Customer Reviews for

Front Porch Prophet

Average Rating 4
( 1314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(592)

4 Star

(387)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

posted by Ragu on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of book

It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get...
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.

posted by TrixieRed on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny. Sad. Bittersweet. True.

    One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Funny, tragic, thought provoking

    A well crafted story about life & death told with a sense of humor. I am looking forward to reading more from the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable 'Beaches' for Guys

    Thank you, Free Friday, for 'The Front Porch Prophet" by Raymond Atkins. A little southern exposure never hurt anyone, and this quirky novel entertains and provides food for thought. As the preview pointed out, it is much like the popular Evening Shade TV series of yore, but with a lot more bite since the censors aren't involved. This book is for readers of both genders looking for a slice of life and friendship from a southern male point of view served with humor and feeling. Perhaps the mixed readers' reviews are due to a lack of romance for female readers on the one hand and the dominance of feeling over action for the males. It suited me just fine, and I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    An interesting read...

    I wish the whiners would quit complaining about the book choice and actually start to read the book and review what they've read. Of course B&N won't offer a John Grisham novel as a free one (or at least not very often). It's appropriate they choose the lesser known authors of quality that they think will be interesting.

    I've only gotten about half way through chapter three so far, but I find it an intriguing read. It is well written and some very nice humor. The plot and how it flows is interesting. So far it reads like a nice home spun story with tangents and ramblings that explain background of the plot without losing the whole point -- he gets around to explaining things nicely. I do recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    ENJOYED!

    My husband gave the nook to me for Mothers Day. I am 35 and haven't read a book in my life except for the required books in school. Since getting the NC, I have read 5 books and I have to say, I read this one and actually enjoyed it! Of course, I live in Chattanooga and was excited to see it mentioned in the book several times. Thanks for the FREE Book B&N!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Loved it

    good folksy read about a disfunctional friendship. Quick entertaining read, will not disappoint

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    A Wonderful Surprise -- First Rate

    This deeply felt novel has universal appeal and deserves a wide readership. It's funny and moving, light and serious, populated with memorable characters, unusual situations, and poignant, real relationships. I found it engaging from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I've always believed the best thing you can say about it a fictional book is that the characters are real. These characters may be exaggerated but I know them, they are real to me. And as an added bonus there were times I had to laugh out loud. All in all a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Nailed the Small Town Life

    Coming from a small town in northeast AL I recoginized many characters in this book. Southerners will identify with the nick names and craziness of the populace of Sequoyah, GA. The author's humor and plot twist are reminicent of a modern day Twain. Although I felt the author was trying to impress the reader with his vocabulary, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As I did another book by the author,Sorrow Wood. Glad to see it released on Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Humorous and Vivid, if brief

    I downloaded this book as a Free Friday promotion, and thus my review may be unintentionally colored by lower expectations than had I paid list price.

    Atkins' book is a short, but interesting look at a community of small-town mountain folk from northwest Georgia. In short chapters which jump between present-day and flashbacks to their past, the story of the friendship between A.J. and Eugene is told in an non-traditional narrative style heavy on humor and regional dialect.

    Atkins' brings small-town Georgia mountain life to life in a way reminiscent of Tim Dorsey or Carl Hiaasen's treatment of Florida, or Nelson DeMille and his New York Gold Coast. While I wasn't wowed by the plot, the humor, characters, and setting kept me turning the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    A delightful and heartfelt story.

    As a native of Lyerly Ga. ( a small town not far from the stories setting), I was delighted to discover many of the stories were similar to actual events. The authors depiction of the characters was highly realistic, and he portrayed their vices with sensitivity and humor. I found myself laughing out-loud during portions of the book, and fighting off tears towards the end. The story was a bit hard to follow through the first four chapters, but developed into a delightful tale as it continued. By the end of the book I felt as if I had grown up with the characters, and wanted the story to continue. I will definitely purchase his other books, now that I have completed this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Bravo!

    An interesting new author for me. One thought provoking idea after another is addressed with a sensitive position on each. A modern look at questions of the day with characters worth knowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Excellent read!!!

    The characters have wonderful senses of humor. Could not put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great read!

    I really liked this book. Great characters and a story that keeps you engaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Wonderful

    Well craftrd and engaging!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Looks like a treasure

    From the start I can tell this is going to be a smooth read.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    A great read

    My husband read this first and insisted I would like it. It didnt sound like something I would enjoy but since he recomended it I gave it a try. Enjoyed it so much we bought another book by this author. So my advice to you is try this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    This is my first exposure to Southern fiction and I really liked

    This is my first exposure to Southern fiction and I really liked it.  It’s a bit more grounded in reality than the overview makes it sound.  Some heavy material involving the main character’s friend’s terminal cancer, but plenty of humor sprinkled throughout.  I am from rural western North Carolina and the characters and setting feel both familiar and true to me.  There are a lot of flashbacks to episodes that took place earlier in the character’s lives.  That can make it feel at times like the author has cobbled some short story ideas into his novel to pad the length.  I mention this to explain why I only gave it 4 stars.  Otherwise, I enjoyed reading this very much and have placed Atkin’s next novel, ‘Sorrow Wood’ on my list of things to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    One of those books I'll read again and again. I came to feel lik

    One of those books I'll read again and again. I came to feel like I knew the quirky characters and I want to know what happens next. Just a beautifully written book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading about this small southern town and all of its quirky characters. Made me laugh and I didnt want it to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20