Customer Reviews for

Funny in Farsi: A Memoir of Growing up Iranian in America

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Wonderful stories

    A wonderful collection of family stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Loved it

    I learned a lot and laughed often

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Please read this review!!!! :D

    Im a 13 year old Iranian girl and I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Coming from an Iranian background, I understand what it's like for Firoozeh. Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Hilarious account of Iranian immigrant experience

    Well written ...Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    This book had me laughing out loud. The stories made wish I had

    This book had me laughing out loud. The stories made wish I had a big close family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Excelleen Excellent

    As a child of lithuanian immigrants i idenrified. And laughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Good book

    I had to read this book for my summer reading and i really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely outstanding, recommend to anyone able to read.

    "Funny in Farsi" and "Laughing without accent" can be described as collections of short stories by a young Iranian immigrant girl adjusting to the life in California toghether with her family ( in the same way as Mt. Everest can be described as "rather tall pile of dirt and rocks to the north of Indian peninsula"). Firouzeh Dumas's stories are delightlfully light, witty, wise , informative and thought provoking on all pretty much everything : love, family, America, interaction of human cultures, politics, children, Iran, and the rest of our world. Jerome K. Jerome and Mark Twain readily come to mind. I hear it has become a part of curriculum in many schools - great idea, to include pleasant to read AND useful for anyone living in America ( and probably for many who don't). I rate books as "Buy and Keep" (B&K), "Read a Library Copy" ( RLC) and "Once-I-Put-It-Down-I-Couldn't-Pick-It-Up" ("OIPD-ICPU ). Firoozeh Dumas'books are "B&K&Buy a Few More Copies For Xmas Present, Too".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Loved it!!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Not So Funny But a Decent Memoir Nevertheless

    It's not so much funny as it is interesting to learn a different culture through the stories of Firoozeh Dumas. While the experience might have seemed unique to the author, her struggles as an immigrant are not so unique. On the other hand, it does give a little insight into her culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Funny, yet motivating

    Stimulating, I could definately relate to her stories. I too am Iranian, grew up in USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Suprisingly Good

    I got this book at my college orientation. It was the first book that my school had for its 'one book' program. I usually don't read memoirs about people immigrating to America, it never has been an interesting subject. But Funny In Farsi was excellent. Dumas really paints a beautiful picture of her memory of growing up. However she is somewhat pessimistic at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Funny in Farsi

    In Funny in Farsi, Dumas does a good job at balancing American culture and her native culture, Iranian. She allows the readers to experience her life growing up as she is introduced to this new culture and customs. The readers are able to see a comical side to her as well. She makes these collections of stories and essays about her family informative and fun. We are able to learn about the Iranian culture in an enjoyable way. She writes in a unique style that is different and interesting and captures the attention of most readers. This story is entertaining yet respectful to her culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    I recommend if you...

    After reading 'Funny in Farsi', I found that I appreciated her book more than I initially thought I would. At first, I didn't think I would be able to relate to Firoozeh's sotries and reminiscing but I found that the eccentricity of my family matched perfectly with hers. This was a large contributor to the reason why I liked her book. I also enjoyed the light humor in the novel. There are times when I needed some comic relief and 'Funny in Farsi' was a great escape. One of my favorite portions of the book was the chapter 'America, Land of the Free'. This was an amazing relation to my family in the fact that her family is a bunch of 'penny pinchers' and the way they get the most for their money.. My mom would always say at restaurants when we don't eat all of our food, 'Save it and you can make a sandwich out of it.' She doesn't say that much anymore but we constantly bring it up when we don't eat all of our food. Its things like these that make a great book and story and Dumas does just that. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes a humorous novel while being able to relate to it in some way, shape, or form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    More Farsi than funny

    Funny in Farsi by Firoozeh Dumas is a great way to learn about the Iranian culture and customs indirectly. The story time atmosphere that Dumas brings in her book can show a side of Iranians that many Americans aren¿t used to. Her stories are quite funny at times, but even with this amusement I find it very easy to get bored with the book. There is a loss of central focus and I see no purpose to her writings other than to inform you that not all Iranians want to do harm to Americans. In short, if you are looking for a book that would bend you over laughing this is not the book for you, but if you want to read a journal of an interesting Iranian then this however is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Funny in Farsi

    Funny in Farsi is a book full of wittienss, humor adn cultural differences. The light hearted tone of the book combined with the upbeat tempo of Dumas writing style, created a wonderful, heartfelt memoir. The issues that Dumas addresses in this book are real problems that Iranian's deal with today. This book was a great book and showed the culture of Iranians and how Americans treat immigrants. Funny in farci is an overall good book with many great messages in every chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Funny in Farsi not so funny

    Funny in Farsi by Firoozeh Dumas is about an Iranian family that moves to America. I thought the book was funny in the beginning but as the book wore on, the funniness wore out. After the first third of the book, it felt as though the author was just rambling on, one story after another. Also, the book was hard to follow. One minute Dumas was talking about when she was seven and the next paragraph she was married. It got confusing. The book did have funny parts and it was interesting to see how an Iranian family percieved American culture. In the end, Funny in Farsi had some funny parts but not enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Funny in Farsi

    The book Funny In Farsi, written by Firoozeh Dumas, is a well written book with a small touch of humor to it. There are many short unique stories that are creatively put together to make a fun and interesting book. Although it wasn¿t as funny as I had originally thought it would be, it proved to be very educational. It is very informative about the Iranian culture. It shows how an Iranian girl would feel growing up in American society and it is shown in a fun and interesting way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Funny and Confusing

    Funny in Farsi is a memoir filled with short, entertaining essays from the life of Firoozeh Dumas. The essays prove true to their title as it is funny at times, but also confusing. Multiple times I found myself getting lost as Dumas writes about a story from her childhood then switches over to another topic regarding her engagement or another event many years later. Halfway through the book, I started to get bored and felt as if Dumas was just rambling about nothing relevant. Many say they can relate to Dumas¿ stories, but I find that untrue unless you are an immigrant or have traveled to another country. I would recommend Funny in Farsi for an older audience as the humor and stories are better fit for them than they are for a younger audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    A Decent Read

    Funny in Farsi is a decent read with humorous short stories and charming details of te life of an Iranian immigrant living in the United States. Firoozeh Dumas creates a clever set of essays and pulls them together to form a complete memoir. The book was mildly funny to start, but I found that as it progressed, it became less comical. Also, the book describes Firoozeh's personal experiences and opinions, from Iranian Stereotypes to swimming. Funny in farsi is sometimes hard to follow due to Firoozeh's tendency to 'skip around 'she sometimes went from being very young, to having a husband and children, this could confuse some. Dumas' memoir did inform me of some Iranian culture such as the closeness of family, Iranian food and Nowruz. Lastly, Funny in Farsi is well written. The book was witty, informative and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4