Customer Reviews for

Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson Guardian Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not 'stellar' but it did leave me wanting more...

The underlying story was great, and the characters I really like. The story is enticing & entertaining - bottom line is that I wanted more of the story when the end came - grateful books 2 thru 6 are out already so I don't have to wait! I did think there were times wh...
The underlying story was great, and the characters I really like. The story is enticing & entertaining - bottom line is that I wanted more of the story when the end came - grateful books 2 thru 6 are out already so I don't have to wait! I did think there were times when a little more fluff than needed was provided, but it was reasonable, not ridiculous .....Dean Koontz is king of descriptions on a tangent that leave you dazed & confused. The sex was a bit more explicit than I expected, so NOT RECOMMENDED FOR YOUNG ADULTS - x-rated scene content that goes way beyond romance.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!

I tried very hard to get through these books but I fear I've been defeated. After getting to the third book I just couldn't read another page or even a line. The characters are boring and dull. No one stands out in anyway. One minute Riley is a strong person and then we...
I tried very hard to get through these books but I fear I've been defeated. After getting to the third book I just couldn't read another page or even a line. The characters are boring and dull. No one stands out in anyway. One minute Riley is a strong person and then weak the next. She is very confusing to me. How many times does she have to say "I am a wolf after all" Why does the author feel the need to repeat lines over and over again throughout the books. She constantly uses the same words to describe every action and emotion. It got so annoying. The sex didn't bother me in the least, it was just so boring that I started skipping them half way into the books. There was nothing hot or sexy about it. There was no passion. If you read it at the begining of the book then you aren't missing anything throughout the rest. The format of the book is simple; fighting, sex, and talking! Repeat that for 400 pages and you have the whole book. No romance (just boring sex), no real connection with characters, no thrill moments (just lame fight scenes) and one woman's mind (Riley) that you just don't care enough to read about! I won't be finishing this series at all. It just bores me to tears.

posted by TheTruest on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series Starter

    I was sucked into this series from the moment I started reading it. This story has everything from seduction, romance, temptation, to death, destruction and darkness lurking around every corner. This has become one of my favorite series and have rushed through the remaining books in a little over two weeks. I strongly recommend this to other readers.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    This book blew me away! Extremely well written, Full Moon Rising is a mix of paranormal, romance, and mystery that will have you page turning well into the night! The characters were well developed, and I grew so attached to them that I couldn't bear not knowing what happens next!<BR/>I strongly recommend this book to those of you who love paranormal romances! <BR/><BR/>Also, if you like Keri Arthur, you might also enjoy the "Nightcreature" series by Lori Handeland. Be sure to start with "Blue Moon"!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the series!!! Riley is awesome!!!

    This is a great series I just started reading I am only through the second book and i hooked!!! Its a great series with a strong heroine!! Which you gotta love a girl with some attitude!!! Its got a little of everything thrills, fighting, sex, and romance!!!! Its a great series and i can't wait to see what is to come!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    This book was awesome. It was so engaging that I downloaded it to my e-book and read it all on one raining Saturday. That same day, I downloaded the 2nd book and cant wait to start reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it.

    A friend recommended this book to me. I got the book and then read it in one day. What a great book with a great story line. I loved that she mixed a werewolf with a vampire. It bring a different spin to her characters that make you want to come back for me. There is sex in the book, but it is tastfully done. I am so gald the other books are alreay out so I don't have to wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Keri Arthur is one of the best supernatural romance writers in the world

    Riley and Rhoan are two hybrid siblings, half vampire and half werewolf with the wolf side dominating both of them. They keep their nature secret because the werewolves look down at the rare hybrid. Both work for the Directorate of Other Races, an organization that polices the supernatural and keeps humans safe from the ones that are evil. Reily enjoys sex with different partners because the heat of the moon demands she have sex as the full moon rises or she will be hit with moon madness, a state where she is not in control of her faculties and can commit damage without know she is doing it...................... Although she has two fantastic sex partners, she is aroused when a sexy powerful vampire knocks on her door asking to speak to Rhoan who is out on an assignment. When she senses he is in danger, she with the help of her new vampire friend Quinn rescues her brother from a place that is collecting sperm and eggs from the supernatural community against their will. This ties into the disappearance of several guardians who are part of the Directorate and an illegal cross species clones project to create the perfect soldier. As Riley, Rhoan, their boss and Quinn investigate, attempts are made on their lives and Riley will soon learn the pain of betrayed by those she trusted most........................ Keri Arthur is one of the best supernatural romance writers in the world and the best to come out of Australia. After the audience reads this book, they will want to read her backlist (see imajinnbooks.com) because they are as good as FULL MOON RISING. There is enough romance, action and intrigue to satiate the most discerning reader. Character development is fantastic making readers want to read future books starring Riley, an incredible person who will do what is necessary to keep her loved ones safe. There are several loose threads dangling so readers can be assured of at least one sequel and this reviewer can hardly wait. .............. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The world of Riley Jenson is a different take on the werewolf/va

