Customer Reviews for

Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars

Average Rating 2.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great read

An honest and and enlighting read. You will not be sorry you purchased this book.

posted by niffer on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Pedophile propoganda

I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true ...
I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true but what I found truly disturbing were his multiple accounts of being molested as a child and his repeated belief that these encounters were normal. He actually thanks his first abuser farmer Peterson for "revealing a whole new world to me" and believes "he cared for me in a very special way". This after Mr. Peterson fondles him and then masturbates in front of him. Scotty Bowers was seven at the time. How disgusting. There are other accounts of abuse with adult men and these too are recalled fondly and with no remorse or shame. This begs the question: if Mr. Bowers thinks what happened to him as a child was normal, has he engaged in this behavior with children himself as an adult? Please do dont waste your money on this pedophile propoganda disguised as Hollywood dish.

posted by 9056690 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great read

    An honest and and enlighting read. You will not be sorry you purchased this book.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Recommended

    A fantastic read. Well written, and believable.
    About time someone opened up to all those known secrets.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    misterhollywood

    A lot of people are trashing this book. Well anyone that knows these celebrities know that he's telling the truth. Only complaint is i didn't need to know that much about Charles Laughton. I am glad that the Hepburn-Tracy love affair was exposed for what it was.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Gossip, Trash, Dirt, Oh My!

    I found Full Service to be as described on the B&N site. I hadn't read any reviews of the book because I found it referenced in another book I was reading that I also liked. I'm not ashamed to have a long-time interest in gossip. I don't feel guilty for buying this book. I bought it for the "dish" on what went on at that gas station I had heard about. Having lived in Hollywood for 15 years, I can say that the glitter was tarnished long before this book came out. Is all of it true? Well, is all gossip true? I take the book at face value. If any parts of it are slander or untrue, then Scotty would have been sued. I haven't heard of any lawsuits. This is one of the few books I read from cover to cover. The back cover says the book is shocking, so mid-America be warned! To someone who lived in Hollywood for many years, it is not shocking. I think Scotty was honest when he said in the author's notes that the book reflects incidents and personalities as he recalls them. It is good for the other reviewers to warn potential readers of possibly offensive items in the book. But let's face it, this is NOT a book for children and is not meant to be. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Fun easy read...great while sitting ocean side!

    This book isn't anything that I would normaly pick up...but since I was going to sit on the beach and not think about anything I thought it may be a fun read. It was a very easy book to get into and went quickly...those are the kinds of books that I like reading while relaxing. I thought it was interesting that even back in the day people were judged by who they preferred to "hook up" with. I liked the fact that even the rich anf famos are just normal people too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Awesome Book

    You get a look into the forbidden practices of our well known movie stars. Quick and interesting read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Im sad for you!

    All the things that happened to you as a child were horrible. You worked so hard and always helped your momma! And I believe your story 100%. People with lots of money are dangerous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read.

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    My opinion

    I actually have not read this book, BUT I did see the review in People. When I read about the book, it mentioned homosexuality, prostitution, pimping, etc. This book might be horrible, but I will probably buy it because I am just like everyone else who read this book - I am nosy, I want to know about these stars sexual life and about Mr Bowers's life. I am offended that the people who read this book act as though they are "shocked, appalled, etc" at the contents. The contents were explained in the People profile, Mr Bowers also stated he would not tell about this while people were alive. All the readers are saying is that the stars can't defend themselves and this book hurts there family. Give me a break - you didn' t care about that when you got it, you just wanted the smut! Read it or don't, but stop acting sooooo hypocritical and innocent. The child abuse is horrible and I don't condone any of that, but these readers need to get off their soap boxes. I'll buy it anyway and like it or not, but I won't pretend it was just going to be a fun read, it's a book about people's personal lives and I am nosy and want to read about it. Now I will get off of MY soapbox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1