Customer Reviews for

Full Dark, No Stars

Average Rating 4
( 1532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(734)

4 Star

(458)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

THERE IS HELL TO PAY!

King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "...
King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "1922" is the story of a farmer who murders his wife for no better reason than to stop her from selling off their land. Her excruciatingly painful death lets loose the devil that will get him in the end. In "Big Driver", after a middle-aged woman is attacked on an out-of-the-way back road and left for dead, a thirst for revenge over powers her. She finds herself suddenly capable of committing bone-chilling acts to get even. "A Good Marriage" tells us about a wife who discovers the man she's been married to for 27 years is not the man she thought she married and all that that entails. "Fair Extension" is a horrifying tale of a dying man's resentment, and misfortunes over powering him and unleashing on his thought to be best friend who stole his high school sweetheart. There is hell to pay.

posted by GEORGIAMOON on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I'd give this one a "pass"

This book was, thankfully, short at only 304 (nook) pages. The only story that I felt was really good was A Good Marriage. The others had the potential, but I don't feel Mr. King ever fully developed the stories. I don't mind that the endings weren't, I've always been o...
This book was, thankfully, short at only 304 (nook) pages. The only story that I felt was really good was A Good Marriage. The others had the potential, but I don't feel Mr. King ever fully developed the stories. I don't mind that the endings weren't, I've always been one who enjoys the STORY, the JOURNEY. The characters were rich, and very vivid, but the lack of development of the story just left me feeling let down.

posted by Certifried on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 734 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THERE IS HELL TO PAY!

    King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "1922" is the story of a farmer who murders his wife for no better reason than to stop her from selling off their land. Her excruciatingly painful death lets loose the devil that will get him in the end. In "Big Driver", after a middle-aged woman is attacked on an out-of-the-way back road and left for dead, a thirst for revenge over powers her. She finds herself suddenly capable of committing bone-chilling acts to get even. "A Good Marriage" tells us about a wife who discovers the man she's been married to for 27 years is not the man she thought she married and all that that entails. "Fair Extension" is a horrifying tale of a dying man's resentment, and misfortunes over powering him and unleashing on his thought to be best friend who stole his high school sweetheart. There is hell to pay.

    32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Noted for his horror novels, Stephen King is also a super novella/short story writer

    "1922". Wilfred Leland James loves his Nebraska farm. His wife Arlette hates the spread. When she inherits 100 acres, she wants to sell it and her spouse's land while he wants to work both. She will learn how he plans to keep her and Henry on the farm after they've seen Omaha.------------------------

    "Big Driver". After a Massachusetts speaking engagement, cozy novelist Tess is given a short cut home by her patron Ramona. While driving the back road, she runs over a nail causing a flat. A man stops to change the tire, but instead rapes her and leaves her dead. However, he failed to kill her so she plots vengeance as only a mystery writer could.--------------

    "Fair Extension". Dying from cancer, Streeter talks with Mr. Elvid who offers him a Faustian deal of passing on much of his bad luck to a person he hates in exchange for an annual portion of money. Over the years Streeter and his family enjoy a good life, but his former best friend and his family have one catastrophe after another----------

    "A Good Marriage". After twenty-seven years of marriage to Bob, Darcy believes they have had a good life together. While he is away on business, she finds in their garage catalogues that he hid from her so she would not order items. She finds a second box, but when Darcy opens it, she learns secrets about Bob that he hid from her; now she must decide what to do with this other Bob she just met.-------------

    Noted for his horror novels, Stephen King is also a super novella/short story writer as proven by Different Seasons, which includes tales that were adopted into movies (see The Shawshank Redemption, The Apt Pupil and Stand By Me). This quartet affirms Mr. King's shorter thriller writing skills as the naturing stranger inside of everyone is masked by nurturing so that even long term partners and in some case the person do not know the inner sanction of their soul.---------------------

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite King collection. 1922 is extremely character

    This is my favorite King collection. 1922 is extremely character driven. I really rooted for the two men out on a farm and thus the things that happened to them felt like they were happening to me. Big Driver was about the same for me really. A Fair Extension is kind of sinfully nice. A Good Marriage is also very satisffying. There's really no weak story here. 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great book by a great author . . .

    Why are you wasting time reading this review when you could be reading the book instead? That is really all I need to say about Full Dark, No Stars. I am more than impressed with these stories by Stephen King. My review is not going to make you read the book. You either like Stephen King or you don't. This book will please most if not all of his fans and just may persuade some of those who don't enjoy the works of Stephen King. If you are looking for "heart-warming" tales for this upcoming holiday season, look elsewhere. But if you want some dark, practically "pitch black" stories, this is the book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning!

    Stephen King is the master of short story fiction. Three out of four of the stories in the book featured terrible violence to women, a topic I find difficult to read. King takes you right to the heart of evil and forces you to stand witness. He sums it up best in an afterword. He wanted to take ordinary characters and place them in extraordinary circumstances to see what they would do. You will find out if you read this extremely excellent book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Disturbing

    I read this in three short evenings. Couldn't put it down. My favorite of the four was the shortest of all, Fair Extension, and I wished it was longer.
    Be prepared from the very first story though, they are all disturbing, but necessarily so and he spends just the right amount of time on it and moves on.
    If you are a fan of Rose Madder/Gerald's Game then you will like Good Marriage and Big Driver. Seemingly normal women overcoming great obstacles with well-thought-out planning and courage with a Stephen King spin.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Enticing

    I have enjoyed Stephen King books for many years and this holds a high place as one of my favorites. The first short story is the most beautifully written it makes you question the capabilities of your own sanity and is a tale of heart break leaving you thinking that if one thing had gone differently the outcome might have left some of those who deserved to survive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    love this book!!

    It's a great book, very hard to put down. I read the 1st page out loud and needless to say 3 people in the room ha their jaws on the floor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    OMG - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Perfect Price for a Perfect Read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    money while spent !!

    Thanks !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Could not put this one down!!

    Can not beleive this job is really out there, crazy life this guy had.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Will

    Hey everyone

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Intriguing and suspenseful

    Truly one of King's best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Welcome back, Stephen....I'm your number 1 fan!

    Good to see him back in good form. Couldn't put this book down after I started reading it. For whatever odd reason, I flipped to the back and was quickly drawn into "The Good Marriage". Do we REALLY know all we should to know about those we love - and those that proclaim their love for us? It seemed a tad voyeristic to watch the characters flesh-out and take on a life of their own. The rest of this collection was also compelling, Stephen King reading. He seems to whisper in your ear as you follow his prose. Got it for Christmas and have already read it twice. His fans will applaud with great satisfaction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great Testimony !! - worth it

    I think everybody needs to read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    King's Best in Years

    The stories grab you from the start and don't let go. Ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. What woulf you do?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Excellent

    Wonderful book! King is back!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Loved them all !

    I never read any of stephen king's books until after I saw a few of his movies. Now I cannot get enough of him. I particularly LOVE the short stories.
    Now I cannot see a movie unless I've read the book first.
    This book was really a great read. I loved being able to read one or two stories before going to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Love it

    Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 734 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37