Customer Reviews for

Fugitive (Love Inspired Suspense Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    4 STARS I like reading Shirlee McCoy's books. This one did not

    4 STARS

    I like reading Shirlee McCoy's books. This one did not disappoint at all. Fugitive has heroes, action, drama, suspense and humor. It is also a clean read.

    Laney is up at her late husband's cabin in the middle of 150 acres getting ready to sell it. During a snow storm a knock on the door is a man in orange jumpsuit and handcuffs. Before she has reason to panic she recognizes Logan.

    Laney' childhood was rotten. On the outside it looked like perfect family. She was abused. Her parents also took in lots of foster kids and abused them too most ran away. Logan was one but he stayed to help Laney survive. Logan got Laney out into somewhere safe. Then he reported the abuse and they found the body of one of the foster kids that had died and then buried. Logan caught her father sent to prison for life.

    Laney had not seen Logan for years but she trusted him. Laney decided to help him to escape so he could find the proof to prove his innocents. Before they got far someone burned her cabin down. After they got down the mountain Logan left Laney so he would not get her involved anymore.

    Logan was a deputy sheriff before he was framed of selling drugs that had gone missing. On his way to prison they were run off the road. One cop was dead another was wounded and shots were fired at Logan.

    Logan ends up having some help to prove he is innocent. Some from a surprising source.

    I hated to put the book down to answer the phone calls. I like that they turned to the Lord for prayer to help and not blame for trials.

    I look forward to reading more from Shirlee in the future.
    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review when done by Netgalley.
    05/07/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin Love Inspired 224 pages ISBN: 9780373445370

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    With a solid and interesting mystery that is beautifully combine

    With a solid and interesting mystery that is beautifully combined with a touching love story, McCoy brings readers another winner. - Full review available at BookTrib's website or RomanticReadsandSuch on Wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    3.5/5.0 Wonderful romantic suspense Book source ~ Many thanks t

    3.5/5.0 Wonderful romantic suspense

    Book source ~ Many thanks to NetGalley and Love Inspired for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Laney Jefferson is back near her hometown to clean out her husband’s cabin in preparation for selling it. Then she’ll move on to her parents home to do the same thing. She’s given herself two weeks to clear out the past and move on into her future. But in the middle of a snowstorm, there’s a bang at the cabin door and her future takes a turn she never saw coming.

    Logan Randall is escaping the wrecked squad car, running for his life in the middle of a snowstorm dressed only in his prison jumpsuit. Handcuffed and trying to evade his would-be murderers he heads up the mountain hoping to find shelter before he freezes to death. Or is fatally shot. When he comes across a cabin he has no idea he will be looking into a face from his past. He does know that just being around Laney puts her in danger and that’s not something he is willing to do. Unfortunately, like the song says, you don’t always get what you want.

    There’s something about a cabin in the woods in the middle of a snowstorm, a man on the run and a woman willing to help him that I love every single time. It’s one of my favorite plots, so when I saw this story I had to read it even though it’s the 8th(!) in a series. Unheard of for me to jump into a series without reading them all first, but, Hello! Favorite! Favorites are hard to resist. Even though they don’t stay at the cabin as I imagined, the story held my attention until the end. 

    Logan was framed, sentenced and was on his way to prison when the story starts and it’s a race to the end to see who framed him and wants him dead. Laney gets pulled into the mayhem and then there are great secondary characters that come along for the ride. All-in-all a wonderful romantic suspense that can be read in an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Fugitive by Shirlee McCoy is part of the Heroes for Hire Series.

    Fugitive by Shirlee McCoy is part of the Heroes for Hire Series. It is a fast but good read. Laney is hoping to move on from her past once and for all but that doesn't seem possible when Logan stumbles back into her life. In trying to run from her past Laney runs right into it. Now Laney is also running from a killer and the law.

