Customer Reviews for

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

"Greenland makes no sense. First there's the name, which a

"Greenland makes no sense.

First there's the name, which as most schoolchildren know should be Iceland, but that was already taken. Almost nothing green grows in Greenland, where more than eighty percent of the land is buried under deep ice. Deep, as in, up to ten...
"Greenland makes no sense.

First there's the name, which as most schoolchildren know should be Iceland, but that was already taken. Almost nothing green grows in Greenland, where more than eighty percent of the land is buried under deep ice. Deep, as in, up to ten thousand feet, or two solid miles. If all of Greenland's ice melted - a worst-case scenario of climate change - the world's oceans would rise by twenty feet or more.

Greenland's strangeness is compounded by it's great politically inconsequential size; its almost complete emptiness and it unconscionable weather. More than sixteen hundred miles from north to south, and eight hundred miles at its widest point, Greenland could swallow Texas and California and still have room for a dessert of New Mexico, Arizona, Florida, Pennsylvania, and all of New England. It's three times the size of France, and it occupies more than twice the area of the planet's second largest island, New Guinea.

Even more than its size, Greenland's most defining feature is its climate. Temperatures vary along a spectrum of discomfort, ranging from bone-rattling to instant frostbite. In many places, temperatures regularly reach the only place on the thermometer where Celsius and Fahrenheit agree: 40 degrees below zero. For much of the year the north of Greenland is ringed by solid pack ice, and the waters to the south are beset by the storis, a twenty-mile belt of floating icebergs. In the fall and winter, devastating blizzards known as piteraq storms race more than a hundred miles across the broken landscape. The wind blows glacial dust that can scour glass or blind eyes left unprotected."

This is the setting for a rescue mission of epic portions that will span over 70 years and is still ongoing. In the book Frozen in Time by author Mitchell Zuckoff, he chronicles the first plane crash in November of 1942 of a C-53 cargo plan that slammed into the Greenland ice cap. Four days later, a B-17 assigned to the search and rescue mission became lost in a blinding storm and also crashed. Miraculously all nine men on the B-17 survived. With the weather worsening, the U.S. Military launched a daring rescue mission, sending a Grumman Duck amphibious plane to find the men. After picking up one member of the B-17 crew, the Duck flew into a severe storm, and the plane and the three men aboard vanished.

The author was part of the current research and exposition in 2012 to travel to Greenland in search of the missing planes and to recover the bodies of these military heroes and attempt to bring their bodies back. He takes the reader back to 1942 to tell exactly what happened based on digging through newspaper archives for hidden treasures, collecting declassified documents, maps, photographs, interviews, and previously unknown journals seeking information to put this book together as well as capturing the ongoing search for the remains of these planes and the men aboard. It is written as a narrative, but this is a work of nonfiction. Because the story moves between past and present, date markers such as "November 1942" and"October 2011" signal which tale is being told.

I received Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff compliments of Harper Collins Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I could not put this one down. I was captivated by the past and present day stories that I didn't even know existed. It was one thing to know about Greenland but to know so many died while attempting rescue missions in spite surviving the initial crash. The brutality of the island itself is not to underestimated and even with the modern technology we have today, the search is still ongoing. The island of Greenland it seems does not want to give up its captives. Through this book are countless black and white photographs detailing both the past and present day histories. If you love true survival stories against all the odds, then you will definitely want to pick this one up. Hands down one of the best books I've read this year and hope this one gets pick up by the motion picture industry or reality television. It's time to find our boys and bring them back home. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars!

posted by Heart2Heart on May 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

K

Once again heart2heart ruins the book by revealing the ENTIRE book in their review. Please learn to write a review, not a book report, dissertation or blog, a simple review. Read the others here. They are simple, concise and to the point. If you feel the need to belabor...
Once again heart2heart ruins the book by revealing the ENTIRE book in their review. Please learn to write a review, not a book report, dissertation or blog, a simple review. Read the others here. They are simple, concise and to the point. If you feel the need to belabor each and every sentence, take it to a blog site, but stay off here. Ppl are sick and tired of ppl like you ruining books before we have a chance to read them.

posted by 8888649 on May 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Greenland makes no sense. First there's the name, which a

    "Greenland makes no sense.

    First there's the name, which as most schoolchildren know should be Iceland, but that was already taken. Almost nothing green grows in Greenland, where more than eighty percent of the land is buried under deep ice. Deep, as in, up to ten thousand feet, or two solid miles. If all of Greenland's ice melted - a worst-case scenario of climate change - the world's oceans would rise by twenty feet or more.

