Customer Reviews for

The Fuck-Up

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This wonderful satire IS well worth your time. This is what life is really like. From living the high life, to being flat broke; to despising and being despised, to finding love. Was such a good read I keep it on top of my toilet so I can re captivate the Fu ck Up's Adv...
This wonderful satire IS well worth your time. This is what life is really like. From living the high life, to being flat broke; to despising and being despised, to finding love. Was such a good read I keep it on top of my toilet so I can re captivate the Fu ck Up's Adventures, over and over again. (If you know what I mean:)

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

was oaky

The Fuck Up was a good read up until the end. it tried to hard to tie up loose ends in just a few paragraphs.

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Not bad

    To say the least this book was interesting. After reading this book I was left with a feeling of relief that I wasn¿t the protagonist. Has the chapters went along, I keep thinking to myself ¿this can¿t get any worst, can it?¿ When I say worst I mean worst situation for the main character. But has I read on, it continued to get worst and worst. The book was one that definitely kept mw awake late at night reading it. I would recommend to anyone that enjoys a pretty good satire. Especially if you are between the ages of 18-25 with no direction in your life, this way you will have a better chance of relating to this character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Awesome

    This wonderful satire IS well worth your time. This is what life is really like. From living the high life, to being flat broke; to despising and being despised, to finding love. Was such a good read I keep it on top of my toilet so I can re captivate the Fu ck Up's Adventures, over and over again. (If you know what I mean:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    was oaky

    The Fuck Up was a good read up until the end. it tried to hard to tie up loose ends in just a few paragraphs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Good fast read

    The storyline for this book was good and true to Nersesian style. However the end of the book was a bit of a disappointment as it seemed to end without the same focus on detail as the rest of the book. It felt sort of like the author either didn't know how to make it end or had to rush the ending to meet a deadline. So I got to the end and thought, "this is it??"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Res

    *cuts herself 56 times*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    To rachal

    Im a girl and want good sex. Go to rape first result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    Great Read

    Strangely addicting once the story begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Interesting read

    This book takes place in the 80's and the main character has some unusual twists and turns occur to him in a short amount of time. The irony of the story and how it unfolds is captivating but some portions can drag on. It is a great read for someone looking to read something quick, simple and vivid. The writer is creative on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I would pass

    Not really worth the read. Nothing happens and the story is frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    deep character

    The main character had great personality, and depth to not have a name. The book was dark and it was funny, but I wouldn't call it a dark comedy. I really feel that the character doesn't think. There were several parts where I'm screaming at the guy. The title works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    BLAND!

    Many of us might pick up this book because of the title. The moment I saw the book, with the minimalistic layout and crazy title, I thought there was going to be something interesting inside. But, alas, there is not! The Library Journal was right when they said that the story is bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Catcher in the Rye + 20 something + 1980's subculture

    Ok, I have to say that what drew me to even look at this book was the title. Once I started reading it, it reminded me of Salinger's masterpiece. Being a NYC city transplant, I can relate to this character. Full of laughs, struggles and 80's culture, this book is a fantastic fast-paced read. I highly reccomend it for any New York transplant who is struggling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    great story very uplifting

    This was a really good book this should be required reading in highschool. just read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    What the hell was his name?

    It took me a while to figure out the author didn't give his main charcter a name. Oh well, it was to good of a book for me to care. I really liked the main charcters personality, he reminds me of a friend of mine, and the rest of the characters were great to. I liked the way the book flowed together, and it was pretty funny in some parts. There wasn't anything too dissapointing about it, nothing worth mentioning. Arthur did a great job writting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    ...i prefered dogrun better

    this was supposed to be a dark comedy, but i dont remeber laughing very much reading it...the second half of the book was just depressing...but the way nessarian writes, it really keeps you involved, and you cant put the book down. i'm not sure i liked how it ended. it left me feeling unsatisfied. dogrun felt more complete than this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    just delicious 'til the last drop.

    interesting, highly improbable situations arising all over the place. this is defintely my kind of book. it never stayed in one place for too long. keeps you on your toes. i also highly recommend the perks of being a wallflower by stephen chbosky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    A Pretty Good Book.

    this book was (like the reviews) a pretty good in my opinion. it wasn't as comedic as i thought it was going to be, but it gives a detailed look at what a really sucky life would be like. so its not exactly that funny, but still interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    An Excellent Disaster

    If you are depressed or saddend by the direction of your life(or even if you are not), read this book. It is sure to make you feel better. Youll get a laugh as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Better You Than Me, Dude!

    Very funny story about the misadventures of a young man in New York City. Folks - these aren't just misadventures...some of the things that our young guy happens into are downright catastrophic! But, deliciously funny! I was a little disappointed by the abrupt conclusion, but I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    Lighthearted madcap hilarity and then.....

    I found the predicaments and snafus that the main character put himself in at the beginning of the book, to be equally entertaining and humorous. However, the last quarter of the novel takes a dark turn which blindsides the reader. I suppose Mr. Nersesian wanted to drive home the title of the book that much more. I'm only giving this novel three stars because I didn't care for the dark transition it made towards the end. However, Mr. Nersesian seems to be a fine writer, you have empathy for the character here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3