    I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this book or not at first but from the first page I was glad I did and I truthfully enjoyed reading it. It is a book with a good plot and enough twists to keep you guessing, not only about who is behind the killing and trouble Logan is in, but also who is trying to kill Logan and Laney now, and on top of all that it is about both of them facing the past head on. Mystery, suspense, and a little romance makes for a quick, good read. If you are looking for a book that is good, not too complicated, and a fast enjoyable read this is your book. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great story!

    Couldn't put the book down! Just had to see who was behind the mystery. Logan has been in other books of the series, and I was glad he got his own story. Loved all the characters, even the secondary ones. Stan was great and the interaction between him and Seth was fun. Looks like Seth's story is next, and I'm hoping maybe Stan will be back too. Taryn's due for her own story as she's been in a couple of books now. Great author, great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Very good read

    This book was a good read for lunchtime. Good storyline that keeps your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Must Read

    What a turn of events! Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Very good

    I was glad to see a story about Logan after meeting him in earlier books. I look forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Christian Inspired Romantic Suspense

    Laney Jefferson ran from her abusive past over a dozen years ago with the help of Logan Randal, a childhood friend and savior. Finally having a chance to make a life for herself, she never looks back until she is told she is the heir to her family’s estate, forcing her to swallow her fear and return to sever all ties to the painful memories. While staying at her small and isolated cabin during a fierce snowstorm, hearing a thump at her door, she opens it to find her past coming roaring back when a wounded man, handcuffed and half frozen falls in and she recognizes him. Logan Randal was there for her when she desperately needed a friend. Now the wrongfully convicted lawman needs the widow's help as he runs from an unknown entity out to stop him from proving not only his innocence, but uncovering the truth that lays buried in the past. Will they survive long enough to find the real killer?

    Fugitive is a Christian based mystery full of suspense and a romantic touch that proves that life often gives us just what we need at the time we need it, including a second chance at happiness. Shirlee McCoy has packed an action-filled plot into a quick and satisfying read without resorting to gratuitous scenes, but relying on a faith in God in this wonderful suspense.

    A copy of this book was provided by NetGalley and Harlequin Love Inspired in exchange for my honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fugitive by Shirlee McCoy Heroes for Hire Series Book 8 Deputy S

    Fugitive by Shirlee McCoy
    Heroes for Hire Series Book 8
    Deputy Sheriff Logan Randal has been set up and is heading for prison. It could be anyone with a vendetta against him. When almost killed on the way to prison he escapes and is determined to clear his name. Green Bluff is his home and family, everything to him and he’s determined to return to his old life. He never thought his rescuer would come in the form of an old friend.




    Laney Jefferson was her own woman these days. After escaping an abusive childhood she graduates college and works successfully as an interior decorator. She has promised never to have to depend on anyone, not even her late husband. When Laney returns to the childhood home she has just inherited, she’s determined to put the past behind her. Only she didn’t expect Logan to enter her future.




    Another exciting addition to the Heroes for Hire Series. We see some past friends that we met in previous books along with new ones. Plenty of adventure, suspense, running for their life and of course….romance.
    **Received through NetGalley for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Great read. Couk Could not but this book down!

    Great book. Worth the money spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Laney was trying to move forward. two and a half years after los

    Laney was trying to move forward. two and a half years after losing her husband she was trying to tie up the loose ends and move forward. She needed to do that with the house she grew up in too. But there were no good memories there.

    But now at the cabin she was feeling the loss of her late husband. When someone is there! In the middle of the woods..who? Logan?! Her foster brother she hadn't seen for years? Who had been tried and convicted of drug trafficking. Here? Now? Hurt and in a prison orange jumpsuit?

    That's how the roller coaster ride starts. Follow along with Laney and Logan as they try to untangle all of the twisted threads that will answer the questions they both have about how they got to where they are now and how they can mover forward toward the future. Action, intrigue, it's all there! This is a story that will hold your attention right down to the last page. Surprises abound! I found myself riveted..you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1