BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frostbite (Vampire Academy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1988 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1519)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Books You Can Sink Your Teeth Into

Move on over J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer: If I want to get my fantasy/vampire fix, I go to RICHELLE MEAD. At first I was like, teenage vampire love story, you have got to be kidding me. But somehow, I got sucked in. And I fell hard. For the intricate world of human...
Move on over J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer: If I want to get my fantasy/vampire fix, I go to RICHELLE MEAD. At first I was like, teenage vampire love story, you have got to be kidding me. But somehow, I got sucked in. And I fell hard. For the intricate world of human and vampire interaction that seems surprisingly realistic. For all the action and love drama I didn't think could get packed into such speedy reads. And most of all, for the snappy writing and cliffhangers that constantly keep me turning the pages wondering what happens next. Thank goodness this is a series! One book just ain't enough!

posted by bluetulip18 on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay......

This book was kind of a you read it for a couple hours hooked on it, then your yaawning the next. I liked this book but I loved the 3RD one better. Overall, it was a really good book but you have to have patience to get to the best parts of the book.

posted by book_worm7-11 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 336 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    It starts out where Rose and Dimitri head out in his Honda to go see Arthur so Rose can take her test that she missed while she was gone. Arthur and other hdampir's are found dead. Rose is shaken up by this, and stressed out with everything else going on in her life- like her mother showing up at the academy.
    The romantic tension is obviously hard to ignore for both Rose and Dimitri. And here and their they both have their fair share of slip-ups. But so far Dimitri does seem to be the one maintaining the control. . . until it becomes too much, and he tries to forget Rose by running into Tasha's arms (Christian's aunt).
    It's obvious that Rose is confused and heart-broken- who wouldn't be when the guy you love is trying to fall in love with someone else? So she does some pretty stupid things that include leading Mason on to believe she might actually have stronger feelings for him than she really does, being cold and mocking to Tasha, flirting with Adrian- a royal- in front of Dimitri, and back lashing and angry at Dimitri (But who can really blame her for that? Gawd, I'd be the same way!)
    I love this series and this second book- Frostbite is pretty good. I love the romantic tension between Rose and Dimitri! GREAT SERIES. CAN'T WAIT FOR FIFTH BOOK TO COME OUT!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    twilights still better

    i gotta admit that these books r pretty freakin' awsome. but there is no way that it could ever beat twilight. i mean, i dont think that its possible 4 a book 2 be az good az the twilight sereies. anyone agree?

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Frostbite has a kick, just like the title suggests. Rose's snar

    Frostbite has a kick, just like the title suggests. Rose's snarky attitude is starting to cost her. Everywhere she turns, she runs into choices - about her mom, Lissa & Christian, Dimitri, Mason... not to mention Adrian! What a character! This book could stand alone, the author provides plenty of filler for a new reader to catch up on what they might have missed in Vampire Academy. That was my least favorite part - all the filler details. What I loved was Rose's character development. I learned so much about her. BFF forever!! The story picks up pace until it's sprinting. The closer I got towards the end, the harder it was to put down.

    My Rating: I gotta break it down 'cause I hate giving the same rating to entirely different books:

    2.5 - Filler details. I didn't need 'em and they made me yawn.
    5 - Character development. Holy Cow!! This book is an essential piece of Rose's life!!
    4.5 - Action. Even when I guessed what was coming, I was biting my nails. Wonderful!
    3.5 - Pace. Those filler moments really set the pace for me. It started too slowly and took time to build up speed.

    Overall: 4 - Good book!

    The thing is... I need to discuss some details. So, this is where newbies to VA should stop and consider adding it to their TBR. (Go for it!) All you VA nuts out there...


    let's talk about Frostbite!!!

    This section contains Spoilers!!

    Ok... first my complaint. I found myself dragging my way through the first half because I kept running into more detailed descriptions of what I had learned in VA. I am still conflicted on how I feel about that. Either my intelligence is being insulted or I am not being left behind… veeeery thoroughly. Do I say “thanks”? or “no thanks!” I started skipping entire paragraphs once the author began her review voice.


    Rose - OMG!! She has always had so much attitude towards the Moroi system and rules in general. In Frostbite she learns so many hard lessons!! Her willingness to accept who she is and adjust made me just love her.

    There's her mom. I totally picture this little ball of tight energy - a grown up version of Rose, just a little shorter and a little colder. Like post-hard knocks. And Rose has so much resentment towards her... that fighting scene? The one where the two of 'em are "training" and Rose is pushing her mom's buttons? How awesome was that?!?! Ha! It seemed like "black eye" was a language Rose understood, too, you know? Like suddenly she can see things (albeit reluctantly) from her mom's point of view.

    Then there's Dimitri. Darn his stiff Russian exterior!! He's so set on being responsible and a good trainer, let alone guardian that he's downright COLD! Which is totally amplified with Tasha hanging around. I seriously wanted to strangle Dimitri for actually showing a casual, chatty side. I mean, I was gawking. I didn't think it was possible and here he goes showing hidden layers of tenderness... TO THE WRONG PERSON!!

