BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars

Average Rating 2.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great read

An honest and and enlighting read. You will not be sorry you purchased this book.

posted by niffer on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Pedophile propoganda

I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true ...
I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true but what I found truly disturbing were his multiple accounts of being molested as a child and his repeated belief that these encounters were normal. He actually thanks his first abuser farmer Peterson for "revealing a whole new world to me" and believes "he cared for me in a very special way". This after Mr. Peterson fondles him and then masturbates in front of him. Scotty Bowers was seven at the time. How disgusting. There are other accounts of abuse with adult men and these too are recalled fondly and with no remorse or shame. This begs the question: if Mr. Bowers thinks what happened to him as a child was normal, has he engaged in this behavior with children himself as an adult? Please do dont waste your money on this pedophile propoganda disguised as Hollywood dish.

posted by 9056690 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Pedophile propoganda

    I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true but what I found truly disturbing were his multiple accounts of being molested as a child and his repeated belief that these encounters were normal. He actually thanks his first abuser farmer Peterson for "revealing a whole new world to me" and believes "he cared for me in a very special way". This after Mr. Peterson fondles him and then masturbates in front of him. Scotty Bowers was seven at the time. How disgusting. There are other accounts of abuse with adult men and these too are recalled fondly and with no remorse or shame. This begs the question: if Mr. Bowers thinks what happened to him as a child was normal, has he engaged in this behavior with children himself as an adult? Please do dont waste your money on this pedophile propoganda disguised as Hollywood dish.

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Made me feel queasy

    Mr. Bowers' accounts of being molested as a boy and young teen by neighbors, newspaper customers, religious figures and others are truly unsettling. Most of the Hollywood stars he describes as gay, I had already known they were. I had just never heard such explicit details before. Mr. Bowers did do a good job conveying the "aura" of life in 1950s Hollywood. I feel sad for his lost childhhood.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Disgusting and unbelievable.....

    Scotty Bowers lives in a fantasy world where he tries to persuade the reader that all of the facets in this book are believable.........i started reading thinking "wow, this is unbelievable....." and as the story (yes, story) progressed, I realized i was being had!!! Waste of money......ridiculous.......vile..........don't bother!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    SHAME ON YOU!!!

    I was so really excited when I saw the review of this "book" in "People". Ordered it from B&N ASAP! What a complete and total waste of my time and money. This book is not well written. I despised the overused "I had a friend who went by the name of". What atrocious wording. I am certain that there are aspects of the truth in this fairy tale, but there are no real details. This poor "man" remembers all the stars but not the names of the people in his little black book. And while the people he so easily writes of are gone, their family members and fans are still here. I had problems with his story about servicing 15 or so Catholic priests per week when he was a very young boy. I also had trouble believing that a group of hardened men playing poker in some bar backroom would go silent when Scotty walked in because they all adored him so. PLEASE! Anyone can say that they have had sex with the rich and famous. Anyone can write about it. Some have and it caused them some serious repercussions. I am guessing that is why the oh, so noble, Mr. Bowers wrote only of the dead and defenseless. What an ego! What a truly pitiful excuse for a book. Shame on you "People" for stooping so low as to review it. Shame on you, Mr. Bowers for the sham!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Pathetic

    Delusional old man. Read it after seeing feature in People. Waste of money and time. SMUT!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Terrible book. This type of expose has been done before and don

    Terrible book. This type of expose has been done before and done better. The writer must be the most altruistic guy in the world. 40 years of being a pimp (when he wasn't tricking himself) and he never made a dime off of it. How noble!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    If I could give 0 stars, I would...