    The world of Riley Jenson is a different take on the werewolf/vampire culture. Throwing in the other creatures, the mysterous abductions, and romance makes it a good read for me. I love Riley but she does need to tone down a little bit. I know, she's a werewolf, but still. I would recomend the rest in the series. I've read them all but do not own them all. That makes me sad. The other characters continue to develop within the rest of the series. By the end you wish it wasn't over but then again there is the spin off series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing! One of the best series I've ever read! I love a good pa

    Amazing! One of the best series I've ever read! I love a good paranormal series with a love story and this is absolutely that. Has some x-rated parts for those who don't like that this series is not for you. The characters are so love hate all the time that they are so real. The story keeps you enticed the whole time and always wanting something more. Has an amazing complete ending to the story of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Love it

    If u like vampires and werewolves u'll love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    :)

    Great Series - Gets Racey;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Info on Vixen

    Name vixen rank female alpha family tira(dead) flame(dead) Kyle(live) mom(dead) dad(dead). Issues: goes on rages sometimes that cant be controled after her sister died and can have disaturous effects. Describe; when threatend or afraid she will snaral and growl alot. She is a uniqe jetblack wolf with gold on her fur as well. When in company of close friends or pack mates she seems very calm and happy. Has some very bad hisory though. Shes litraly almost as clever and sly as a fox. When it comes to battle or fights, she tries not to unless its a war. Hates rabbits. In war, she sill fight to the death for her pack. Very loyal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Must read it...

    It will take you a moment to sink into the story, but trust me, it gets better and better... I've read the whole series nd you be surprised at the situations Riley runs into. Love Keri's way of spanning the supernatural world in a modern day enivronment. Read them all, you'll be pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great read

    A nice new take on werewolves and vamp together. You will want to read more from the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    So glad I read it!

    Love Riley and all the characters in this series. Have read them all and re-read them all as well....love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Love LOVE LOVE!

    My best friends and I really loved these books. I finished the series in less than a week. They were very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    great start

    love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    A series were you get both action and romance

    This is just the begining. Once I picked up book one I couldn't get book two fast enough. The (Riley Jenson Guardian series) keeps you comming back for more. First you have Riley which is a hybred between a shapeshifting wolf and vampire. It starts off were Riley works in the office at the Directorate of other races,along with her twin brother who is a guardian aka assassin. Her boss wants Riley to become a guardian because of her special abilities. In which she refuses until forced to become one to save the life of someone she loves. Close to the Full Moon because she is wolf she becomes sex cazed. They have no inabitions about sex. Until they find their soul mate she is unable to have kids, even then due to being a hybred they don't know if she will be able to have kids. While searching for her soul mate she falls in love with a vampire who has a problem with the whole full moon sex thing. Causing relationship issues. I wont get into the whole story because I could go on forever since there are currently nine books out. I will leave you with this because her powers and body makeup keeps changing she has no choice but to stay a guardian for the directorship. It's that or become a ginnypig. If you like a book were the heroin kicks butt, along with steamy makeing out. Then this series is for you. Keri Athur's writting is up there with Laurell K Hamilton, and Gena Showalter, and not to forget Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to an exciting series!

    Really good read! Just the right amount of the supernatural element, sex, and action. I've read the next 2 books in this series as well and found them equally entertaining. Good buy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this if you get a chance

    This is the first thing I have read of this author. Friends recommended this series to me and I'm happy they did. Loved the characters.. Riley is a strong woman who knows what she wants and doesn't back down I love that. I have bought the rest of the series and will continue on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16