    Greenland's strangeness is compounded by it's great politically inconsequential size; its almost complete emptiness and it unconscionable weather. More than sixteen hundred miles from north to south, and eight hundred miles at its widest point, Greenland could swallow Texas and California and still have room for a dessert of New Mexico, Arizona, Florida, Pennsylvania, and all of New England. It's three times the size of France, and it occupies more than twice the area of the planet's second largest island, New Guinea.

    Even more than its size, Greenland's most defining feature is its climate. Temperatures vary along a spectrum of discomfort, ranging from bone-rattling to instant frostbite. In many places, temperatures regularly reach the only place on the thermometer where Celsius and Fahrenheit agree: 40 degrees below zero. For much of the year the north of Greenland is ringed by solid pack ice, and the waters to the south are beset by the storis, a twenty-mile belt of floating icebergs. In the fall and winter, devastating blizzards known as piteraq storms race more than a hundred miles across the broken landscape. The wind blows glacial dust that can scour glass or blind eyes left unprotected."

    This is the setting for a rescue mission of epic portions that will span over 70 years and is still ongoing. In the book Frozen in Time by author Mitchell Zuckoff, he chronicles the first plane crash in November of 1942 of a C-53 cargo plan that slammed into the Greenland ice cap. Four days later, a B-17 assigned to the search and rescue mission became lost in a blinding storm and also crashed. Miraculously all nine men on the B-17 survived. With the weather worsening, the U.S. Military launched a daring rescue mission, sending a Grumman Duck amphibious plane to find the men. After picking up one member of the B-17 crew, the Duck flew into a severe storm, and the plane and the three men aboard vanished.

    The author was part of the current research and exposition in 2012 to travel to Greenland in search of the missing planes and to recover the bodies of these military heroes and attempt to bring their bodies back. He takes the reader back to 1942 to tell exactly what happened based on digging through newspaper archives for hidden treasures, collecting declassified documents, maps, photographs, interviews, and previously unknown journals seeking information to put this book together as well as capturing the ongoing search for the remains of these planes and the men aboard. It is written as a narrative, but this is a work of nonfiction. Because the story moves between past and present, date markers such as "November 1942" and"October 2011" signal which tale is being told.

    I received Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff compliments of Harper Collins Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I could not put this one down. I was captivated by the past and present day stories that I didn't even know existed. It was one thing to know about Greenland but to know so many died while attempting rescue missions in spite surviving the initial crash. The brutality of the island itself is not to underestimated and even with the modern technology we have today, the search is still ongoing. The island of Greenland it seems does not want to give up its captives. Through this book are countless black and white photographs detailing both the past and present day histories. If you love true survival stories against all the odds, then you will definitely want to pick this one up. Hands down one of the best books I've read this year and hope this one gets pick up by the motion picture industry or reality television. It's time to find our boys and bring them back home. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars!

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    This book is written extremely well. The author held my interest

    This book is written extremely well. The author held my interest throughout the entire story. Absolutely amazing true story. COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!!!! Highly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    This is an amazing adventure story. 

    This is an amazing adventure story. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amazing story extremely well written. Read this book in three da

    Amazing story extremely well written. Read this book in three days could not put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    An exceptional book.

    An exceptional book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is awesome! I speak for my wife and father who also re

    This book is awesome! I speak for my wife and father who also read this book and agree with my assessment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    This is an exceptional books which weaves stories from two time

    This is an exceptional books which weaves stories from two time periods into a cohesive, well-wrtten and engrossing work. I liked it even better than "Return to Shangra-la."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Sorrelpaw

    Falls asleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Shadowcat

    She hid the cat behind her. "Who is Ranclaw?" She purred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    &starf Apprentice Den &starf

    &starf For StreamClan's Apprentice's &starf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Frozen In Time .I liked the book because it had a lot of suspens

    Frozen In Time .I liked the book because it had a lot of suspense. One idea is they were informed that they were told to bring a big bomb but the planes keep crashing in Greenland but couldn’t get out. Another part is they were stranded with some planes that crashed and the crew members died by no help. Another part I liked was when they were traveling they crashed and the crews had to sent out a distress call all for some help but they waited months after they got the call the B-17 got rescued by their navy and the army bases. It was really cool when they were in Greenland the B-17 plane crashed the crew had to survive on a island Cold Hell and the C-57 plane had to do the same thing but tragic happened when they all crashed one by one they all went down.It was a suspensful book by the crew was trying to survive in greenland It was also great when the crews had to go on a journey that it was amazing when they were sent to deliver a bomb but it failed to reach them these are heroes from world war two crews that went all over that never came over but some did but some did not when they were traveling the crew couldn’t go away from the mission they all had to stay on task like the B-17 pane had to do a belly flop on the ice for safety it had to do this so none of the crew died but some men were injured this was suspenseful by I didn’t know that they were going to survive the big crash on ice in greenlandwhen they could have died by it some were okay this was saftey tips like Buckling up when they put their seat belts and had to land very hard but it was a good thing to let them have a seatbelt when they had landed.This book is good for High School and middle school students to read it if you are interested in a great journey and expedition around the world with world war two heroes, a survival kit when surviving in greenland or the different types of planes. ArianCHMS14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    hello