    Of course, this is what pushes Rose into examining whether she should hook up with someone closer to her age, too. The differences between Mason and Dimitri are too great. Mason pushes Rose into being responsible with his misplaced confidence, which is deliciously complicated. Talk about fighting yer inner bad-girl!!

    Now Rose is sent into some sort of tailspin, wondering if she's really a rebel at all. Ha! She test her theory and BAM!! Bad idea! Innocent Mason jumps at the chance to prove to himself and Rose and all that stupid Moroi system that he's got a great idea and the guts to pull it off! *groan*


    We can't forget Adrian, though, right? I mean, all these comments about "now you get to meet Adrian" and how Adrian competes for hottest fictional character and stuff... I had some high expectations for him. And what is he? Some hot guy that's full of himself and his position in this Moroi system who smokes and drinks... constantly. His cocky flirtations seriously got under my skin so that I was throwing him off as enthusiastically as Rose was. After all the hype, I was sooooo relieved she didn't fall for his smooth ways. I was half afraid she'd be tripping over herself over him, especially as insecure as she was at that moment.

    As I'm writing this, I'm into the thick of Blood Promise and I realize Adrian's character is being revealed nice -n- slowly, peeling back layers upon layers of worthy dude underneath this smoke haze. I can't help liking him where I'm at in the series. But back in Frostbite? I was giving him pure cold shoulder. And I say that was his fault. He's just getting what he asked for. Back then.

    *Pause* for a moment of awe that the author created people I can feel so strongly about!! Wow!

    As for the action... the stuff that picked up speed and got to rolling faster than fast so that I was chewin' on my fingers, tense for everyone. Part of what made that entire situation amazing was that the answers were obvious. A moroi was going to have to use magic to get them out of that situation. I mean, I was screaming in frustration when they just allowed themselves to get captured. They really did take that too calmly. But they hadn't made the Human-Strigoi connection that the author set the reader up to see before they did. You know? They were thinking "humans, no problem - irritating, but not life-threatening."

    I was frustrated in the torture chamber, too, because I felt so certain that they'd get too weak to fight back at all. There was such a time pressure crunch, it just about drove me crazy. I accepted that the answers weren't obvious to the characters involved, and I'm curious whether anyone disagrees. It took Rose an agonizingly long time to think of it, too.

    And I did NOT expect them to lose anyone. Seriously... that was a blow that made it hard for me to review Frostbite immediately afterwards. I was in mourning.

    I wondered whether everyone would deal with the death as just part of the job, too. Sort of sad, but sort of expected. And I can't tell you how awesome it was and continues to be that each person is honored as the wonderful character they were/are and not schluffed off as "doin' their duty".

    Basically... this book was amazing as far as digging underneath everyone's skin and getting to know 'em all better. I can't imagine what it would have been like to read this book when it came out and have to wait for the next. ARGH!! But happily... I'm reading on my way! They are all so REAL to me!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    To read or not to read, thats your personal question... :)

    I have read this book before. I enjoyed the series, When my friend Kayla reccomended it to me. I hope you all enjoy this book! Though none of my reviews have been read yet i feel people will eventually read them! :) i may not be famous - but one day i'll be worth millions!

    * Love,
    Mad-Z

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Better

    rostbite is the second book in the Vampire Academy series. It begins with Rose and Demitri going to visit a legendary guardian Arthur Schoenberg to start her qualifying exams. Upon arrival, Rose and Demitri find the home of the royals that Arthur protects to have been broken into and everyone inside, including the guardians, murdered by an organized band of Strigoi. This makes the Moroi nervous and with the holidays around the corner they decide to transport the entire Academy and their families to a ski resort. Rose's mom even decides to join.

    Frostbite was so much better to me than Vampire Academy. Lissa and Christian's relationship continues to develop and as a consequence Lissa has less time for Rose who starts to feel neglected.

    Rose is very wishy-washy in this book. I feel she is at a turning point in her life. Will she continue to act like a child and have zero impulse control or will she grow up and start to make decisions like an adult?

    If you have read Vampire Academy and are undecided about reading Frostbite read it. Vampire Academy laid the ground work for a great second installment and possible for a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Unknown

    I loved this book like i couldnt put it down! Vampire Academy is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Great

    It was grreat my daaighters and are big vampire story fans if you will andd l am glad you kinda steered away from the house of nigjt series but it same idea hope you write a novel i know you have one in you thanks for entertaing us

    Sincerly the meeks girls reading crazies lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    This is

    A great book. Maybe a little bit disderbing but good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    WHAT HAPPENS AT THE END?????

    Tell me plz.-----clary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Love this book

    This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wow what a book! This is a books about friendship, love and loya

    Wow what a book! This is a books about friendship, love and loyalty.


