Customer Reviews for

Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson Guardian Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 565 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not 'stellar' but it did leave me wanting more...

The underlying story was great, and the characters I really like. The story is enticing & entertaining - bottom line is that I wanted more of the story when the end came - grateful books 2 thru 6 are out already so I don't have to wait! I did think there were times wh...
The underlying story was great, and the characters I really like. The story is enticing & entertaining - bottom line is that I wanted more of the story when the end came - grateful books 2 thru 6 are out already so I don't have to wait! I did think there were times when a little more fluff than needed was provided, but it was reasonable, not ridiculous .....Dean Koontz is king of descriptions on a tangent that leave you dazed & confused. The sex was a bit more explicit than I expected, so NOT RECOMMENDED FOR YOUNG ADULTS - x-rated scene content that goes way beyond romance.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!

I tried very hard to get through these books but I fear I've been defeated. After getting to the third book I just couldn't read another page or even a line. The characters are boring and dull. No one stands out in anyway. One minute Riley is a strong person and then we...
I tried very hard to get through these books but I fear I've been defeated. After getting to the third book I just couldn't read another page or even a line. The characters are boring and dull. No one stands out in anyway. One minute Riley is a strong person and then weak the next. She is very confusing to me. How many times does she have to say "I am a wolf after all" Why does the author feel the need to repeat lines over and over again throughout the books. She constantly uses the same words to describe every action and emotion. It got so annoying. The sex didn't bother me in the least, it was just so boring that I started skipping them half way into the books. There was nothing hot or sexy about it. There was no passion. If you read it at the begining of the book then you aren't missing anything throughout the rest. The format of the book is simple; fighting, sex, and talking! Repeat that for 400 pages and you have the whole book. No romance (just boring sex), no real connection with characters, no thrill moments (just lame fight scenes) and one woman's mind (Riley) that you just don't care enough to read about! I won't be finishing this series at all. It just bores me to tears.

posted by TheTruest on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Not 'stellar' but it did leave me wanting more...

    The underlying story was great, and the characters I really like. The story is enticing & entertaining - bottom line is that I wanted more of the story when the end came - grateful books 2 thru 6 are out already so I don't have to wait! I did think there were times when a little more fluff than needed was provided, but it was reasonable, not ridiculous .....Dean Koontz is king of descriptions on a tangent that leave you dazed & confused. The sex was a bit more explicit than I expected, so NOT RECOMMENDED FOR YOUNG ADULTS - x-rated scene content that goes way beyond romance.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Full Moon Rising

    Wow...when my daughter recommended this book to me I thought...oh no, not another werewolf/vampire story. Seems that is the latest craze on the market and I was not really interested in joining the proverbial crowd of admirers, and I admit, I was a little sceptical. However, I have to say I really enjoyed this book! It was fast paced, the characters were very real, the storyline/plot was interesting and the sex scenes were very very steamy and erotic. Seemed like there was never a dull moment throughout the entire book. Putting this book down when I had to do something else was very difficult and I can't remember the last time a book had that effect on me. I would recommend this book to any "mature" reader but would caution against reading it if you oppose violence or explicit sex scenes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it, it was different.

    Overall I liked this book, although there were things that irritated me. I probably would've actually rated it 3.5 if that was an option. In the beginning, she would bring up other people and you would have no idea as to who they were. I would have preferred some more physical descriptions of the characters. And I get that Riley is 1/2 werewolf, but my gosh, sometimes I just wanted to scream and call her a hooker. If you like paranormal, it may be worth it for you to give it a shot. I think I'll read the second in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    Full Moon Rising

    I get bored easy. I start books but usually don't finish. I've always been interested in werewolves. So one day I went to a B&N store. Someone at the store recommended the Riley Jenson series. She said that it had just a little bit of sex, but it had a very good story line. Well being a guy, I was skeptical. I'm not into romance but I bought it anyway.

    All I can say is that she was right about one thing. Keri Arthur does tell a good story and the books are very well written. The characters are quirky and easily remembered. One thing I would disagree on is the amount of sex. Obviously my definition of a "little bit of sex" is very different from the store clerk. To me it had a lot of sex, not the passionate Romeo and Juliet kind but the in your face x-rated, graphic kind. It took me a little getting used to, but I love the series and would highly recommend them to mature readers who don't mind violence and "a little bit of sex".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting find...

