Customer Reviews for

Front Porch Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 1314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(592)

4 Star

(387)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

posted by Ragu on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of book

It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get...
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

posted by TrixieRed on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Not my kind of book

    It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    good read

    For a free friday book a good read, not one I would pick but full of wit, love and tragedy.

    did not like the bad language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Good Book

    Its a slow start but a good message in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Wheres is it?

    The book has disappeared from my nook. What I have read was intermittently funny. The characters are not very endearing or respectable......feels like the Saturday crowd at Walmart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Never got into this. . .

    I stayed with this until the end but it just never really grabbed me. It was well written but the story was a bit depressing for me. I guess I prefer a little more adventure....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Decent

    Interesting story, easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Good thing it was free!

    There were some LOL moments, but not enough to make me really like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Loved it until the last few pages

    This book was hilarious, enchanting, and a pleasure to read... until the last few pages. I somehow felt like I'd been strung along the whole time as I was pulled into the book and then got slapped in the face at the end when the main character euthanizes his best friend. An awful ending to an otherwise wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Characters were interesting. I didn't care for some of the language used and didn't like fact that author implied that if there was a God that he didn't care about the people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    The Front Porch Prophet

    This book is mostly about the pains of family and friends. It show so much compassio amidst the daily routine of life, withits sorrows, joys, health and the inevitable...death of a loved one. It is a quick, but easy read. Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    pretty darn good

    Did not have high expectation, but something about this book really hit me. I liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Recommended

    This book was very captivating but I can see where those who's reviews were poor were coming from..they didn't have the right Southern upbringing and no doubt missed the parts that piqued the memories. I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5