Customer Reviews for

The Full Spectrum: A New Generation of Writing about Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Other Identities

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Full Spectrum

    So what happens when you gather up a group of young, gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered and other label-full or label-free writers and ask them to share a real life experience to be published in a book? ANSWER: The Full Spectrum. A collection of non-fiction stories that can be found in the fiction section of your favorite library or bookstore. Why the fiction section you ask? Fiction sells. Anthologies come and go, come and go, usually unnoticed and dammit!- we don¿t want this book to just `go¿. We need its readers to find it first. This book is out there so that you realize, finally realize, that you¿re not alone. Oh sure, your closet¿s cramped, there¿s no leg room in that 4X4 box that only fits you and your fears but...the book is small. Structured perfectly to fit the hands of anyone who wants to let a little laughter, a little heartache, a little hope and reality into their life. The writers...yes, we¿re young. Teenagers and random 20-somethin¿ year olds, but our stories(experiences) are ageless. So, look for the heartbreakingly beautiful book chock-full `o non-fiction in the fiction section of any store that sells books. We wanted to share a little piece of ourselves with you and hope you'll get something from it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    =) it was good.

    this book was very interesting it made me realize that im not the only one out there with like big issues about being half gay. it really helped me come out a liitle bit more and be happy for who i am and not be ashamed. you should totaly read this book even if your not gay its good to learn new stuff about people's lifes.<BR/><BR/><BR/>-michelle.lynn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    GAY PEOPLE SUUUCCCKKKK!!!!

    GAY GUYS ARE DISGUSTING AND SO ARE GAY GIRLS AND SO ARE BISEXUAL PEOPLE! THATS A SIN AND NOT NORMAL AND GROSS!!!! >:P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Love it

    Helped me alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Be my friend at krystal.ruff11@gmail.com

    Add me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    ...

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Important and compelling true stories

    The pieces in this anthology tackle a myriad of topics: coming out, religion, first love, unaccepting parents/peers, religion, supportive parents/peers, the Boy Scouts, the military, religion(!); in a variety of settings: high school, New Your City, college, junior high, Egypt. They are written by young people who fall under the umbrella term "queer," but identify as gay, bi, trans, lesbian, gender-variant, and more. Some of the pieces are positive and affirming, some speak of overcoming unbearable hardship and hate, some end as hopeless as they began. All of them are important and valid, just like the young people who wrote them.

    As a collection, The Full Spectrum is ambitious. It strives to present a multitude of experiences and identities, and it does. The mix of guys and girls, trans or not, is great. The mix of topics is also expansive, and given how much religion is mentioned, the mix of opinions on it is also widely variant. Also the mix of poetry, prose, letters, and diary entries was great. I never felt bogged down in too much angsty poetry or journal writing; all was in balance. This mix of writing styles will, hopefully, make this book accessible and attractive to readers of all stripes.

    My main problem was with the editing. Some of these pieces are beautiful bits of polished writing. Some of them are not. I imagine this has a lot to do with the state they were in when they were submitted. Many of these pieces were written by young people about the most traumatic periods of their lives! Everything is in their writing and everything is raw. Everything. It is completely understandable that some of them lack polish. These pieces could have used the guidance of a good editor, and it is a shame that they didn't get it. That said, these stories are compelling, each and every one. If I, an almost-30-year-old, engaged, queer woman had such a strong reaction to this book, I cannot even begin to imagine how much solace and revelation this book could provide for someone still going through the experiences described there in. I saw myself in these stories. I saw my friends. Everyone deserves to be able to see themselves in stories like these too.


    Book source: I bought it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    It was only a few weeks ago that I read AM I BLUE?: COMING OUT OF THE SILENCE edited by Marion Dane Bauer. That book is filled with fictional stories dealing with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues, and is a book I highly recommend. I was very happy to see THE FULL SPECTRUM, edited by the talented authors David Levithan and Billy Merrell, hit the shelves. THE FULL SPECTRUM is not fiction. It's filled with many, many stories--some long, some very short--that are mini-memoirs of the individual author. This book covers all of the ups and downs, the sadness and joy, of being homosexual, transgender, questioning, or bisexual.<BR/><BR/>There are so many great personal stories in this book that I'm unable to choose a favorite. Instead, I'm going to list every entry that is included, for the simple fact that these authors, these very real individuals speaking from personal experience, deserve a round of applause for bringing these issues to the awareness of each and every one of us.<BR/><BR/>O.K. by Courtney Gillette<BR/>A GAY GRAMMAR by Gabe Bloomfield<BR/>IT'S NOT CONFIDENTIAL, I'VE GOT POTENTIAL by Eugenides Fico<BR/>SNOW AND HOT ASPHALT by Benjamin Zumsteg<BR/>WHEN YOU'RE A GAY BOY IN AMERICA by Danny Zaccagnino<BR/>I SMELL THE GAS OF MY FATHER'S FISHING BOAT by Adam K. Boehmer<BR/>FOURTH OF JULY by Lauren Rile Smith<BR/>MY DIARY: DOCUMENTED. DONE. by L. Canale<BR/>CRYING WOLFE by Jack Lienke<BR/>TRANS-VENTURES OF AN F2M by Alexzander Colin Rasmussen<BR/>QUEER: FIVE LETTERS by Kat Wilson<BR/>FALLING OFF MY BIKE AND RIDING INTO THE SUNSET by Christopher Wilcox<BR/>THE NIGHT MARC HALL WENT TO THE PROM by J. J. Deogracias<BR/>DON'T TELL ME THAT I'M OVERLY SENSITIVE AND PARANOID by Alex Weissman<BR/>MY POEMS by Isaac Oliver<BR/>SACAGAWEA by Laura Heston<BR/>A FAIRY'S TALE by Travis Stanton<BR/>A BOY IN THE GIRLS' BATHROOM by Dylan Forest<BR/>OUR SPACE by Jovencio de la Paz<BR/>FOUR PHOTOS by Justin Levesque<BR/>BREAK-UP IN SLOW MOTION by Joshua Dalton<BR/>A STORY CALLED "HER" by Alison Young<BR/>MOMENT: THIS COULD'VE BEEN ME by Evin Hunter<BR/>A QUIETLY QUEER REVOLUTION by Laci Lee Adams<BR/>HATCHBACK by Kaitlyn Tierney Duggan<BR/>WALKING THE TRACKS by Eric Knudsen<BR/>THE MOST IMPORTANT LETTER OF OUR LIFE by JoSelle Vanderhooft<BR/>WITHOUT A TRACE by Anthony Rella<BR/>BODY ISN'T THIS by Zara Iris<BR/>NICE ASS by Jesse Cameron Alick<BR/>"GIRL + FAGGOTS" by Caspian Gray<BR/>SOMETHING FOR THE LADIES by Danny Thanh<BR/>CLICK AND DRAG by Joel de Vera Moncada<BR/>JILL SOBULE AND FOUR OTHER TORTURE DEVICES by Ella Pye<BR/>GAYDAR by Jesse Bernstein<BR/>THE SHORT VERSION by Grover Wehman<BR/>ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE by Stefanie Davis<BR/>THAT NIGHT by Matthew Mayo<BR/>CONTINUATION OF THE LIFE by Tyrell Pough<BR/>THREE SUNSETS by Robert Brittain<BR/><BR/>The truly wonderful thing about this book isn't just that it deals with issues that many people still feel are taboo, but the fact that they raise awareness in everyone who reads it that being different doesn't really mean being different. Whether you're heterosexual or homosexual, male or female or transgender, clear in your sexuality or questioning, there are things that everyone can learn from reading the stories included in THE FULL SPECTRUM. Add to that fact that part of the proceeds of the sale of the book are being donated to the Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN), and you have one more reason to pick up a copy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    a reviewer

