Customer Reviews for

Fruits Basket, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's...

Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's a romantic love triangle of a young, high school girl named Tohru and the two, very handsome Yuki and Kyo Sohma. Tohru was actually living in a tent when, shortly, she finds herself living in the Sohma Family's own household with ...
Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's a romantic love triangle of a young, high school girl named Tohru and the two, very handsome Yuki and Kyo Sohma. Tohru was actually living in a tent when, shortly, she finds herself living in the Sohma Family's own household with Yuki, Kyo, and Shigure Sohma and finds out a terrible secret about them! They tell her she must keep the secret otherwise...she will need her memories suppressed! It's a very thrilling series with anger, joy, suspense, and forbidden loves and secrets! If you love manga as much as I do pick up a copy and read until your craving for more!(Not intended for children under the age of thirteen.)

posted by extreme-reader08 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hate It!!!

I think i'm ownly person who hates this series. I don't know why I just don't like it. But everyone seems to like it but me... All my friends like it but me...they think i'm weird for not liking it...

posted by J.R._BookWorm on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cant believe how good this manga is

    this manga will make you cry, make you laugh, and make you feel like your actully part of the story. these characters are so magical, and heartwarming, that you feel connected to them in many ways. its a really good manga, that everyone i know who reads it, relates to at least one of the characters. it explains everyones back story, and why they have such problems now, and how it makes them who they are. it is an excellent manga and i reccomend it to every reader of shojo-manga.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's...

    Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's a romantic love triangle of a young, high school girl named Tohru and the two, very handsome Yuki and Kyo Sohma. Tohru was actually living in a tent when, shortly, she finds herself living in the Sohma Family's own household with Yuki, Kyo, and Shigure Sohma and finds out a terrible secret about them! They tell her she must keep the secret otherwise...she will need her memories suppressed! It's a very thrilling series with anger, joy, suspense, and forbidden loves and secrets! If you love manga as much as I do pick up a copy and read until your craving for more!(Not intended for children under the age of thirteen.)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSST MANGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGA EVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVER!

    This is the best manga ever you have to get it buy it you have to buy it if you don`t then rawrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hate It!!!

    I think i'm ownly person who hates this series.

    I don't know why I just don't like it.

    But everyone seems to like it but me...

    All my friends like it but me...they think i'm weird for not liking it...

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Love this manga! it's sooo great!! at first a was a bit worrie

    I Love this manga! it's sooo great!! at first a was a bit worried because I read the first reveiw of the book on here but I just love it! The storyline is original and the characters are amazing! and they don't reveil their whole personalilties when they first introduce the charcters like most manga. It's a funny and just totally addictive! I just finshed this one today and all ready I had to go online and buy it! A definite must read for manga lovers who love fantasy/romantic/comedy mangas:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    these books are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the first manga i have ever read and i dont regret it!i adore all the characters some are strange but some how no matter how much you may not like one of the characters sooner or later they make you love them some how in this first book though you wont meet everyone but pretty much the main characters so its still cool though and my favorite characters would have to be kyo and yuki which both seem to hate each other but it is still a great book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    best manga i have ever read. i thought it was amazing. the idea

    best manga i have ever read. i thought it was amazing. the idea was weird but amazing. the drawing bother me a little but still really good. i loved the book and the anime. i finished the anime in 2 days. 26 episodes. i recommend it for any one even if they don't like anime. every one i know loves fruits basket. like i said before amazing. it will make you giggle, it will make you cry. it is the best thing ever. i think you should highly read it. i love it. if you are thinking about buying it just buy it. don't think about it i know that if you read it you would love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Best Manga Ever!

    I haven't read much manga, and I am proud to say that Fruits Basket was my first manga, and it was absolutely amazing from beginning to end. Because of fruits basket I was hooked on to manga and anime. I wish I could elaborate more on how great it is, but I would pale in comparison to the other top reviews. Rather I will say that Fruits Basket has mixture of humor, love, a little fantasy, intrigue, and so much more. Overall, Fruits basket is the best manga out there, and if you don't read it, you should, because you'll be missing out on something so unique and for lack of better word, amazing manga if you didn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start

    Tohru lives with the Kyo, Yuki and Shigure. While there, she is told of a secret about their family, a curse that has to do with them turning into one of the animals of the zodiac. Tohru of course has to keep what she saw a secret, so you there are some awkward and funny moments, as she goes through her daily life while living with the Souma family. Like the manga so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best manga stories ever written- not to be missed

    When I was 12 I came across the Fruits Basket anime. Almost instantly, the characters and story of that anime leaped into my heart and became an instant favorite.
    It wasn't until 3-4 months ago, quite a few years later, that I re-watched the anime- I must admit I probably wouldn't have enjoyed it as much if it weren't so sentimental. I found it a bit lacking in story, characters, and almost juvenile (in a way). But, on a whim I decided to read the manga for the first time, and WOW.

    If you are like me and saw the anime first, I think you will find that this is MUCH more complete- because it is. Or, if you haven't seen the anime, and are just looking for a good manga, you have found it.

