Customer Reviews for

Full Dark, No Stars

Average Rating 4
( 1534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(736)

4 Star

(458)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

THERE IS HELL TO PAY!

King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "...
King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "1922" is the story of a farmer who murders his wife for no better reason than to stop her from selling off their land. Her excruciatingly painful death lets loose the devil that will get him in the end. In "Big Driver", after a middle-aged woman is attacked on an out-of-the-way back road and left for dead, a thirst for revenge over powers her. She finds herself suddenly capable of committing bone-chilling acts to get even. "A Good Marriage" tells us about a wife who discovers the man she's been married to for 27 years is not the man she thought she married and all that that entails. "Fair Extension" is a horrifying tale of a dying man's resentment, and misfortunes over powering him and unleashing on his thought to be best friend who stole his high school sweetheart. There is hell to pay.

posted by GEORGIAMOON on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I'd give this one a "pass"

This book was, thankfully, short at only 304 (nook) pages. The only story that I felt was really good was A Good Marriage. The others had the potential, but I don't feel Mr. King ever fully developed the stories. I don't mind that the endings weren't, I've always been o...
This book was, thankfully, short at only 304 (nook) pages. The only story that I felt was really good was A Good Marriage. The others had the potential, but I don't feel Mr. King ever fully developed the stories. I don't mind that the endings weren't, I've always been one who enjoys the STORY, the JOURNEY. The characters were rich, and very vivid, but the lack of development of the story just left me feeling let down.

posted by Certifried on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 458 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Full Dark, Indeed

    "A Good Marriage" poses the question, however deeply you wish to consider it: Do we ever really know each other? A similar question sums up Full Dark, No Stars, and that is: Do we ever really know ourselves? Unlike King's previous collections, there is a very strong unifying theme at play here, and that is a study of how people react when pushed, or how we handle the ugly choices we're given. In all of these stories, people find themselves forced to face sides of themselves they might never have known existed if not for the intervention of exterior forces. In "1922? Wilfred James finds himself driven to murder by the threat of losing the only thing he truly knows. In "Big Driver" a rapist awakens the primal vengeance of an otherwise mild-mannered writer. In "Fair Extension" a man is asked to condemn another for the chance at a new life. And in "A Good Marriage" an ordinarily housewife is forced to make the ultimate choice when she finds out her loving husband is not what he has pretended to be. Take away the safety and security, the gravity we take for granted and you truly see what we are behind the mask. Good people, King says, may only be good as long as they're allowed to be. There is always a high and a low road, the good and the bad. But when the line of demarcation is not clear, when the gray area is a blur, and when we stand to benefit more from taking the path that will ultimately bring horror to others but an element of peace to ourselves, what do we do? In Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King offers four unflinchingly brutal scenarios in response to that question. It is a grim and often ugly journey of discovery, but as always when it comes to King, one worth taking, if only to see what we look like when the masks come off.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well done

    While I did not "love" all the short stories in this novella, Stephen King has returned to what i feel he does best and that is his short stories. The characters are well developed and for the most part the tales are highly entertaining. King lovers will love it and King may even bring back some readers he has lsot over the past few years.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Very good

    This is not what I was expectlng. However, it made me think. I love the way Steve pulls you in.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I have come to expect a lot from Stephen King, especially his sh

    I have come to expect a lot from Stephen King, especially his short stories and novellas, and I was not disappointed. The four stories in this anthology were all very well written, engaging, engrossing and (as one would expect from the King) just a little disturbing.

    The first story, 1922 is presented as the written confession of a farmer who, by murdering his wife, destroyed his son, his soul and his peace of mind. This tale demonstrates how, by our own actions, we can create for ourselves a hell on Earth long before we encounter any kind of divine punishment.

    The second story, Big Driver, is the best description of how it feels to be raped that I have read by someone who hasn't actually experienced this horror for themselves. It highlights the humiliation, the terror, the anger, the disgust, the burning need for revenge combined with the desperate desire to hide that is felt by many victims of this awful crime.

    The third story, Fair Extension, shows the lengths many of us are willing to go to in order to topple those of whom we are jealous and to put our own selfish interests ahead of the interests of those around us. Many of us are all too eager to do a deal with the devil, no trickery or bribery needed.

    The fourth, and final, story is called A Good Marriage. In my opinion, this is the best of the four. By reading this tale, we are asked just how well we can really know another person, even those nearest and dearest to us. What would we do if we found out our most-loved ones had been hiding a horrible secret from us, so terrible that we refused, at first, to believe it to be true? Could you suddenly stop loving someone who turned out to be evil?