    It was only a few weeks ago that I read AM I BLUE?: COMING OUT OF THE SILENCE edited by Marion Dane Bauer. That book is filled with fictional stories dealing with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues, and is a book I highly recommend. I was very happy to see THE FULL SPECTRUM, edited by the talented authors David Levithan and Billy Merrell, hit the shelves. THE FULL SPECTRUM is not fiction. It's filled with many, many stories--some long, some very short--that are mini-memoirs of the individual author. This book covers all of the ups and downs, the sadness and joy, of being homosexual, transgender, questioning, or bisexual. There are so many great personal stories in this book that I'm unable to choose a favorite. Instead, I'm going to list every entry that is included, for the simple fact that these authors, these very real individuals speaking from personal experience, deserve a round of applause for bringing these issues to the awareness of each and every one of us. O.K. by Courtney Gillette A GAY GRAMMAR by Gabe Bloomfield IT'S NOT CONFIDENTIAL, I'VE GOT POTENTIAL by Eugenides Fico SNOW AND HOT ASPHALT by Benjamin Zumsteg WHEN YOU'RE A GAY BOY IN AMERICA by Danny Zaccagnino I SMELL THE GAS OF MY FATHER'S FISHING BOAT by Adam K. Boehmer FOURTH OF JULY by Lauren Rile Smith MY DIARY: DOCUMENTED. DONE. by L. Canale CRYING WOLFE by Jack Lienke TRANS-VENTURES OF AN F2M by Alexzander Colin Rasmussen QUEER: FIVE LETTERS by Kat Wilson FALLING OFF MY BIKE AND RIDING INTO THE SUNSET by Christopher Wilcox THE NIGHT MARC HALL WENT TO THE PROM by J. J. Deogracias DON'T TELL ME THAT I'M OVERLY SENSITIVE AND PARANOID by Alex Weissman MY POEMS by Isaac Oliver SACAGAWEA by Laura Heston A FAIRY'S TALE by Travis Stanton A BOY IN THE GIRLS' BATHROOM by Dylan Forest OUR SPACE by Jovencio de la Paz FOUR PHOTOS by Justin Levesque BREAK-UP IN SLOW MOTION by Joshua Dalton A STORY CALLED 'HER' by Alison Young MOMENT: THIS COULD'VE BEEN ME by Evin Hunter A QUIETLY QUEER REVOLUTION by Laci Lee Adams HATCHBACK by Kaitlyn Tierney Duggan WALKING THE TRACKS by Eric Knudsen THE MOST IMPORTANT LETTER OF OUR LIFE by JoSelle Vanderhooft WITHOUT A TRACE by Anthony Rella BODY ISN'T THIS by Zara Iris NICE ASS by Jesse Cameron Alick 'GIRL + FAGGOTS' by Caspian Gray SOMETHING FOR THE LADIES by Danny Thanh CLICK AND DRAG by Joel de Vera Moncada JILL SOBULE AND FOUR OTHER TORTURE DEVICES by Ella Pye GAYDAR by Jesse Bernstein THE SHORT VERSION by Grover Wehman ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE by Stefanie Davis THAT NIGHT by Matthew Mayo CONTINUATION OF THE LIFE by Tyrell Pough THREE SUNSETS by Robert Brittain The truly wonderful thing about this book isn't just that it deals with issues that many people still feel are taboo, but the fact that they raise awareness in everyone who reads it that being different doesn't really mean being different. Whether you're heterosexual or homosexual, male or female or transgender, clear in your sexuality or questioning, there are things that everyone can learn from reading the stories included in THE FULL SPECTRUM. Add to that fact that part of the proceeds of the sale of the book are being donated to the Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN), and you have one more reason to pick up a copy. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1