Customer Reviews for

Frost Fire (Tortured Elements, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

I loved it

posted by 17261855 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

**3.5 Stars** I received a copy of this book for an honest revie

**3.5 Stars**
I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

MY OVERVIEW: Angelic demons, scary demons, and mages all add up to an exciting book. There wasn’t much down time in this book. It was go, go, go; right from page one. For most boo...
**3.5 Stars**
I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

MY OVERVIEW: Angelic demons, scary demons, and mages all add up to an exciting book. There wasn’t much down time in this book. It was go, go, go; right from page one. For most books, this is overwhelming, but the author pulled it off here. 

PROS: Oh, Drake. You are such a beautifully written crush. I don’t know how anyone can read the book and not like Drake. He almost seems a little too good at points, then he goes and does something crazy and then you realize… nope… not perfect, but still great!

CONS: The descriptions of the different demons got confusing at times. I still don’t fully grasp who is who and who does what. It also seems like at points certain demons are more rare to find than others, but then all of a sudden they are being talked about like there are a lot of them.

MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I look forward to the next book in the series. I hope it comes out soon!

posted by KaribbeanIsland1 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Best book ever

    I loved it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    great story

    this was a really great story. cant wait for the next one!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Frost Fire is the first book in the Tortured Elements series by

    Frost Fire is the first book in the Tortured Elements series by Olivia Rivers. It's a YA paranormal romance about a girl named Allai. Allai was adopted after being found abandoned. Her father takes care of her until he finds out that she is a Mage – the enemy of her father's kind.

    Once Drake finds out that Allai's life is in danger, he comes to her rescue. The problem is, Allai's last memory of Drake is of him trying to kill her. Not having any other choice, Allai goes with Drake when he vows to take her to other people of her kind. Allai has so many conflicting emotions, that she doesn't know how she should feel for him. Deep down though, she can't deny her attraction for him. He seems to feel something for her as well.

    The author of this book is a high school student, so I honestly didn't know what to expect with the writing style. I was pretty impressed though. It was well written with only a few errors here and there. It was fast paced, with a lot of action involved. Allai always thought she was human, so her life gets turned upside down. It's devastating for her to be disowned and leave all that she's ever known. Drake is the only one there for her. He really is a great guy – he isn't what he seems. He's very caring and concerned about Allai. Their relationship is very sweet.

    The plot was unique and interesting, and there were some nice twists involved. I did find myself a little confused with the ending. I don't know if it was because I was tired and finished this book in the middle of the night, but I just felt like I wasn't getting something. I'm interesting in how the next book plays out. This is a completely clean teen romance, and parents should feel at ease letting their teens read this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    A high schooler wrote this? Thats awesome! Can't wait till the next one comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great read

    I was drawn to this book by the intresting cover. This is such a great read. I loved that it kept me intrested the entire time and had twist & turns. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    This was one of the best ive read

    I loved this book. Does anyone know when or where the next book comes out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A pleasant surprise. Frost Fire was a delightful, imaginative bo

    A pleasant surprise. Frost Fire was a delightful, imaginative book that I really enjoyed!

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this book. But, it definitely turned out to be a great read and a brilliant start to a new series.

    Allai was a remarkable character. She's a strong heroine-she has to be given that she lives among demons. I really liked her, though I
    think she has yet to show her full potential. Throughout most of the book, she was sick for a reason that I can't say without spoiling the
     entire book. Even while she was sick and fainting, she managed to handle demon assassins and everything else thrown at her. I'm
    hoping that, in the next book, we'll be able to see her at her best. She was a lovely heroine who was very easy to like. 

    Drake was a deep and complicated character. And I loved him for it. His life has been misery because of his father, but he hasn't let
    that corrupt him. He's incredibly powerful, and he's been trying to hide it from his father so that he won't be used as a weapon. And all
     that isn't even bringing in the issue with his mother. Once again, a very complicated character. His depth was very well done. I LOVED
    how he was so determined to protect Allai. I adored his character-he was utterly perfect.

    Allai and Drake were a very intense couple. By that, I mean that they are very devoted to each other. They've had feelings for each other
     for a long time, but circumstances prevented anything coming from it. When the meet again, their feelings were very strong. However,
     their romance was a minor point in this book. I think that it will become more prominent in the next books, but, in Frost Fire, it was a
    lesser detail.

    The plot of this book was very action packed. My one complaint is that I wish more has happened. Though there were thrills, secrets,
     and surprises, I felt like not that much actually happened. I was kept hooked and I loved the story, but I think more should have
    happened. 

    With the ending of the book came a cliffhanger and the reveal of a shocking secret. It definitely ended with a bang that has me anxious
     to find out what happens next. 

    Frost Fire was a wonderful YA paranormal romance! Lovers of the genre, you should definitely read it.

    *I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    **3.5 Stars** I received a copy of this book for an honest revie

    **3.5 Stars**
    I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

    MY OVERVIEW: Angelic demons, scary demons, and mages all add up to an exciting book. There wasn’t much down time in this book. It was go, go, go; right from page one. For most books, this is overwhelming, but the author pulled it off here. 

    PROS: Oh, Drake. You are such a beautifully written crush. I don’t know how anyone can read the book and not like Drake. He almost seems a little too good at points, then he goes and does something crazy and then you realize… nope… not perfect, but still great!