    Please believe every single word of the the reviews with one star. This is a vile, disgusting work by a delusional old man. Not worth your time or money.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I too could not finish reading this disgusting book. It is a T

    I too could not finish reading this disgusting book. It is a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY and TIME.. I saw this book featured in People Magazine and thought it would be a fun Hollywood gossip read. But instead it was a huge disappointment, disgusting book that glorifies pedophiles. I totally agree with the review "PEDOPHILE PROPGANDA" posted before me. Your review is exactly how I feel. Just wish I would have waited to read the reviews before wasting my money on this piece of trash.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    This is the most disgusting, vile book. It's riddled with acco

    This is the most disgusting, vile book. It's riddled with accounts of child molestation and is nothing short of being pornographic at times. I could not even get through this halfway. If he isn't telling us about molestation as a child (which he seems to think is acceptable), he is spinning ridiculous tales of his sexual encounters as if every man in the world is a pervert or a pedophile. If I could get my money back I would. I may just mail this piece of garbage back to the publisher.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great read

    An honest and and enlighting read. You will not be sorry you purchased this book.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Recommended

    A fantastic read. Well written, and believable.
    About time someone opened up to all those known secrets.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Horrible

    This book is nothing but poorly written scum. I am very sorry I did not heed the advice of the reviewers. Not worth your money or your time, unless you want to read about some dirty old mans sexcapades. I didn't even finish this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    This book was disgusting. Mr. Bowers talks about being molested

    This book was disgusting. Mr. Bowers talks about being molested as a child like it was a walk in the park with "wonderful, kind people." I thought the story would be a link to some old Hollywood gossip - no so. Don't waste your time with this book - it made me uncomfortable to think that he accepted such a horrific childhood as helping him to grow up. I stopped reading by chapter two.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Delicious trash!

    This book is definitely trash.....deliciously lascivious. Totally without merit. No one in it is alive to defend themselves. But isn't it what we all suspected all along? Buy it if you love some good dirt......whether you believe it all or not.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    True or not, still a delightful read.

    While I can't help but doubt the veracity of Bowers's claims, this is a deliciously dirty read, sure to please any connoisseur of smutty gossip. Definitely not for The Midwestern Christian Mothers' Bookclub.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    misterhollywood

    A lot of people are trashing this book. Well anyone that knows these celebrities know that he's telling the truth. Only complaint is i didn't need to know that much about Charles Laughton. I am glad that the Hepburn-Tracy love affair was exposed for what it was.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    I turly feel sorry for Scotty, if he had not been so tied up in

    I turly feel sorry for Scotty, if he had not been so tied up in his own life *tricking* it seems like all of Hollywood, he might have spent a little more time with his daughter before she went to a back door abortionist and got butchered, he probably knew the doctor that done it and could have taken her to a better one that his *tricksters* used. I am like other writers here I only got this because of the People review. Thought this would be a fun lunchtime read instead I found myself wondering how brain washed he was-is to thank his molester, lastly $20.00!!! your doing stars in Hollywood for $20.00???? PLEASE== NOT charging a pimp fee, AGAIN==PLEASE Remember the old saying you can fool all of the people some of the times, and some of the people all of the times........

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Very light weight look on the sex lives of celebrities and movie stars

    This is a fascinating but ultimately very light weight look at the life of Scotty Bowers, pimp and prostitute to the Hollywood stars. He supposedly tells all about the famous movie stars, both men and women that he's ever had sex with. Whether you believe everything you read in this book is up to you. I'd take everything he's written with a grain of salt. I mean, according to Mr. Bowers, Hepburn and Tracy were actually gay and that they contrived this great love affair they supposedly had just to remain relevant and to disguise the fact that they were not straight. Would you believe this? I'm not sure myself. There's alot of anecdotes which would satisfy any reader looking to find out the sex lives of their favorite old time movie stars. As for Scotty Bowers , he portrays himself as basically a simple man with a very healthy sexual appetite who was lucky enough to find himself hobnobbing with the rich and famous. His life other than tricking and hooking is very mundane. He had an affair with a young woman, got her pregnant and then took care of both the woman and their daughter. He suffered some devastating losses in his family but continued on. He remains on good terms with everyone and retired happily with a nice woman he married. One day, I hope someone will write a real biography of Scotty Bowers and tell us what he really is like as a person.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Tragic and Pathetic

    A sad story of a sexually abused boy. I couldn't finish this poorly written, graphic account of a child being viciously used by the adult men in his life. Stories of Hollywood ring false. I read this based on People magazines review. Big mistake.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I'm just sorry I did not read these reviews before. I couldn't

    I'm just sorry I did not read these reviews before. I couldn't finish this trash and deleted from my NOOK. Always go and look at reviews....Pedophile propoganda....exactly.....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6