    I found this book very interesting... I love the story plot although the nature of the wolves is a little different. but if you are looking for a sexy thriller this is the one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    one of the best i've ever read

    Full Moon Rising I think that she wrote the book to explore another world. This book is the first of many in a series. This one introduces some of the characters that show up throughout the series. Young adults are her audience because there are some x-rated scenes. Rylie is the main character and she is telling the story of finding her brother, Rhoan and if it was told by any one else, it wouldn¿t make sense. Like when Rylie gets attacked, it¿d be hard to tell it from her Rhoan¿s point of view. She did well with the time because she set it up with a brother and a sister living together, and what a wolf goes through with the full moon. The story isn¿t accurate to real life because there aren¿t really werewolves and vampires. There wasn¿t anything that didn¿t sound believable she made it sound as if this were a true story. I was connected to Rylie the most because she got pushed around a lot. So, I feel like her because she is strong and depends only on herself. Yes, I would say that she was successful because there is now a series. I think she wanted her readers to learn that even though you get betrayed, you still always have someone to lean on. Like when Rylie learns one of her lovers poisoned her to get her pregnant, she had Rhoan. A couple of books and movies that I would compare this to are Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse and Underworld and Underworld: Evolution. Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse are a series about a vampire named Edward who falls in love with a human named Bella and then she befriends a werewolf named Jacob. Underworld and Underworld: Evolution are movies about a vampire warrior who betrayed her coven and fell in love with a hybrid (werewolf and vampire mix.) Full Moon Rising, I think, means that when the full moon rises each month, wolves have this need that burns within them until the moon changes. I think that anyone who likes supernatural worlds and creatures someone who is mature enough to handle the graphic x-rated scenes within the pages, will like this book. Yes, I agreed with the message because women get little or no respect and yet they can be very strong and independent. My favorite line of the whole book is at the end when Rylie says to Rhoan, ¿But a wolf never gives up once the scent of a chase is on.¿ I felt happy about the ending knowing that Rylie is ok. I know that she will be much happier. My final conclusion about it is you don¿t get want to get attached to some characters. Yes, I did get engaged in the book there were some parts where I could not put it down. I was very persuaded to read the series because I¿ve heard good things about it. Two of my friends actually recommended this series to me. It was confusing sometimes because there were so many different creatures that they were difficult to keep apart, but it was very enjoyable. I would give the book 4 ½ stars because the author did a wonderful job of painting different pictures for me. It also kept my attention and interest throughout the whole book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Shapeshifter and the Outback 1st Read by Arthur and this has be

    Shapeshifter and the Outback

    1st Read by Arthur and this has be a bit trying for me. I has many of the things that I just love in a paranormal romance. I just dont have it clicking into place. When and if I chose to move on to book 2 I will certainly have to re-read book 1 in this series. Riley is a piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Hott

    Lots of Action in more ways then one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended! LOVE LOVE LOVE this series!

    I have a collection of books, at least 80 if not more and the riley jenson series TOPS them all! I COULD NOT put these books down! Very x-rated!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to the series

    Really enjoyed this book. Interesting storyline. This book is for teens as well as adults. I am currenty on the 4th book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun series, better than expected!

    I was skeptical at first, not reallly into the shapeshifter/werewolf thing. It's not all about her turning into a werewolf as much as it is about her nature as a wolf, which is quite entertaining! I found that after having read some darker authors, Keri Arthur was quite enjoyable to read. I like Riley Jenson's character and the way she grows throughout the series. I also love the men in her life and some of the assignments she goes out on are pretty interesting! I was only disappointed that series ended so soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I'm gonna love this series!

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. I liked the twists and turns of the plot, it kept things interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Steamy Escape From Reality

    This series of books is packed full of action and great fighting scenes. The undercurrent of sex is strong and the thrill of doing things you aren't supposed to do is laced throughout all of Keri Arthur's books in this series. I found the character development interesting and liked how more and more layers of the people involved unraveled through each book. This series leaves you satisfied and eager to read the next one. Personally I can't wait for a new release to see what happens next. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dark fansty lovers, here it comes!!!