    CONS: The descriptions of the different demons got confusing at times. I still don’t fully grasp who is who and who does what. It also seems like at points certain demons are more rare to find than others, but then all of a sudden they are being talked about like there are a lot of them.

    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I look forward to the next book in the series. I hope it comes out soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Originally on my blog. Cover Talk: I am such a huge fan of this

    Originally on my blog.

    Cover Talk: I am such a huge fan of this cover. I think it’s definitely the wings that make it so appealing. (Click here for Olivia’s post on how she designed this cover!)




    First Line: “Drake extended his claws and stepped toward the girl.”




    Why I Read It: The concept of this novel was a very intriguing one. I also participated in the cover reveal for this book and kind of fell in love with the cover so I had to join the book tour as soon as it opened.




    Characters: Allai is a Nox, a human that is aware and can see supernatural creatures. Allai was raised by demons after being abandoned by her parents. Being raised among demons, you would think that she would be tough and a fighter, but honestly, I just didn’t see that enough in her. It wasn’t until close to the end that I really started seeing more to her. And the fainting was finally explained.




    Drake is a rather conflicted soul. He is supposed to kill Allai, but can’t do it. And instead, becomes her protector. I really love seeing Drake’s past. He is by no means the the son that his father wants and is not the monster that everyone thinks he is.




    Luke is my favorite. A blind, gay demon? Can I please have one in my life? His loyalty to Allai is so incredible and I love how willing he is to put himself in danger to protect her.




    Plot/World-building: It took me several chapters to get into this book. I enjoyed bits and pieces of the beginning, like Luke and Allai’s relationship, finding out about this world, but it took about halfway through for my attention to be caught. But once Allai and Drake team up and escape, I found that I couldn’t put the book down.




    The romance between Allai and Drake I actually don’t care for. I do love their connection and how they met, but the romance is just a little off for me.




    I’m also a little bit picky when it comes to fantasy novels. When there is a new world, I appreciate a little bit of creativity. And unfortunately, I just found the names…weird. The character names were a little too out there for me and I couldn’t pronounce a lot of them. And as for the names of the different beings: Nox, Lux, Demons, Hunters…I just don’t know. They didn’t work for me.




    The ending definitely makes up for the slow beginning. For the entire first half of the novel, it’s world building and family angst. But the second half gets good when all of the magic starts happens. Literally.




    Final Thoughts: Overall, I think this is an enticing enough read to have me read Olivia’s next book. I look forward to seeing these characters grow and for Olivia’s writing to grow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Amazing start to a new series!!! I honestly picked up this $0.99

    Amazing start to a new series!!! I honestly picked up this $0.99 ebook because of the cover. It drew me in without ever even reading the synopsis. Ha. I'm so glad I did!


    I absolutely adored this new world! The creativity in this new series takes you by storm.


    The characters were crafted amazingly.


    You have the lead female - Allai. I adore her name although I'm not sure if I'm pronouncing it right in my mind. She's a Nox - a human who knows about the paranormal. However, she has silver eyes. Everyone tells her that it's because she has demon traces in her genes but they still treat her like a lowly human. She was dropped off as a child and taken in by a demon - now she calls him dad. Turns out, she's actually one of the beings that her "dad" absolutely despises and has tried to eradicate.


    Then you have Luke - I adore Luke's character. He's such a mysterious guy. He's blind and supposedly works for the French. He's what everyone calls a Viper because one bite & venom injection leaves the one bitten to turn into one of his creatures. I adore how much of a father figure he really is to Allai. He's a very dangerous species but she feels comfortable enough around him to relax, lay her head in his lap, and let him comfort her when she's upset.


    Now you have Drake = swoon! I <3 Drake. Definitely getting added into my bad boy/good guy fictional boyfriend list. The son of the enemy, he's the one person that Allai has feared for years because he supposedly tried to kill her. His father is a horrible person - has always treated Drake like the worst son. Not to mention his dad killed Drake's mom. Drake is actually Allai's protector and a best friend from a time that Allia doesn't remember. He's saved Allia more times than I can count but yet he's a tortured soul - he thinks he keeps failing her when honestly, he's the only reason she's still breathing.


    The story moves along really well. I especially loved the twist at the end. I never once got bored. The only time I had to pull away for a minute was during one of Allia's pity-party moments. I wanted to jump in and tell her to put her big girl panties on and just move her butt. There's creative aspects in this novel that I've never seen before. My favorite being Drake & his Father's Metal Wings. I swear that every time I hear wind chimes from now on, I'm going to think of Drake.


    I can't wait to see what happens next! Oooh I can't wait to get my hands on book 2!! There's not a set release date listed on Olivia's blog - only "2013." I hope that means sooner rather than later 2013, LoL



    Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    We

    This book is like wolven novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    great book

    This was a great book can't wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Ughhh

    At the end of this book it says the next one is suppose to be out winter 2013 but it's not... :( anyone know when it will be out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Rae

    Tell me how good this book is..... someone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    wow

    i need the next book to be out for nook i need to know whaat happens next please keep writing this series please i pove this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great Book!

    I thought this book was fantastic! It was well written and has a good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    X"

    X

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Perfect

    I loved it. Get it its definitly worth it. It never once slowed down and hit the ground running right from the begining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great read

    Fast passed story leaves you anxiously waitting for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    I rarely write reviews, but this book kept my interest and never had any dull moments. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2