Customer Reviews for

Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book

    This is a great resource for people who suffer from any type of chronic (long-term) health problems. It is based on the author's experience with thousands of people who have participated in a course called the Stress Reduction and Relaxation Program at the Univ. of Massachusetts Medical Center. "Full Catastrophe Living" is intended to be that program rolled up into a book.

    The book's tool is mindfulness meditation- a form of meditation originally developed in the Buddhist traditions- defined as a moment-to-moment awareness. Through mindful meditation, one can gain new kinds of control and wisdom in their lives. The book is very "hands on", so don't expect to just read it and be done with it. For example, you'll be doing things such breathing exercises or yoga postures (I can also recommend "Exercise Beats Depression" as another good resource for those struggling with depression).

    Since the mind plays a factor in stress-related disorders, and very undertreated in Western medicine, I feel like this book will fill a much needed niche for many people. With over five-hundred pages, there's plenty of wisdom here to suck up.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing

    While being treating at the Mayo Clinic, the doctors were scratching their heads and thinking that the only way to control the pain I was experiencing was through radical treatment. One option was to implant an electrode deep inside my brain. Although they weren't sure why it helped some people with similar pain to mine, they just knew it did. One of the doctors recommended I read "Full Catastrophe Living" while thinking about whether or not to let them open up my skull for the implant. I read the book and took the workshop, as outlined in the book, on my own. After two weeks, I was obtaining relief from my pain, and I was able to stop increasing the pain meds I was on. After the forth week, I was able to actually reduce the number of meds, and after the sixth week, I eliminated four of the ten types of medications I had been prescribed and taking for over a year.
    It has now been two years since reading this life changing book, and I am happy to say, it has truly given me a new lease on life and how to deal with the pain I have.
    I only wish I had taken the MBSR workshop earlier in my life. Having worked in a very stressful position for years, I sure could have used the information contain in this book to deal with the stress and pressure in a much more natural way.
    Whether you are under a lot of stress, or whether you have a high level of pain, this book will most definitely change your life. It will take dedicating 45 minutes per day throughout the workshop and beyond. But those 45 minutes will be the best investment you have ever done. Believe me.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!

    This is one of the best self help books I've read! Not only do I battle with illness, but as a result, I developed an anxiety/panic disorder. This book helped me in more ways than I even imagined, not only did it help me deal with the stress of my illness, but it also helped me with my anxiety disorder. I can go on about this book, but for anyone who is dealing with health issues, any health issues from stress to cancer this book can help you, it teaches you how to take control of your mind and teaches you how to deal with any stresses in your life. I've let people read a chapter or two out of this book and after only reading one or two chapters they run out and get the book, it's that good! Such a small price to pay for your sanity and peace of mind.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Helpful book to reduce stress

    My husband and I have been using this book in dealing with the stress of having two special needs children. I have also passed this book on to writer and artist friends of mine who suffer the stress of deadlines and artistic 'block.' I also highly recommend 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold. I use both of these books for stress reduction in my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    WONDERFUL: Nuts and nolts for learning about yourself

    Jon Kabat-Zinn helps even the most distressed of us learn about self-healing and self-nuturing. I am a physician and I recommend this to ALL of my chronic pain/depressed/anxious patients, and it has dramatically changed many of their lives.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I look foward to using this book in my own training.

    Although I am not finished with it yet, I have found it to be well structured, moderately easy to read, and very helpful in my own journey of self discovery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Recipe for Wellness

    I read this book several years ago, knowing that it would contribute well to my work as a psychologist. Re-reading it again recently for my own health, I appreciated it much more. It's an actual protocol for Jon Kabat-Zinn's Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Program. I took the class while reading this book which I recommend as the best way to approach it.

    Parts of it ran a bit long for me. Some of the examples, and some of the repeat content could have been cut down to reduce the overall length of the book. That would not have impacted the essence of the book, and may have made it more accessible to those who didn't approach it because of it's weight.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    pass on this book

    I would recommend that you pass on this book. I do not know if I had read the paper copy of the book that it would have made any difference. I will be moving this archive and trash!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Life changing!

    This is a life-changing book. I picked this up and started reading it after having listened to Dr. Kabat-Zinn's meditation CDs that are described in the book. Stress, anxiety, and pain are so prevalent in our society, but even if one doesn't have a chronic or debilitating illness, the mindfulness training is extremely beneficial for those who want to lead an awakened life. Readers will come to understand the basis for the practices that are outlined and find hope for relief from suffering in the stories of those who have participated in the stress reduction clinic. Though I confess that I haven't yet fully implemented the book's recommendations into my daily routine, I began to feel more centered and connected as my reading progressed and I will commit to the program because I know that it works. I have begun purchasing copies for friends and family members and I recommend it to anyone who indicates a willingness to learn to live moment to moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An essential read on mindfulness

    Jon has been a very strong influence in the 'Mindfulness Movement' and introduces us to the practical down-to-earth details of how mindfulness practice can help improve the quality of our lives and reduce stress.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesant Book, help you to keep in touch with your inner -side!

    teaching you how to have control of your own feelings, and deal with it......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    A Must Read For Depressed People

    I've been battling depression most of my life since childhood getting worse through adulthood. At 35 years I feel I've finally found a tool that gives me the confidence to keep it at bay in the long term without pills and medications. If you are depressed or anxious, you MUST READ and follow this book and give it a chance. You'll find relief in a fraction of the time you would otherwise by starting Prozac. Also, you need to buy the tapes to go with the book. The book is an important guide as to how to use the tapes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4