BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frostbite (Vampire Academy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1988 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1519)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Books You Can Sink Your Teeth Into

Move on over J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer: If I want to get my fantasy/vampire fix, I go to RICHELLE MEAD. At first I was like, teenage vampire love story, you have got to be kidding me. But somehow, I got sucked in. And I fell hard. For the intricate world of human...
Move on over J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer: If I want to get my fantasy/vampire fix, I go to RICHELLE MEAD. At first I was like, teenage vampire love story, you have got to be kidding me. But somehow, I got sucked in. And I fell hard. For the intricate world of human and vampire interaction that seems surprisingly realistic. For all the action and love drama I didn't think could get packed into such speedy reads. And most of all, for the snappy writing and cliffhangers that constantly keep me turning the pages wondering what happens next. Thank goodness this is a series! One book just ain't enough!

posted by bluetulip18 on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay......

This book was kind of a you read it for a couple hours hooked on it, then your yaawning the next. I liked this book but I loved the 3RD one better. Overall, it was a really good book but you have to have patience to get to the best parts of the book.

posted by book_worm7-11 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2004 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 101
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Frostbite

    This series is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It's never boring and the twists keep you on your seat. I love Rose, she's a strong heroin who kicks butt and doesn't wait for the guys to help her. I love the chemistry between Rose and Dmitri and how it's a sort of forbidden love thing. Rose really comes into her own in this book too, she finally realizes what being a guardian is all about and it's not as glamourous as she thought. Can't wait to read the next installment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought this series is interesting and fun!!

    I read the Twilight books and the House of Night series and i thought these would be just like the HoN ones since it looked like it had the same premise, but it turns out that it was totally different and really kept your attention. I'm not an avid reader but i have started to become one and i have to say if you like the sappy teenage vampire romance novels this one is it... I really enjoyed these books and ended up reading them in about a week. I fell in love with the characters and found myself being pulled into the story.. You get to really connect with the characters. I would really recommend this to everyone who likes these types of books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    frostbite

    rose and friends go to ski lodge for christmas. rose gets a new guy. rose has a rival with dimitri. bad vampires attack.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!

    The perfect sequel for the perfect book. Once again Rose has proved how strong and, let's face it, awesome she is. Christian also steps up to the plate and to my surprise, becomes one of my favorite characters-shocking I know. Mead has officially one-upped herself and I loved this book. Now I'm not gonna sugar-coat it or exagerate cause I hate that, but this was deffinitely one of my favorite books. Some vamp books are sometimes a little out-there, but this one actually makes vampires seem real and possible. This just happens to be right up there Twilight and I never thought I would say that. So to make it short and sweet-Another great addition and an already awesome series. I hope you enjoy it like I did. Happy Reading =-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    U MUST READ IT!

    this book was really AWESOME. It took me only three days to read it because i could NOT put the book down. You get soooo into the book and then your totally lost in the real world and all your focus is into the book. I loved it. It was really good. I have read almost every vampire book there is and this one is pretty good. Its on my top ten list! good thing Its a series,,, you can't get enough with just one!!![: READ IT!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    LOVE the book

    I recommended this book to all my friends and ALL of them love it. We have reread the book so many times that we can quote it now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    great book!!

    i love this book and trust me you will too. you will be shocked, laughing, feeling sorry, crying, mad, and being awed through out the whole book. in the end of this book or near the end you will being feeling so much stuff you might not know if you are sad mad or anything else. a really great book and if you liked the first book and you like twilight you will like this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best!

    Richelle Mead continues her amazing series with Frostbite. Things are starting to heat be between Rose and Dimitri (OMG! I am in absolute love with him). This book is such a page turner, I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read!!!!

