BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Front Porch Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 1317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(593)

4 Star

(388)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

posted by Ragu on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of book

It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get...
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

posted by TrixieRed on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1320 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Looks

    It sounds real good.

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Never get it

    From the first sentence you can tell it is bad

    2 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Loved it

    I absolutely loved this book. The writing style is comfortable, the characters are believable and endearing. It is a sad, yet hilarious story all at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    A Wonderful Surprise -- First Rate

    This deeply felt novel has universal appeal and deserves a wide readership. It's funny and moving, light and serious, populated with memorable characters, unusual situations, and poignant, real relationships. I found it engaging from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I completely, thoroughly, wholeheartedly loved this book. I fini

    I completely, thoroughly, wholeheartedly loved this book. I finished reading it and immediately wanted to shoot off an email to Mr. Atkins to thank him for writing it. I've never felt the urge to do that before. The book is just a little treasure trove of love, respect, and caring. It made me laugh out loud and tear up more than a few times. The dialogue is funny and, in my mind, realistic. I can only say that I just adore this book. I will reread it many times, I'm sure, in the years to come. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really liked this book

    This book is great. One short story after another traveling through the life of one very likable guy. I really enjoyed Raymond's writing style. I'll be looking for another of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Excellent book!

    Really enjoyed this book - humorous, touching, engaging. What a delight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great small town story

    Kind of reminded me of a Southern "Newhart". The characters were crafted well and I thought the adventures A.J. and Eugene got themselves into were great! I received my nook for Fathers Day and this was my first free Friday book- I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Life and death. Laugh and cry.

    This book really surprised me. I had no expectations of it as I had never heard of the author or the book, but I loved it! Set in a tiny southern town, written in a conversational, colloquial style, it explores the everyday moments of life and also the inevitable fact of death with a comedic southern flare. This is a must read for fans of any southern authors such as Harper Lee, Zora Neale Hurston, or Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. You will fall in love with these characters and your heart will break for their trials and tribulations. Start reading it today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Did not want it to end!

    I got this book because was a Nook freebie. I did not know what to expect, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked the plot, the steering and the characters. Would highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Great easy read!

    The author truly captures a dry southern sense of humor with his word selection. A few laugh out loud sections!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I've always believed the best thing you can say about it a fictional book is that the characters are real. These characters may be exaggerated but I know them, they are real to me. And as an added bonus there were times I had to laugh out loud. All in all a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!!

    This book made me cry and laugh out loud!! Great read!!! I will definately readnit again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Highly recommended

    The first 5 star I've awarded a B&N free book. (All others would be a 3 or less.) Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    The best book I've read in a while. Witty dialoge and characters you can't help but fall in love with. I had trouble reading it just from laughing so hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Realistic and captivating

    The characters in this book jump off the pages. The main character is likable and believable. The author filled this book with fabulous tongue in cheek sense of humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Laugh, cry and laugh again...!

    Could not put it down amd wish it never ended. Thank you BN and Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Nailed the Small Town Life

    Coming from a small town in northeast AL I recoginized many characters in this book. Southerners will identify with the nick names and craziness of the populace of Sequoyah, GA. The author's humor and plot twist are reminicent of a modern day Twain. Although I felt the author was trying to impress the reader with his vocabulary, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As I did another book by the author,Sorrow Wood. Glad to see it released on Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Love this book

    The characters are real. Straight-forward style, clever commentary not only on the eccentricies of small-town South, but also on the condition of the human soul and a "simple" man's search for the simple truths of life. I hated for it to end. I would love to see Atkins publish the complete letters of Eugene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Excellent Read Excellent Read

    Captures southern spirit, humor, and loyality . Well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1320 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66