    Very good read. Loved it and you should too! Do not hesitate to buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Mal

    What kind of rp is it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    This book was so captivating that I didn't want it to end. I ha

    This book was so captivating that I didn't want it to end. I have 2 boys, age 22 and 26. The soldiers in this story were their ages and I can not imagine either of my boys going through such a horrific experience.
    I highly recommend this book to those who like history, adventure, action and personal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Does anyone want someone to talk with?

    Reply to ViolimWoman on Shannon Hale result two.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Inspiring book of heroic brave men

    I can never ever say I am cold again. This and other books on people surviving artic cold are amazing. What the human body can endure!
    Also, the bravery, caring, and persistence of men who thought more of others than of themselves. Should be required reading in school for ethics and selflessness. This is the character of those who should be leading this country.
    Other two good recent reads like this are,
    We Die Alone and Endurance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    READ THIS BOOK...What a terrific tribute to the dedication, endu

    READ THIS BOOK...What a terrific tribute to the dedication, endurance and strength of character of the "greatest generation". If you are like so many of us, once you have read this book you will want to immediately go to the current Greenland blog to see how the story has continued into the present. This is not just a story, it is history in the making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Hard to put down.Zuckoff is a winner.

    U really get a feel for the desolation of Greenland. Even tho u know some survive,the tale holds u to the very end. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Captivating!!

    I couldnt put this book down! So hard to believe it actually happened. I found myself researching more about these crashes during WWII!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Sur­vival and a Mod­ern Quest f

    Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Sur­vival and a Mod­ern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II by Mitchell Zuck­off tells about the epic search for miss­ing World War II Coast Guard sol­diers who were on a res­cue mis­sion. The book pro­vides and intense glimpse into a for­got­ten moment in history.

    Dur­ing the win­ter of 1942 a C-53 cargo plane crashed in Ice­land, almost imme­di­ately res­cue mis­sions were started. Sur­viv­ing in the frozen tun­dra in sub-zero tem­per­a­tures is almost impos­si­ble and every­one knows it, it is imper­a­tive to get to the crew as quickly as pos­si­ble. How­ever, one of the res­cue attempts falls short and the Coast Guard plane, a Grum­man Duck, crashes as well.

    Fast for­ward sev­eral decades later, Lou Spaienza is try­ing to retrieve the bod­ies of the US ser­vice­men under a deep belief that no-one, dead or alive, should be left out in the field. Mr. Spaienza spent a huge amount of time and energy orga­niz­ing a retrieval mis­sion, his pas­sion touched many peo­ple and even the author joined the party.

    I truly enjoyed Zuckoff’s first book, [[ASIN:B00BV2LZB4 Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II]] and jumped on the chance to read Frozen in Time when I was offered. The book didn’t dis­ap­point as Zuck­off has an uncanny abil­ity to tell a story in a per­sonal, yet com­pre­hen­sive way which leaves the reader yearn­ing for more.

    The author describes Green­land as an almost extra-terrestrial land, a des­o­late world cov­ered in ice and snow with ever-changing land­scape which hum­bles the bravest of men. Dur­ing the win­ter of 1942/1943 a group of Amer­i­can fly­ers were stuck on the ice, Zuck­off takes the reader to that time and the suf­fer­ing which they endured, hop­ing beyond rea­son for a rescue.

    The book is actu­ally com­posed of two sto­ries, one tak­ing place dur­ing World War II when res­cue attempts are made to res­cue a fallen air­plane crew, the sec­ond dur­ing a mis­sion to find the miss­ing Coast Guard res­cuers. Both parts are inter­est­ing, engag­ing and enlight­en­ing, the strate­gic impor­tance of Ice­land is dis­cussed as well as the impor­tance of find­ing the miss­ing men. The author took part of the recov­ery effort which gave the book an inter­est­ing twist, a his­to­rian mak­ing history.

    This is an excit­ing story about many brave men and women who are try­ing to do what’s right dis­re­gard­ing per­sonal safety. Mr. Zuck­off wrote an intense nar­ra­tive of thrilling adven­tures of hope and sur­vival, well researched and dra­matic with a mod­ern twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2