Customer Reviews for

Full Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman's Guide to Why Feminism Matters

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, excellent "starter kit" to feminism!

I have only rave reviews for Jessica Valenti, and for this book in particular. I have read others by her and like them all, but what is especially great about "Full Frontal" is that she takes formative examples from her other books (such as laws that protect pharmacists...
I have only rave reviews for Jessica Valenti, and for this book in particular. I have read others by her and like them all, but what is especially great about "Full Frontal" is that she takes formative examples from her other books (such as laws that protect pharmacists if they refuse to dispense birth control because they feel it's morally wrong, or a thorough analysis of the pervasive and invasive "Girls Gone Wild" phenomenon) and puts them into a context that rings true with young people. I say people because Valenti is quick to point out that feminism isn't, nor has ever been, an exclusively female issue. Sexism also affects men, in a hugely negative way! In fact, Valenti is quick to debunk the stereotypical myth that ALL feminists are man-hating, bra-burning (to use her word) "dykes." From flailing reproductive rights, to lies incorporated into public school sex-ed curriculum to guilt young women into chastity, to the disturbing prominence of father-daughter purity balls, to the history and present of the feminist movement, Valenti provides an accurate, unapologetic, appropriately impassioned, and hilarious overview of the importance of feminism today. What is even more impressive is that she also dedicates an entire chapter to empowering her readers with small things that can be done every day to push the feminist agenda forward. Indeed, as she persuades her readers, feminism is alive and well, but must always be fought for. What a revolutionary idea for someone like me, a young woman brought up to think it is so uncool to be a feminist! I recommend this book to anyone who is new (or needs a refresher course) to the basics and necessity of modern feminism.

posted by lucky_number_slevin on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I did not have high hopes for this book, as feministing.com is usually no more than a link or two to a newspaper article and some sort of catchphrase, but Full Frontal Feminism still managed to disappoint me. It deals only vaguely with feminist issues and gives ...
I did not have high hopes for this book, as feministing.com is usually no more than a link or two to a newspaper article and some sort of catchphrase, but Full Frontal Feminism still managed to disappoint me. It deals only vaguely with feminist issues and gives a brief summary of them but no real analysis or solutions, is full of obscenities, personal attacks of people who somehow wronged Valenti in grade school, and makes out like feminism is all about guilt-free sex, with scarcely anything about equality or safety of women. Valenti gives barely even a nod to issues faced by poor women, women of color, lesbians and transwomen. She also goes on and on about 'We young women,' but last I checked, she was 28. How much does a 28-year-old, upper middle class woman with a master's degree (she brags about that, too) really understand about the struggle young women are facing, especially poor women and women of color? Well, if this book is any indication, next to nothing. It's condescending and pointless. Oh, and the cover! For a book that's supposed to be about feminism, why is there a disembodied, naked, female torso on the front? Objectifying women is objectifying women, whether you claim to be a feminist or not. If you're looking for a book that will help you make excuses to have sex and teach you new swear words, this is it. If you're a young woman looking for a good introduction to feminism, put this down and get something worth reading instead.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Excellent, excellent "starter kit" to feminism!

    I have only rave reviews for Jessica Valenti, and for this book in particular. I have read others by her and like them all, but what is especially great about "Full Frontal" is that she takes formative examples from her other books (such as laws that protect pharmacists if they refuse to dispense birth control because they feel it's morally wrong, or a thorough analysis of the pervasive and invasive "Girls Gone Wild" phenomenon) and puts them into a context that rings true with young people. I say people because Valenti is quick to point out that feminism isn't, nor has ever been, an exclusively female issue. Sexism also affects men, in a hugely negative way! In fact, Valenti is quick to debunk the stereotypical myth that ALL feminists are man-hating, bra-burning (to use her word) "dykes." From flailing reproductive rights, to lies incorporated into public school sex-ed curriculum to guilt young women into chastity, to the disturbing prominence of father-daughter purity balls, to the history and present of the feminist movement, Valenti provides an accurate, unapologetic, appropriately impassioned, and hilarious overview of the importance of feminism today. What is even more impressive is that she also dedicates an entire chapter to empowering her readers with small things that can be done every day to push the feminist agenda forward. Indeed, as she persuades her readers, feminism is alive and well, but must always be fought for. What a revolutionary idea for someone like me, a young woman brought up to think it is so uncool to be a feminist! I recommend this book to anyone who is new (or needs a refresher course) to the basics and necessity of modern feminism.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Something all young women should read...