    This series is so addicting. I never thought I would find a book that is better or as good as Twlight, but wow the Vampire Academy Series so good! I have now read Frostbite twice and it's only better the second time. Rose and Dimitri just make you want to keep reading. The ending of the book could not be better!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Frostibite

    This is a great book for teenage girls who have some spare time for reading. It has twists and turns that you didn't expect. The series itself is great. I kept turning the pages excited and mystified on what was about to happen. The characters give the book a certain edge. They seem very realistic in so many ways, even if they may be vampires. If you want a book that will show you another way of life, love, and friendship.... this is the best way to go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Wow - what a story! As the second book in the "Vampire Academy" series, "Frostbite" is every bit as good as the first. The characters are so well portrayed that I couldn't help but grow emotionally attached to them. With an excellent plot and outstanding writing, this is a must read for any vampire/romance lover!<BR/><BR/>If you enjoyed this series, I strongly recommend the "Twilight" series by Meyer, and the "House of Night" series by P.C. Cast!<BR/><BR/>Also, for the more "adult" novels, give "Full Moon Rising" by Arthur and "Blue Moon" by Handeland a try as both series were excellent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    THiS BOOK iSZ Di CHiZZ.! &lt;3

    This book is unforgettable and loveable. It has a good setting, plot, characters and its really great. If you gave it a chance youd love it and i really love it. thats why im going to get the third book of the seris todayy. Shadow Kissed =]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    ANOTHER AWSOME BOOK!!!!

    This book is one of my favorite's, it's sad but I still LOVE IT..readers will be drawn into this series but first you HAVE to read the first book 'Vampire Academy' to understand. CAN'T WAIT TILL THE NEXT ONE COMES OUT!!!!YAY!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Amazing!

    Wow i read the first Vampire Academy and i absolutely loved it! I am waiting for Frostbite to come out...hopefully its as good as the first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Vampire Academy Fan

    I have read Vampire Academy already and I just can't wait for Frostbite to come out. I am counting the days until April 10. Richelle Mead is the best writer in the world. I am so anxious for it to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Vampire crazy

    I loved Vampire Acadamy. I thought it was great! I can't wait for Frostbite to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    wow

    The first book ,vampire academy was great .I hope this is ever better

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    I can't wait..

    Till this book comes out. I've already ready Vampire Academy'obviously.' I hope this book will be as thrilling as the 1.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And I thought I'd had enough of vampires. After many beloved an


    And I thought I'd had enough of vampires. After many beloved and some stereotypical YA vampire books in the past years I felt fine with putting that category on the waiting list for a while. Until I decided to pick up the first book in this series and Richelle Mead's VAMPIRE ACADEMY restored my faith in good and imaginative vampire worlds.
    I'd had my eyes on the VAMPIRE ACADEMY books for quite a while, many people kept recommending them and I can remember the rave about the last book in the series. Now with the first movie coming out in 2014 I couldn't hold out on this series any longer.

    Richelle's series isn't your average -There's a vampire in this story and he's gonna bite you, so you become one, too- story. In the VAMPIRE ACADEMY series you don't encounter ordinary vampires. There are different types of blood-suckers, like different links to an evolutionary chain. Our two heroines Rose and Lissa cover the two categories of Moroi and Dhampirs. Moroi are vampires who have the power to wield magic. Dhampirs are a crossing between Moroi and humans and their task is to protect royal Moroi. At the St. Vladimir's Academy they are receiving a special training for the purpose of becoming body guards when they are finished. Those two kinds are co-existing and depending on the other, never purposefully harming humans.
    The Strigoi make up the third and an entirely different category. They are soulless creatures only existing to destory and hurt humans, Moroi and Dhampirs alike. Strigoi are effortless killers, but they can also be cruel enough to turn the other vampires into one of them and doom them to become evil and heartless, too. They make for evil and seemingly unstoppable enemies in all six books of this series.
    The fight between Moroi, Dhampirs and Strigoi is the main focus of the VAMPIRE ACADEMY series. Of course you can expect political, social and personal conflicts as well.

    Now the St. Vladimir's Academy is home to many Moroi and Dhampirs and is the central setting for the six books in this series. Housing, training and study rooms assembled like a small campus, the academic feel is definitely there. But with all the unexpected attacks and complications appearing on the scene it's no wonder Rose and her friends are forced to leave their textbooks behind and step into battle.
    The characters are travelling a lot, too. Really enjoyed seeing many new places together with Rose and her friends.

    All six books read on a book binge equal a huge vamptastic adventure beyond imagination. So much action and fights! However the series has its quiet moments, too. The greatest personal focus lies on the bond Rose and Lissa share as best friends and their spiritual bond that's pretty special for Moroi standards. Rose can feel what Lissa's feeling and in certain moments even see through Lissa's eyes. At first this was a very fun aspect about their friendship. The more often Rose visited Lissa's body though, story lows occurred. Sometimes I just felt like skipping these scenes altogether.