    IF you like exciting plots and puzzles, then this is a good book for you. I had to keep reading just to find out who or what happen. It was a good plot and intersting with twists and turns, with so much sex scenes that I was very impress how it all was wrapped in very well. If you only like one woman and one guy concept, then don't read this book! IT's about a very smart and sexy herion with self doubt written all over her face, but when her beloved only family (her twin brother, who I love) gets in trouble, Riley throws everything out of the window to save him and she does what ever it takes. Which is why I loved this book. It was dangerous, dark and completly addicting. She and her twin has a powerful sercet, however that is why everyone wants them. Plus, I love her driving skills! *hint, she can't drive well*. (lol) Riley has flaws but hey who doesn't, she just knows how to except them and move on. Twisted and Dark with a hint of Danger...I really enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Unique

    Since there are over 100 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. I've never read anything from this author before but since this was a free download from Kindle, I thought what the heck. I'm glad I gave this book a chance because I really enjoyed it. Warning, if you have conservative views on sex and are disturbed by frequent multiple sex partners, I don't recommend you reading this book. While there was an abundance of sexual activity there also was an abundance of violence and action. I honestly don't know how the author managed to fit in tons of hot sex scenes and a good amount of fighting scenes and pull it all together nicely; however she did it, I have to say it worked. This story flowed nicely, had twists and turns and was interesting. Only thing I would've have liked is to experience Riley in wolf form, instead of a quick change from time to time to heal various wounds. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book in this series Kissing Sin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    What a great Read

    I was looking for a good page turner with lots of action for an adult reader. I found what I was looking for with the Riley Jenson series. I just started reading this series a few months ago & it is just as good as the Anita Blake series. I've just ordered book #'s 4,5,6 & 7. If you like Vampires, Werewolves & other creatures thrown into the mix this is a book for you. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    great australian author

    I realy enjoyed this book. I'm a great fan of fantasy books I enjoyed how it was set in Australia as its wher I live I love to support my fellow auzzies. I can see how some people might not get some of the jokes in the book that reflect our sense of humour, culture etc. Overall I would recommend it and I will keep reading the books. Give it a go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If You're Going to Have Feelings, Might as Well

    If you're going to be the only feeling member of your entire race, you might as well make good use of it with an exceptionally hunky alpha male who wears his emotions on his sleeve; I'm just sayin'. This book was definitely yummy, but Arthur doesn't get a five out of me because there was definite predictability. Perhaps, I am to blame, having read hundreds of scifi/fantasy novels, but it was pretty obvious what type of psy she was from the very beginning. The introduction of weres as cats, instead of the standard wolf (though wolves came later), allowed Arthur to explore the sensations that would be felt by someone who was partially feline, and a male someone at that. I can't think of another author who's tried to create a male, feline alpha, but I definitely like it. He was. . .hmmmmm, yeah. Read the book, you'll get it. I can't wait to see where this story goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    EXCITING, ENTERTAINING, AND ALMOST UTTERLY BELIEVABLE

    Australian author Keri Arthur has a gift - the unique ability to mix romance with the supernatural and make it exciting, entertaining, and almost utterly believable. With Full Moon Rising we meet Riley Jensen, a young person headed home, to the apartment she shares with her twin brother, Rhoan. It is a Friday night, after midnight. There is a full moon, the power of which she feels 'shimmering in her veins.' And rightly so, as Keri isn't just any young person, she is a blend of hybrid and werewolf blessed or perhaps cursed with unique senses. The night doesn't feel right to her, it's far too quiet. We hear: 'Of course, curiosity not only killed cats, but it often took out inquisitive werewolves, too. Or, in my case, half weres. And my nose for trouble had caused me more grief over the years than I wanted to remember.' There is even more grief in store for Riley when she discovers that Rhoan is not at home and she is unable to contact him. He works for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization that looks into all things nonhuman. Not only was investigation done, but these so called guardians also determined the fate of their captives. If killing needed to be done it was Rhoan who did it. While Riley also worked for the same organization she was more of a minion, as she said she didn't have the ability to do any research - all she could find was trouble. And there's trouble aplenty when she first meets an extremely bothersome vampire intent on doing her in and then finds herself aroused by the moon heat which fills her with an uncontrollable urge to mate. Actress Tamara Lovatt Smith with a voice suitably Australian, distinct, and self-possessed gives a commendable reading of this story of a Werewolf/Vampire in love and danger. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8