    This manga is every bit as stirring and beautiful as any anime- you will laugh, cry, and smile right along with all of these characters. The complete manga series doesn't leave any one character out, you will feel their emotions, experience their history, and see their deepest secrets; depending on who you are, however, this is a good or a bad thing. If you are head-over-heels in love with one or more of the characters, and don't want them to change at all, you may seem them differently. In most cases, I think you will grow to love them only more; all of them.

    Natsuki kept this manga interesting with her gorgeous art, and always beautiful, almost poetic, writing style. You will find much of the dialog quotable!

    To describe the anime, the ending is sweet. The manga is sweet as well, but not without it's harsh, bitter spots. It's much more real and emotional then the anime. If you're the type of person who thinks that endings should have no sense of sadness, this is not for you. If, however, you believe endings should be real, but sweet, this is an absolute must.

    To conclude, this is perhaps not for you if you don't like anything remotely sad or "slice-of-lifey."
    If you are not one of those people, however, I'm confidant this manga cannot be forgotten by anyone who reads it. There's truly nothing like it.

    I'd recommend this manga for people about 14 years to adulthood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read

    Fruits Basket is one of those stories you can't put down, filled with characters who are, though imperfect, strikingly real. Narrator of the story, Tohru, is extremely empathetic, and her entirely different view of life is contagious. She has a strong will, and is her input on situations she's forced into somehow make the reader feel ready to face their own challenges. There's mysterious and oh-so-handsome pretty boy Yuki, the angry outcast Kyo, and of course, light-hearted Shigure, providing constant comic relief. As Tohru learns to survive in a harsh tragedy-filled world complete with primitive living conditions after-school jobs, yet always strives to stay optimistic, and, of course, discover the secrets behind the Sohma family and their mysterious, binding curse. Fruits Basket is a must-read that will keep you turning the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Just plain phenominal

    I have not yet completed the series, (sadly I still have 8 books to go) but I do know that Fruits Basket is P-H-E-N-O-M-I-N-A-L!! My best friend recommended this series to me, regrettably, before I read this series or ever got into anime/manga, I hated this series. I felt it was tearing a rift between me and my best friend. But that was just my selfishness, but when I began reading this series I was hooked and could not stop. I absolutely LOVE the characters, especially Yuki. The "prince" is just far too gorgeous and perfect to hate. Haha, but nethertheless, ALL the characters are just AMAZING! Kyo was hard to warm up to but once you fell in love with the ginger (haha we have something in common!) there was no going back. Although I do admit, the beginning was rather confusing to me. But after rereading it a few times I got it. I guess after hearing so much from my friend I just got confused (I thought Shigure was the love interest. My bad...) I adore how the Sohmas took Tohru in and she changed their lives for the better. I find it funny how in volume 1 Kyo yells "What the hell is wrong with you? I can't even stand to look at you!" and now what? He's telling himself he loves her with all his heart and even cries. Ahh love is a beautiful thing when put in manga. I recommend to anyone who loves comedy, drama, romance, friendship and the chinese zodiac!

    The series was fun yet had a terribly dark background, was funny but yet had serious touches. I really couldn't expect what happened next. (Such as Hanajima liking Kazuma. Or Uotani falling for a certain Sohma!)

    Fellow Manga/Anime fan for life,
    ~Oak-chan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series I've ever read

    I'm not a big manga person. I tried them out a bit in high school, and this one was passed around quite a bit. Everyone really liked it, so I tried it. SO amazing. Hilairious, but serious. Fun, yet dark. Complicated, yet simple. As the series goes on till the final 23rd book, it gets even MORE complcated and interesting. More characters, more plot twists that REALLY surprise you...I've read a lot of books, and this series ties with Harry Potter as my favorite series. Not kidding. Even if just want a book that you can laugh and have fun reading, be distracted for a bit from the real world in....this is the series for you. I will warn you that its sounds a bit silly and dorky in the first couple pages, but once the Sohma family, with all their secrets, comes into the picture...that most CERTAINLY doesn't last. :) Try it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Fruit Basket

    I only read the first book and I have to get them all! This book is great! I like Fruit Basket ALOT better than Twilight. (I stopped reading Twilight, it was SO boring) I am waiting to buy the next couple Fruit Basket books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    this book was awsome!!!!

    i think that it's really cool that tohru could think like the way she does. i think that her friends are extremly cool too, espeaily arisa because she is she reminds me of my best friend elise who sometimes act like her. hanajima is preety cool too! i hope the series never ends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    WOW

    this series is great! this book kicks off one of the greatest manga's ever created! The characters are amazing and the humor and drama keeps on comin as the series goes on. This series really makes me laugh sometimes almost cries! The idea of getting a hug from the opposite sex and turning into a zodiac animal is so original and fun! By the way...I LOVE YUKI!!! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great sotry!

    Loads of fun. Great visuals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Is it for children

    I don't know if i should buy it! Is it appropriate for children? Are there bad words or anything else??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    A Definite Buy

    I was lucky to have come upon Fruits Basket. It has very ineresting characters, and has very amazing twists in the plot. I have read the whole series and let me just say its just an overall AWESOME manga series!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    WOW!!!

    I love this series! i'm on book 5. its soooo good! I highly recomend t!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10