Customer Reviews for

The Front Porch Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 1324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(596)

4 Star

(390)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

posted by Ragu on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of book

It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get...
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

posted by TrixieRed on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

    One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Not my kind of book

    It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Excellent book!

    This book is very well written and a delightful surprise. It is funny, sad, and insightful. I really enjoyed reading it!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Excellent

    If you have ever lived in the South or in a small town you will appreciate this book. The characters are so finely drawn most readers will be able to recognize at least one person. The word "character" is applicable to many in the cast of unique personalities. From the bumbling small town sheriff to the high school football coach, a former Chicago Bear, the book is filled with everyday people with their everyday foibles.

    The humor is both obvious and subtle, the personal struggles are all too heart-rending. A collage of Southern humanity that is well worth the read. I could not put it down and will be looking at the author's other works.

    The book deals with adult problems and situations, so if you enjoy life, you will enjoy this.

    This would make a good bookclub read as there are many areas for discussion.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down.

    Really well written. Very enjoyable

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Bad

    Not the best

    10 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Outstanding

    I downloaded this book on Free Friday for my Nook. What a delight! Raymond Atkins' descriptions were so funny I laughed all the way through the book. It was bitter-sweet, but a delightful summer read. I am looking forward to reading more books by Atkins.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.

    Thank God that I don't pay attention to book reviews written by literary idiots!!! This book is NOT a waste of time to read. It's a great book with hilarious small town insights.

    I highly recommend The Font Porch Prophet to anyone that ever lived in a small town - one where everyone knows whose check is good and whose wife isn't.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    You Must Read

    I only picked it up this morning and already on page 120... I kept reading it until my nook died. Great, Easy, Fun read!!!! So interesting the pages fly by and you don't even realize it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Beautiful

    Wished that it would not end. Beautifully written. Funny and poignant. In the line of 'Tis and Ida's boy. Well worth the read. Thank you. Want more of this caliber of books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Funny, tragic, thought provoking

    A well crafted story about life & death told with a sense of humor. I am looking forward to reading more from the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable 'Beaches' for Guys

    Thank you, Free Friday, for 'The Front Porch Prophet" by Raymond Atkins. A little southern exposure never hurt anyone, and this quirky novel entertains and provides food for thought. As the preview pointed out, it is much like the popular Evening Shade TV series of yore, but with a lot more bite since the censors aren't involved. This book is for readers of both genders looking for a slice of life and friendship from a southern male point of view served with humor and feeling. Perhaps the mixed readers' reviews are due to a lack of romance for female readers on the one hand and the dominance of feeling over action for the males. It suited me just fine, and I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Great book, reminds me of home

    This is a great book, I couldn't put it down. Reminds me of my southern upbringing. The author absolutely captures the true craziness of a small southern town and the strange relationships that all that closeness breeds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Free and beautiful!

    Loved this book, cannot believe it was free..grab it while you can!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    An interesting read...

    I wish the whiners would quit complaining about the book choice and actually start to read the book and review what they've read. Of course B&N won't offer a John Grisham novel as a free one (or at least not very often). It's appropriate they choose the lesser known authors of quality that they think will be interesting.

    I've only gotten about half way through chapter three so far, but I find it an intriguing read. It is well written and some very nice humor. The plot and how it flows is interesting. So far it reads like a nice home spun story with tangents and ramblings that explain background of the plot without losing the whole point -- he gets around to explaining things nicely. I do recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend!!!

    couldn't put this book down! very well written but down to earth. loved the characters and laughed and cried right along with em!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Wonderful Read

    Well told tale of life and had parts that made me laugh out loud.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    ENJOYED!

    My husband gave the nook to me for Mothers Day. I am 35 and haven't read a book in my life except for the required books in school. Since getting the NC, I have read 5 books and I have to say, I read this one and actually enjoyed it! Of course, I live in Chattanooga and was excited to see it mentioned in the book several times. Thanks for the FREE Book B&N!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Loved it

    good folksy read about a disfunctional friendship. Quick entertaining read, will not disappoint

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    I agree--a must read

    For those of you who made judgements without reading the book--you can't judge a book by it's cover!!!!! A MUST READ!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67