there they encounter something interesting. They see a sculpture. Both of them want to find out who sculpted it. It may be the work of Michelangelo the very well-known artist. They both set out to find answers if Michelangelo sculpt the statue at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
    I thought this was very good. The main characters were kids so I can relate a little bit. Claudia and Jamie both were funny and had a good sense of humor. I also liked the idea because sometimes I want run away. But the beginning was slow for me.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    SCHOOLLLLLLLLL

    I like the book but im having to read it just answer 100 questions per chapter litarlly so thats why i gave it a three also im a spoiler i always skip to the end im confused did they die or what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    For those who like books with good detail

    Great book the righter of the book is gonna hav a good futuer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    From the mixed-up files of mrs.basil e. frankweiler

    This book keeps you questioning about whats going to happen next and in the en you are a litle surprised.if you're someone who likes adventurous books and mystery you will like this book.Jamie and Claudi ar going on an adventure and running away to the metropolism measume of art. When they gt there a new sttue of an angel comes in ,and the mesume is trying to figure out if the statue is made by Michealangelo. The only person tht knows is mrs. Basil e. Frankweiler. Claudia is not going home till he ffinds out who made angel. Will she eer find out red the book to ind out. Have fun reading!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    I had to read this book because it was on my reading list. I did not think I would like this book but I did. It has a very slow plot.
    -ereads

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    very interesting read!

    A very good storie by el kongisburg! very interesting! Something always making you want to keep reading.
    only problem is that at parts, it can be VERY fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    worth every penny

    perfect for consistant readers and it keeps you in the edge of your seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

    This book is about 2 siblings(Jamie and Claudia)running away. Claudia plans to hide out at the Metropolitin Museum of Art, in New York City. She asks Jamie to come because he has important equipment that they would need for the trip. Like a transistor radio. Jamie agrees, and they leave their home. They hide out at the library 2 days before the statue Angel comes. Cladia is obsessed with Angel, and must know if it was actually carved by Michaelangelo. But the only person that knows the truth is Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

    I have decided to give this book a 4 star rating because it was a very interesting book. I thought it was cool how they showed the story from different peoples perspectives. I also liked how each character was imporant. It was a all around good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brought Back Memories!

    I read this book as a 5th grader. I'm "all grown up" now but still loved the book. There is something intriguing about the sister and brother running away from home to the big city and living in an art museum without being discovered! The "how they did it" was the most interesting part for me. And the connections of the people at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    A really fun, exciting book

    My 8 year old loves reading and tends to enjoy books his 12 year old cousin enjoys, and she recommended this one. We were planning a big play date at the Metropolitan Museum, going on a tour during Winter Break, and read this in advance. There aren't that many books that we both enjoy this much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Lili Juliet Santos- Famous,Bookworm, Scholar

    I was asigned to pick a book froma list to do a project on it worth 10% of my grade. I have to admit that this book was not my first choice,in fact i found the tittle rather long and unappealing.Once i realized that the book i was reading was pointless and uneducational. I decided to give this book a try. I find it very gutsy of Claudis and Jamie to run away from the injustice in their homes. I also enjoyed the comical yet well thought excuses they would give the guard when the would get caught.'not very often' Im not done yet with this book but i know i will get many laughs and an A+ on my project. I recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Adventurous!

    If you like adventure, then this is the book for you. Claudia and Jamie are on the edge of trouble. It's a great reading group book because there are lots of things you could discuss with each other!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    I might want to read it

    After reading everyone's review i want to try this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    enjoyable book

    This is basically an interesting story that will appeal to children. While it is not a perfect book, Claudia and James do learn some important lessons from their experiences and from their encounter with Mrs. Frankweiler. My basic feeling upon finishing it was positive. Language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    school

    I had to read this book for school and i thought it would be boring but it was the best book ever i loved it i cant stop reading it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3