Customer Reviews for

Front Porch Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 1322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(596)

4 Star

(390)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

posted by Ragu on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of book

It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get...
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

posted by TrixieRed on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great small town story

    Kind of reminded me of a Southern "Newhart". The characters were crafted well and I thought the adventures A.J. and Eugene got themselves into were great! I received my nook for Fathers Day and this was my first free Friday book- I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Alex

    *hugglesh chu back.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Liked this

    It was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Really good read

    This story has several laugh out loud moments throughout. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Decent read

    Oddly interesting book. For those of us who remember Lewis Grizzard, it is reminiscent of his columns. It follows the story of several folks in a small, north Georgia town. Some real characters here. This book is not for everyone. If you are looking for great literature, keep looking. If you are looking for a fun read this just might be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Slice of life

    A really good people story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Just okay.

    I read up to page 27 and decided to quit. Read the reviews and thought I must be missing something so I continued. Just finished and although it wasn't too bad I had other books I'd much rather have spent my time on. Guess it just wasn't my kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Different

    Too much bad language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Not what I expected

    Great read but not what I was expecting. Left me with a range of emotions. Makes you rethink lots of things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Slow but good read

    At times this book was very slow moving but in the end turned out to be pretty good for a free book friday pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Not appealing.

    I just could not get interested in this book. It moved to slow. Not a fan of the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Quirky balanced with deep

    Once in awhile I find a book that mixes up my need for nuanced humor with deep life-lessons. This book did it for me. Perfectly toned characters, spot-on dialogue, atmospheric descriptions, and ripping good story, too. Just what I needed to kill off a few summer days. More, please, Mr. Atkins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Worth the read

    Great free friday selection that gives a detailed view into Eugene and A.J.s surroundings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Enjoyed this book

    Front Porch Prophet was different the the usual books that I read. I have to say I enjoyed the book, if you like backwoods humor you will get a laugh out of what two boys will do with a school bus and where it ends up. This was a very laid back, down to earth book with the troubles of a small rural town. Try it, you might like it, I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    This book isn't my normal type of book, but it was pretty good. I grew up in a small town and the author brought a lot of those characters to life. I thought he went a little too far bringing in so many "non-essential" characters to the book, but overall I enjoyed the read. Very humorous in a lot of sections, but also kind of sad. A good book about how life goes on even when death is around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amusing and Thought Provoking

    Thanks to Free Friday books I am reading books that I might not normally read. This book has a few kooky characters, but the author makes them believable and seem almost sane. By the end of the book, you pretty much just accept the characters and their actions as being the norm. From the beginning, the reader knows how the story will end, but it's the getting there that holds the interest. It will amuse you. It will make you sad. It will make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9