Customer Reviews for

Frost Fire (Tortured Elements, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

I loved it

posted by 17261855 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

**3.5 Stars** I received a copy of this book for an honest revie

**3.5 Stars**
I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

MY OVERVIEW: Angelic demons, scary demons, and mages all add up to an exciting book. There wasn’t much down time in this book. It was go, go, go; right from page one. For most boo...
**3.5 Stars**
I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

MY OVERVIEW: Angelic demons, scary demons, and mages all add up to an exciting book. There wasn’t much down time in this book. It was go, go, go; right from page one. For most books, this is overwhelming, but the author pulled it off here. 

PROS: Oh, Drake. You are such a beautifully written crush. I don’t know how anyone can read the book and not like Drake. He almost seems a little too good at points, then he goes and does something crazy and then you realize… nope… not perfect, but still great!

CONS: The descriptions of the different demons got confusing at times. I still don’t fully grasp who is who and who does what. It also seems like at points certain demons are more rare to find than others, but then all of a sudden they are being talked about like there are a lot of them.

MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I look forward to the next book in the series. I hope it comes out soon!

posted by KaribbeanIsland1 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 34 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Awesome

    I can't believe a high schooler wrote this! I enjoyed this book. It grabs your attention right from the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Okay, first off, I loved this book. Really, I did. The premise,

    Okay, first off, I loved this book. Really, I did. The premise, the storyline, the mythology—it is definitely something new and a series to watch. Unfortunately, there were some issues I had with the female lead, Allai, that I strongly disliked and for that, I must begrudgingly subtract from my rating. However, it was a good mix of suspense, “aww” moments, mystery, and action. I greatly enjoyed it and am anticipating the sequel in December.



    The plot:

    As I said, there was suspense, mystery, action, and romance bundled together in a beautiful package. I read this at an airport/on the plane and it certainly kept me entertained. I became very caught up in the characters’ struggles and experienced one of those tormented conflicts when I realized that there wasn’t enough space by the end for everything to happen that I wanted to happen.



    The characters:

    Like I said, I had a few problems with Allai. They were problems that could have been very easily fixed, but I felt they were too large to overlook. There is only one scene where Allai puts up a genuine fight and bests her opponent , but while his back is turned and he’s fighting someone else. The rest of the time she is mostly rescued. I would have had absolutely no problem with that if it hadn’t been pre-established that she’d had extensive combat training—which she never seems to use. She also completely falls apart when she is rejected by her adoptive family and thrown into exile. I could understand being heartbroken and needing to grieve, but after awhile I was thinking pull yourself together, girl. The one thing that I could not forgive was her incessant screaming. I feel harsh saying it, but it seemed like she screamed at every little thing and I just have the impression that a girl who’s been raised by stoic, aloof demons would have a little more steel in her nerves. Other than those details, I think I liked Allai over all and certainly don’t wish her character ill.



    Drake was my favorite. Yes, that might be typical of me to favor the love interest, but Drake was one of those characters it’s hard not to like. He has a smart mouth, a disrespect for authority, and a few dire anger management issues, but a hidden vulnerability and almost boyishness that makes me want to hug him (or maybe not, since he doesn’t do hugs with anyone but Allai). I think he may have been the dominant perspective, but I’d have to go back and read it again.



    The villain(s) are gorgeously nasty and Ms. Rivers’ created some original and utterly terrifying monsters to populate her story. I can’t talk about all the bad guys, because that would be spoiler-ific, but I will say that here we have multiple antiheroes and plenty of poisonous fangs, claws, and wings!



    All in all, this is a good story. I think it could have easily made five stars if the issues with Allai’s character had been fixed, but all the same, I eagerly anticipate Fire Soul coming next month.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    recommend jmm44

    Really great story----But some of the family relatonships of father ---daughter niece--uncle & others are really despicable people!! How could they do some of those things to ANYONE--- let alone people they are actually RELATED to!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Free

    Didnt care for it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    really impressed that the author is a high school student. I lik

    really impressed that the author is a high school student. I liked the overall idea of the story and characters. not much really happens int his one, I guess you get to know the characters and the situation but it seems dragged out.
    Drake seems almost weak. came across like he is suppose to be this bad *ss demon but he does a lot of really stupid things. it ends leading into her next book which I will keep my eye out for. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I loved this book couldn't put it down once I started reading it

    I loved this book couldn't put it down once I started reading it. Allai doesn't know that she is a mage, which her adopted family hates. Drake has once tried to kill her now he is one of the only people she can trust to get her to safety and the other mages. Allai and Drake begin a race against demons who want to kill Allai before she comes to know her powers. I cant wait to pick up the second book in this series.....great work Miss Olivia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    This book was very well written and I would love to know when th

    This book was very well written and I would love to know when the next book in the series is coming out! I have looked online and cannot find anything! Loved the characters and can't wait to see where they go next~!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Frost Fire' is the first book in a YA paranormal series that fo

    'Frost Fire' is the first book in a YA paranormal series that follows teenage Allai, an orphan raised by the leader of the Sentinel - a powerful group of Demons who protect humans and kill any dangerous paranormal beings - including Mages. Allai has lived a really normal life, apart from being a human in a Demon world. She lives to help her father and the Sentinel in any way she can - including killing Mages and ridding the world of magic. That is, until one day an anonymous tip is received by her father and Allai realizes her entire existence has been a lie and she is actually the one thing she was taught to hate - a Mage. Now, she's on the run with Drake Rhaize, a Demon - who until extremely recently - Allai has believed tried to kill her three years ago. Drake is unpredictable, an outcast from his own kind - and also the unknown boy from Allai's childhood memories. Drake has taken it upon himself to get Allai to safety - before the Demons hired by his father and Allai's own father catch up to them and try to kill them both. Will he make it to safety in time?

    After participating in the cover reveal for this book, I was in love. The cover is absolutely gorgeous! The premise sounded pretty interesting and I thought that I'd really like the book. Little did I know that I would soon fall prey to it's pages. I was almost immediately sucked into Allai's world. I easily connected with her and found myself feeling real sympathy for what she goes through in the book. I rooted her on the entire way and just loved her for the main character. The other characters were interesting - especially Luke - her Demon "brother" who has looked out for her and practically raised her since she was adopted by the Sentinel leader. He was unique for a Demon - his ability to show or even have emotions was interesting - and the fact that he was blind really set him apart from other characters out there. Then we have Drake. Oh, Drake. I don't normally go for the "bad boy" type - but I certainly broke out of that mold for this guy. He's a tough guy on the outside - a completely badass demon who can seriously fight - but he's also full of emotion -- especially when it comes to Allai. He's basically the bad boy with the heart of gold - sort of. Definitely irritating at times but he always seemed to redeem himself one way or another. The world that the author creates with the Demons, Mages, and the history behind everything was really intriguing and I loved learning about it all. I hope the second book goes into more detail about the varying species and the history between the Keepers, the Mages, and the Sentinel. The world was super detailed and the descriptions were great - I could easily feel like I was there beside the characters during the entire book. The writing was superb - everything flowed effortlessly and the book had a great pace. Even the dialogue between characters was spot-on - it didn't feel forced or fake. I loved every single thing about this novel and I'm really glad it's only the first in a series. The only problem now is having to wait for the next installment to come out! I highly recommend this book for fans of YA paranormal fiction - you definitely won't regret it!!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 34 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2