    As is typical for Stephen King's works, these stories are enjoyable to read while they last, and stay in your mind, churning your thoughts, exciting your emotions and disturbing your peace long after they are finished.

    I have made no secret of the fact that King is one of my favourite authors, so it should come as no surprise to you that I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Once Again Its a Hit

    I love the fact that this book is a collection of four separate stories. Each story is different from the next, and ends in a much different fashion. I loev Stephen King but sometimes the stories are so long that it takes a while to finish them, especially if you are lugging the book around. But this Nook book version was just the thing that I needed. It was the first ebook on my Nook and it was a great experience. This book is definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Great Stories!

    This book shows why King is still the master story Teller! Great read for any King fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Another Good Read by Stephen King

    I don't usually like short stories (they end too quickly). The stories in this book kept me interested. A very good read ... typical of Stephen King. I liked the prologue at the end. I don't usually ready those, but this one gave some insight on where the ideas came from. He did ramble a little, though. All-in-all, I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    What would you do

    I enjoyed these short stories very much. I have been a Stephen King fan for decades and think I have read everything he has published. I love his short stories as they get to the point. Each story in this book has you thinking what would I do here? Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Oh!

    Such a disturbing book, good but disturbing. I think the second story was my favorite (and the most troubling)As a general rule I enjoy short stories and these do not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Pretty good.

    If u are a reader of king this book is in my opinion very unlike other books he has written...it was very good n held my intetest the entire book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I liked this book very much. All the stories painted a picture-

    I liked this book very much. All the stories painted a picture-a sad and a bit evil picture-but I love King's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Michael Murchison

    I thought this book was great. My favorites of the stories were Fair extention and A Good Marriage. I recommend this nook to stephen king fans and everyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Hopeleaf

    A Calico she cat padded in. Her dark green eyes looked around. Hi she purred. I am Hopeleaf. My old father was Darkstripe but when he tried to get me to do evil i left him. Greenleaf became my father. Thatg was when darkstripe had named me Runt. When Greenkeaf died his clan felll apart and i had to leave but he still visits me in my dream often. I would really love to be your mate and have kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great read!!

    This author never fails!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    King at his best

    This collection of stories by Stephen King runs the gamut of human terror. Yet, it differs from King's standard fare in its emphasis on the individual rather than groups. In saying that, I mean that there is a more intimate feel to these stories. The first two tales, "1922" and "Big Driver" are the signature pieces of this compilation. Each is unique in its own way, starting with the dizzying words of the narrator of "1922", the reader embarks into the world of a man in true psychosis. This tale is a pure tribute to Edgar Allen Poe. " Big Driver", is just unsettling. From start to finish you know something is going to go wrong and it usually does. The rest of the novel's narratives are just as enjoyable, but a tad bit more normal. Overall this is a must read for the first two pieces alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Different Kind of Horror

    I don't know what I was expecting out of this book, to be honest. It has been a long time since I've read a Stephen King novel (Pet Sematary is the most recent book that comes to mind), so I was sort of able to read Full Dark like it was the first time I've read any of King's books. And it's a good thing, too, because this is a completely different book than his others.

    Full Dark, No Stars is an anthology of four different novellas: 1922, Big Driver, Fair Extension, and A Good Marriage. Each novella has its own spin on the theme of revenge, redemption, and consequences. The trademark supernatural elements are there, but in a way that you'd not expect from a Stephen King novel. The effect is a collection of stories that are less horrific in nature and more "realistic"--the people in these stories are easy to identify with and common enough that you can find them in everyday life. Each story confronts these ordinary people with an extraordinary (yet in only a few cases, supernatural) circumstances, and then sort of steps back to watch how they deal with the aftermath.

    King is very good at setting the scene: in 1922, for instance, I was captivated by the sprawling vast farmland of small-town America he described. These stories read like self-contained movies, and their perfect length both captures and holds the interest of the readers, without dragging on for several hundred pages. Overall, the stories were a hit and miss. I found A Good Marriage and 1922 to be the better of the four stories. I did not care much for Big Driver; the plot impetus was a violent act against a woman, and therefore made me really uncomfortable.

    This isn't one of King's don't-read-this-in-the-dark books, but it still has the elements of horror of a different kind. These stories tell of the horrors of the real world, and the fear of the demons that we keep within us. Somehow that seems much scarier than ghosts or monsters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good read

    Not scary, but good stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Top notch masterpiece Great read

    Add this the stacks as one of his fantasic books. I couldnt put it down once i started reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome as always

    Great collection of short stories. Gruesome and graphic. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 458 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23