BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fruits Basket, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's...

Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's a romantic love triangle of a young, high school girl named Tohru and the two, very handsome Yuki and Kyo Sohma. Tohru was actually living in a tent when, shortly, she finds herself living in the Sohma Family's own household with ...
Wow! You've gotta read this manga! It's a romantic love triangle of a young, high school girl named Tohru and the two, very handsome Yuki and Kyo Sohma. Tohru was actually living in a tent when, shortly, she finds herself living in the Sohma Family's own household with Yuki, Kyo, and Shigure Sohma and finds out a terrible secret about them! They tell her she must keep the secret otherwise...she will need her memories suppressed! It's a very thrilling series with anger, joy, suspense, and forbidden loves and secrets! If you love manga as much as I do pick up a copy and read until your craving for more!(Not intended for children under the age of thirteen.)

posted by extreme-reader08 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hate It!!!

I think i'm ownly person who hates this series. I don't know why I just don't like it. But everyone seems to like it but me... All my friends like it but me...they think i'm weird for not liking it...

posted by J.R._BookWorm on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Fruits basket is very good my friend reccomended it to me and it is very good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    This is Addictive!!!!

    These books are awesome!!! The situations are hilarious and the characters are all really well developed! I read it more times then i can count! ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Addictive

    Totally addictive!! I've gone to the library to get this book and I had it overdue for more that 2 weeks! It's also funny! I laughed my head off in the library while reading it! You just gotta buy the book, and if you don't your missing out on a wild ride filled with a whole bunch a laughter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Great story!!! Couldn't put it down...

    I really liked this book a lot and im sure that anyone else who reads it will feel the same way. It is heartwarming, sad, and funny all at the same time. I bought this book a while ago and never got to reading in...now i realized just what i missed out on...I think this is a wonderful book and I sugguest that people read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    great manga!

    this is one of the best i have read so far, and i think it's really great!!! i love Kyo mainly because he's a cat. but this is still one of the best mangas i know of. this would be a great first time read if you're getting interested in manga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series! My friends recommended it to me. At first I

    I love this series! My friends recommended it to me. At first I thought it would be bad given the title, but after I read the first chapter I was in love with the book. Also, you'll probably find a character you relate to ( I think i relate to the main character). The book also came faster then expected. Also, if you're not a big fan of manga, you'll actually probably like this one (one of my friends doesn't like manga, but she loves this series). I extremely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Not the Best.

    There are a lot of stories like Fruits Basket out there. I personally do not favor this manga. I've read better and I'm willing to bet that "better" could stand for everything but Fruits Basket. I don't recommend it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great series any girl would love!

    This is the greatest series I have ever read it is a touching series. My favroite is volume 23 because in the final chapter I CRIED!!! I would give this book five stars if any girl out there in the world loves romance books/manga I would say read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    FRUITS BASKET IS THE BEST!

    It is a wonderful manga with romance and comedy and some drama but it's a really good manga and I think many people would love it is also sad at times though T_T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    Fruit Basket!

    This is a starting point of one of the very best seasons of anime ever! I highly recommend you get this book and the anime series to it because it really helps get the personalities together in your head to make it more enjoyable. Many more surprises and turns in the following manga after this one. You'll uncover more about the whole family line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Like the BEST!!! serease ever!!! i'm hooked!! so funny!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    One word: Wow!!

    I have just recently gotten into anime, and this is the first manga book I've read, and now I want to go out and buy them all! It's a great book, and I just couldn't put it down! I hope to someday have an amazing anime/manga collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    this is awesome

    this is one of the best thing i read i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    WOW! i think thats all i can say ..its the BEST.. well thanx to my freind i heard about it it sounded like i would like it cuz it had animals in it... well i couldn't get my hands on it soo i look up the reveiws on the internet 'all i found were great'i also realized it had a show..'i watch that..bout 1 mill.x'it was awesome!!! the best im not even a manga fan! ive yet to read the books but they are aupposed to be 50x better than the show'WOW!' CANT WAIT!!! read it even if you AREN'T a manga fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    sooooo wooonderfuul

    best book ever!!!!!!!!!!! if you dont read your crazy. kyo is soooooooooooooo FINE!!!!!i mean wow! this series has the best storyline, and love triangle! its a mustread^ ^!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    Addicting!

    Love this book. I have the first and must get the rest! The story draws you in like nothing I've read before. Andybody who likes Manga should read this. The illustrations are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    A gotta read book!

    Fruits basket is a funny book that any girl teen would like to read. It's about a girl named Tohoru who was living in a tent after her mother died, and was working for the school to pay for her classes. One night as she was walking home from work when Yuki known as prince yuki for his good looks at school see tohoru walking alone in the dark and invites her to his house. When all of a sudden a terrible land slide crushes poor tohoru's belongings. That's when she discover the Shomous family Secret

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely adore 'Fruits Basket.' I have read all volumes out in English in this series, and yet I find myself reading them again 100 times over. It is a true romantic comedy and gives an in-depth overview of all the characters. You can tell that Natsuki Takaya deeply loves each of her well thought out participants in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    The Animal Is Inside Us All

    What would you do if you discovered a secret and realize you have the power to transform into an animal? Well then, read Fruits Basket: Volume One. Fruits Basket is like Dewitt Bodeen's story, Cat People. But it captures a lot of inspirnation while you encounter a world of magic and wonder. it tells a story about a girl (named Thoru Honda) who goes to a mysterious famliy that has a secret. The secret is: When weak or hugged, they transform into their zodiac animal. However, this first volume is like a novel except it is manga. It will not make stop you reading because the transformation scenes will make you want to it it again and again. Like Dewitt Bodeen's Cat People, Fruits basket will change your life forever (as you start reading it). I hailed it, 'The Citizen Kane of today's manga'. So why not sit back, open the book, and discover the secret that will change you forver. Lokk out, manga readers! Fruits Basket is the must-read masterpiece for those who love the human-animal metamorphosis stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    THE BEST MANGA EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fruits Basket is THE best manga ever!!! *jumps around* I would super higly recomend it! One of the great things that I like alot is that it goes so deeply into all of the characters. (it reveles it little by little) and that makes you want to read it even more! I LOVE FURUBA!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10