Customer Reviews for

Frost

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good Sequel

    This is the second book in the Stork series and I liked it as much as the first. This time around you get to go to Iceland and learn a little bit about the culture. Kat the main characters Grandpa grew up there and he takes her to a yearly festival in the town. There she gets her fortune read and must go on a Journey to save her boyfriend and potentially the world after she finds out dangerous information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Such a refreshingly fun book and series!

    Stork was such a cool book. Katla, the main character, was a spunky girl who was struggling in a fish out of water situation after moving from stylish California to cold Minnesota. The book was a really fun read and I loved the Norse mythology, not something that find a lot of in YA. Additionally, the romance between Kat and Jack is so sweet!

    Frost is an equally fun read. Portions of the story - the main storyline featuring Jack, Kat and Brigid - is based on Hans Christian Anderson's The Snow Queen and had wonderful fairytale-like quality to it. The story takes place in Minnesota, Iceland and Greenland and I love Ms. Delsol's vivid descriptions of Icelandic folklore. Frost has a lot more going on than Stork did and at times, I wondered how the author was going to pull all the sub-plots together, but she does so very nicely in the end.

    I love Kat's voice. Even though she still a bit snarky, she is also more mature in this book. As with many second books in a series, Jack and Kat's relationship is tested and we don't get to see them together as much as I would like. I also wanted more of the Stork Society and I hope we will see more of the Storks in the next book in the series. I'm really hoping there will be another book because while Frost does not end with a cliffhanger, it does a great job of setting up some storylines that I hoping will get resolved in the next book.

    Frost has a very satisfying ending and I recommend this series to anyone looking for something fun and different from the usual YA offerings of vamps, faeries, wolves and the ever increasing amount of Greek demigods we have been seeing lately.

    Content: Kissing and violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Grace

    Back but i may have to leave again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Lucis

    Okay)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2014

    The story is inspired by the Snow Queen, one of my all-time favo

    The story is inspired by the Snow Queen, one of my all-time favorite fairytales. I liked the first book, “Spork” a lot, because it had tons of original elements and although paranormal, it gave a refreshing twist to the concept. The sequel was a bit more predictable, but the Nordic folk stories were very intriguing, like the frost giants. Katla’s new skills are a little over the top though, and with the whole new range of skills, it just seems like too much. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Grate!

    Is that jinky on the cover? Awsome! Awsome book to read. Not like the other supernatural books. But a fun book to read as a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Eagletalon

    Jumps oon snowstar leabe her aone or there will be bloodshed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Elders den

    IceClns elders den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Moonstone

    Frostclan moonstone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Readable

    Fun, inventive and delightful. Great fun to be had reading this fantastic sequel. Katla is trying something new when she takes time out of her stork life to try out for the school play. She sings and dances. Jack is there to encourage her but she still feels like she is not up to the task.

    When Jack is encouraged to go on an expedition to help him learn ways to control his power, Katla is jealous and is terrified when she finds out why he is missing.

    Great YA Paranormal read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo

    Jack and Kat are finally enjoying having a normal relationship. Until Kat's wish of a white Christmas comes true, thanks to Jack's weather-altering abilities. This change in climate attracts a beautiful environmental researcher. Brigid puts together a team that consists of Jack and Kat's soon-to-be stepfather (and the dad of her soon-to-be new half-sister), Stanley. Boys are infatuated with Brigid. But Kat's not convinced. She knows something is wrong. Jack becomes distant, and when the group takes a trip to Greenland, disaster strikes and he and Brigid end up missing. Kat must find a way to get to Jack and save the world from a freezing disaster. I really enjoyed reading STORK and its sequel, FROST. Once again, I just loved Kat's humor. There were so many times I found myself laughing out loud at things she said or thought. A lot of them were totally sarcastic things that I would think or say. I liked that the book was based off of The Snow Queen story. And I liked the irony of Kat being in the school production of that same tale. But it bothered me how she was in the play, yet didn't connect what was happening in her life to the show she was putting on. It was so obvious to me! And I still liked Jack and Kat's relationship. It seemed so sweet and like a true first love. But I didn't feel that it was over the top. Just how I like it. FROST is the second book in a trilogy, and I can't wait for the third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Live To Read

    Frost is the much awaited sequel to Stork. The novel is loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Snow Queen. The main focus of attention in this novel is Jack, Katla's boyfriend. This may be slightly disappointing to readers who were expecting further development of Katla. Jack has a fierce desire to understand and control his own magical ability. Jack and Katla are slowly beginning to have a deeper relationship when Brigid arrives on the scene. Brigid comes to Minnesota due to a gift from Jack to Katla gone awry. Brigid draws Jack's attention away from Katla; not long after Brigid's arrival, Jack disappears. Katla must go on a mission to find him. The novel continues in much the same way-Katla trying to find Jack.


    For readers of Stork who were expecting a deeper development of Katla's ability and a better explanation of the Stork society...this book is a bit of a letdown. The novel literally focuses on her finding Jack, there is only one instance where she guides a soul in the entire novel. There is more attention given to the love triangle between Brigid, Jack, and Katla than there is to the ancient historical Story society that was the first novel's plot. However, the author's way of drawing the reader into the book and holding his/her attention and the seamless, flowing sequence of events are still present. The author does not neglect Katla's character development-she is portrayed as a slightly more mature, humorous young woman. The reader will find him/herself laughing at Katla's thoughts and statements during the novel. Brigid is a new character and the perfect character to hate in this novel. She is haughty and self-assured with an undertone of evil. The author does a good job at giving a teen's point of view (Katla's) during the novel-not the easiest thing to do when you're not a teenager anymore and another demonstration of the author's skill.


    This novel splits off into smaller sub-plots. Again, some readers may enjoy this new quality to this series while some may dislike it. Katla's mother, newly pregnant, deals with the stress of preparing for another child, Katla's class puts on a musical of The Snow Queen- the author's bid for irony in the novel. Katla's friends aren't getting along and Katla isn't quite sure if she has time to deal with everything. Jack veers away from Katla and their relationship. The Stork society isn't addressed all that much. Katla takes off to find Jack, but at the same time has to deal with a few things that leave her having nightmares. All of these different sub-plots are a little grating at first, they don't appear to fit cohesively into the novel at first. However, the ending is satisfying and many of these events fall into place.


    This book is recommended for young adults/teens that enjoy escaping to a world where magic is possible when reading.


    3 1/2 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Let me start out by saying that I really loved Stork, so I was really excited about reading the sequel. Although I did enjoy the book, all in all, I felt that it didn't quite live up to my expectations. Delsol's writing was just as good as I remember, and the characters just as likeable, but at the same time, I felt like there were so many missed opportunities in this book to further develop them, and their individual storylines.

    I always have a hard time with storylines where some chic comes along to derail the hero from his rightful path away from the heroine. It frustrates me so much as I read, that sometimes that frustration becomes irritation, and I find that I can't enjoy things very much. This occurs a bit in Frost, as Brigid comes along and kind of ruins, to an extent, the twosome of Jack and Katla that was created in Stork. I get antsy when so much time and distance starts occuring between two characters that are supposed to be together, at least when it appears that it's unnecessary. I felt Jack could have involved Katla more rather than Brigid.

    I also wish a bit more emphasis had been placed on the folklore, as it had been in the first story. Despite all of that, however, Delsol is still a great storyteller, and the characters were still the same likeable ones I fell in love with in Stork. I am not sorry I read it and did enjoy it. I do look forward to future books by Wendy Delsol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1