    I've only read a few chapters of the book and already, I'm entranced by Ms. Valenti's quintessential masterpiece and her modern and unique take on Feminism. It certainly breaks down the walls and stereotypes of society and the media about sex, young women, and the ideology of feminism. Ms. Valenti weaves powerful words, facts, and humor altogether in this single book. I am definitely going to look into her other works! Call me a Jessica Valenti fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend reading Full Frontal Feminism!!

    This book was very well written and very imformative. As a feminist who never realized that I was such. This book made me realize that I truly was a feminist, and now I'm proud of being labeled as such!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Love it!

    This book is awesome! If you have ever wanted to know more about feminism this is the book to read. I took a seminar at school and one of the presenters had this book... I got it as soon as it was over. This book has changed all of my views on feminism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    It was so in your face and easy to read. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    a must read for men and women alike

    This book is expertly written. It's a style that keeps the reader engaged as if talking to a friend. And it talks about real issues that women face and presents it in a manner that makes you think. If you're a person that's afraid of the truth and like a whole lot of fluff...this book isn't for you. But if you're a strong man or woman looking for a good read and even if you're not so sure about feminism but are willing to learn something about it- this book is for you. But I must warn this book isn't an in-depth book. It's meant to scan over the many areas of feminism to get you a start- to get you to think. And it does it quite well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Not your Mom's Feminism

    I love love love this book! I'm a college student but I'm not a big reader. I could NOT put this book down!! She's makes so many great points in a languge younger generations can relate to. You may be taken back by the word 'Feminism' but if you love the idea of equality you'll adore this page turner. Chapter by chapter, I had a stronger sense of self and valid points to help support it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    A must read, no matter who you are!

    As quoted by Jessica herself this book really IS 'Self help times one hundred,' she really explains feminism in this must have book, affirming numerous issues most of us have already thought of ourselves but never put together! I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have always held feminist ideals, but had never actually read any feminist text before I saw Jessica Valenti on the Colbert Report. After seeing her interview, I decided to pick up the book. It was amazing. The way it was written was very matter-of-fact with no condescending tone or fluff. It felt like I was having a conversation with a friend while I read it. Every point made in this book hit me close to home, because every point made in this book is something that will potentially effect every woman alive. Full Frontal Feminism opened my eyes to a movement that I didn't know I was a part of. After reading this book, I am proud to call myself a feminist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    A fantastic primer for young women!

    Full Frontal Feminism provides a fantastic and accessible primer on current feminist issues. Even if you don't agree with Jessica Valenti's politics, this book will give you things to think about. Valenti doesn't talk down to her readers, and doesn't draw conclusions for them. Very thought-provoking for anyone who identifies as a feminist, thinks they might be a feminist, or wonders what it means to be a feminist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Honest, Refreshing and Real

    I wish I had been given this book at 13 in order to begin reversing a fear and shame-inducing Catholic education. Full Frontal Feminism is a candid and personal look at what feminism means to the author, as well as how it's relevant and necessary for all young women. Jessica Valenti writes in a conversational, non-condescending and clear way about WHY and HOW feminism gives young women the analytical tools to reclaim their bodies and their communities. Yes, Jessica isn't afraid to bring up the scarier aspects of being female -- harassment, assault, anti-choice politicians -- but as shreds the patriarchy she is promoting feminism as a vibrant movement and desirable ideology for young women. Kick ass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Fabulously original ! An excellent read.

    I got my copy a few days ago and couldn't put it down. It's smart, sassy and shockingly candid. Written in a way that makes you feel as though a friend is speaking directly to you, the book covers a bunch of topics like pop culture, health, reproductive rights, violence, education, relationships, etc. and is really informative but not overly technical. From start to finish, Full Frontal Feminism, is the book I wish I had had growing up. So far, I¿ve bought 4 copies because every time I showed it to someone I didn¿t have the heart to take it back! Read this book, you won¿t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2