    Characters & Storyline: 4/5
    I really enjoyed this book the second time round and could really appreciate the smaller details about each different character. You love the main characters and you hate the strigoi. The storyline is exciting and takes you through so many emotions. You laugh, cry, giggle and want to smack them when the characters are making stupid decisions.

    Rose - Rose has grown up a bit but still has so much to learn. I feel sorry for her while she sorts out her feelings for Dimitri while trying to live and be young but yet be responsible at the same time. I loved her little romance with Mason. you really go on a rollercoaster with this fiery character.

    Lissa - I love Lissa but really wish she would pay some attention to what is going on with Rose. she is sweet, funny and gentle. I feel so bad that Lissa is trying to find herself without her entire family and love the fact that she always does have Rose.

    Christian - Christian is his wonderful charming snarky self and I love him with Lissa. I really enjoyed his character is this book.

    Dimitri - Dimitri dimitri dimitri... always caught between a rock and a hard place. Emotions versus duty. I love how he handles Rose in his finer moments. Dimitri is hard not to love and totally go to mush about when he is being tender with Rose.

    Mason - Mason is just adorable. I feel sorry for him that he is over-shadowed by Dimitri. He deserves so much better. My heart aches for Mason on so many levels but you will have to read this book to find out why!

    Tasha - I wasn't so sure of her the first time round and I can't say that much more the second time round. She is fun, brave and a force to be reckoned with. I found it funny that she didn't pick up on Rose's jealousy.

    Adrian - I loved Adrian 20 times more this time round. He is my favourite character throughout all of Richelle's books. He is funny, smart and doesn't care for the rules. Not quite your bad boy, but he doesn't fit into the good boy category either. Did I mention I mention I love Adrian to pieces...

    Plot, Pace, Writing style: 4/5
    The plot of frostbite is good and the pace is great. Richelle has an easy writing style. Her characters need some development but lucky I do know there is lots to come. Chapter 22 had me crying! I don't think I cried the first time I read this chapter but I was so heartsore this time round. The ending is so sweet - That is all you are getting from me!

    Cover talk: 4/5
    I liked the cover. The gates and that font just sell me every time.

    Final Thoughts:
    I love this series. It is a great YA PNR and it is definitely worth a read. I think this is one of those books that definitely get better every time you read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Wa - again a quick good read.

    Unfortunately her actions are dumb and she can't realy protect herself let alone someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Shadow kiss

    A lot more acction. Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great story

    Like the way the stoory is written except less repeat explaining would've been great. I love the story line, and each character Stands out in their own ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    frostbite

    It all starred good and normaal i loved that rose got together wih dimitri but her leavinng lissa i cant beliveit i accually started crying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Great book! If you like the Twilight series, you'll like the Vampire Academy Series even better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    VA

    I am a big fan of Stephanie Meyer. I loved the Twilight series and tried my best to read them slow so that they would last. I also read the Host which I LOVED. Getting to my point, I was looking for something well written and helped you form a good relationship with the characters. I am such a picky reader that I don't ennd up buying to many books in fear that they would not keep me in the story. VA def gave me a new series to follow and new characers to love. While they are shorter stories. They still keep the story line together and are able to add the "what-are-they-talking-about" mystery without getting annoy. This is a must read if you are still looking for your vamp fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Continuation!

    Since the first book the weather has grown cold and winter is coming to Montana, Rose faces an interview to see wither she is adapt to become a guardian or not, by a legend. Her trainer Dimitri and her take to the road only to find a bloody massacre, the Strigoi have attacked and more disturbing it looks like they aren't working alone like normal. ~*~*~ The news of the attack spread quickly and Christmas plans are done over and St. Vladimir's Academy filled with visiting Moroi families which also brings out Rose's mother to the school - happy reunion? I think not. ~*~*~ With the Strigoi and her mother in town you'd think Rose wouldn't have time to remember the feelings she has for Dimitri, but those are there to stick, it doesn't matter that Mason, a fellow guardian novice is head over heels in love with her or that Christian's aunt Tasha has appeared to make her move on Dimitri - Rose still wants him and doesn't want to share. But knowing she cannot have him, regardless. ~*~*~ We also get to meet Adrian, a Royal Moroi, who becomes interested in Rose and Lissa, interested in both but in different ways. ~*~*~ Welcome to Vampire Academy's Winter Wonderland! ~*~*~ This is just as interesting and fun, emotion filled as Vampire Academy Book 1 was! You get to ride the story out swiftly, the story picks up easy recapping the first book and then keeps moving one event after another, and most enjoyable, definitely, is the ski trip to a Moroi resort. ~*~*~ Rose's story entwined with all the others is addictive to read. I highly recommend YA readers to follow up on the series after book one, it's worth it. I mean don't you want to know what happens to Dimitri and Rose, Lissa and Christian, what are the Moroi up to, what's the Spirit Element? Yeah, I thought so. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Frostbite

    Love+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    a

    a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 336 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17