    Rose is the breakaway, tough and sexy warrior. Lissa her well-guarded, spiritual, emphatic protégé. They are body and mind, friends who rule the hearts of many readers. They are lucky to have been gifted with two equally appealling love stories, slightly erotic, romantic and steamy for sure.
    Lissa finds Christian, an outsider, who was not even looking for acceptance until he met Lissa. They are healing each other from the wounds of their pasts and click together like a puzzle meant to exist. And Rose gets her love story with Dimitri. Just like everyone told me, that guy is sexy! Their difference in age and experience puts a forbidden touch to their love story. He is her instructor and she is supposed to keep her hands off him. Is that a dare? Major turn-on!

    FROSTBITE, the second novel, is one of my favourie parts in the series, sending our friends on a trip to winter wonderland where they stay at a dreamy lodge. And this instalment offers the chance to make new friends and meet another boy who will play an important role in Rose's life, Adrian.

    The books keep getting longer and longer. Currently LAST SACRIFICE is the longest book I've read so far this year. Not just in page count – 2688 pages- is this series truly epic, but in its emotional variety, youthful voices, and imaginative, adventurous story line.


    5/5 ***** VAMPIRE ACADEMY Series- One of the most enthralling and memorable YA vampire worlds I've had the pleasure to live in.

    A series I wish I would have encountered much sooner. I'm so glad that all six books were released already and I could pick up the next book right after one was finished. I wouldn't have wanted to wait one year for each of them to come out. The first three BLOODLINES books are waiting on my Kindle to be read. The decision whether to start the series now or wait till all of them have been released has yet to be made.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Frostbite immediately starts off like a roller coaster! We're ba

    Frostbite immediately starts off like a roller coaster! We're back with Rose, her best friend Lisa, her teacher (or lover as well) Dimitri, and the other AWESOME characters in this AWESOME book! Yes, I think you'll see the word AWESOME many times in this review. The book starts off with this major Strigoi attack, that had many strong guardians and royal Moroi's killed as well. Not only was it a normal Strigoi attack, but it seems as though they also had some help. Help from humans, who can actually walk in day light. Shocked at this horrifying news, St. Vladimir's Academy is intent on taking extra precautions into the students safety. Christmas break soon, St. Vladimir's Academy  decided to hold a ski trip, but this time, it's mandatory for all students to attend. I loved the idea that all students, teacher, and guardians have to attend this trip together. St. Vladimir's Academy also decided to get a few famous guardians, one of them who was Rose's mother, to teach the students the importance of being a Guardian. It was interesting to see a bit of Rose's personal life. I don't think I ever much questioned her family that much, so it was rather cool to read about her actual mother. When they all left to the ski trip, you can say that's when the awesome stuff happened. Lisa and Christian were all lovey dovey, and that's when Rose started feeling a bit jealous and left out. There was also Mason, oh how I love you Mason. Funny guy Mason, who is also head over heels for Rose. They're so cute together that if Dimitri wasn't there, I would want them to get together. Speaking of Dimitri, I was disappointed that there wasn't much tension between the two (Rose and Dimitri, NOT Mason and Dimitri). Though there is this new character we meet, who made the love story a bit more interesting (JEALOUSYYY). Tasha, Christian's beautiful aunt, stays with them as well. Rose stars feeling very jealous when she see's how Tasha and Dimitri are so comfortable talking to each other, it makes me laugh inside. We also meet a new character here, and it's ADRIAN! Finally, after reading his name practically everywhere in the blogging community, I finally meet him! *SWOON* Anyways, I don't want to write any spoilers, but I just have to say that this book was just awesome. The ending was a bit tragic for me though. Something entirely SHOCKING happened, that I just couldn't even fathom the idea. Other than that, I loved the characters. Rose really grew up in this book, and you can really see that. Richelle Mead is a GENIUS, and I don't think I'll ever NOT love a book she wrote. Definitely cannot wait to see what happens in the next book, Shadow Kiss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2004 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 101