Customer Reviews for

Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Docked for Sexual Content

What if everyone in your world had magical abilities except you? In Alera, where even lighting a lamp requires magic, Tavi is in just such a situation. When the realm falls under attack he has only his mind to help save himself, his family, and the whole of Alera.

F...
What if everyone in your world had magical abilities except you? In Alera, where even lighting a lamp requires magic, Tavi is in just such a situation. When the realm falls under attack he has only his mind to help save himself, his family, and the whole of Alera.

Furies of Calderon follows several characters through the web of conflict that threatens their lives. Overall the story is engaging and enjoyable, but can seem slow and overwhelming at the beginning due to the complexity of the world and situations you are thrown into. There are graphic violence scenes as well as some sexual content. While the sexual scenes are few and not significant to the story, they tend to focus on the characters feelings of "hot need."

As far as a romping good tale goes, I would highly recommend this book, if you can get through the overwhelming nature of the first quarter. However, I have to dock it for sexual content that I do not feel adds positively to the characters, romance, or plot. It is entirely possible to do good clean romance without going beyond something I would feel comfortable with my son reading. I believe it would be possible to black out the sexual content of this book without marring the story.

posted by ssbookreviews on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Witless

In the past 25+ years of buying and reading all sorts of genre, I have only left two books unfinished: this was the second. I made it to page 296 before putting it down in dusgust. The storyline is disorganized, the characters are either cliche or witless, and the plo...
In the past 25+ years of buying and reading all sorts of genre, I have only left two books unfinished: this was the second. I made it to page 296 before putting it down in dusgust. The storyline is disorganized, the characters are either cliche or witless, and the plot-movers are ill-disguised with little reason for their happenstance. The storyline has a boy with an unknown mysterious past, a wannabe spy who's supposed to have incredible talent but makes mistake after common-sense mistake, a spymaster who has switched sides in an upcoming rebellion, and a patina of Roman Empire with all the purported backstabbing that entity had. The characters are pitiful. On the 'bad' guys, you have the following: The expert and cynical spymaster who thinks the change of rebellion cannot be stopped so he switches sides (a character development that would have been better played out over half the book, rather than in just the first chapter). The unbeatable swordsman, who has little passion except for his kinky affair with a 'witch', but kills because he's so good at it. The 'High Lord' leading the rebellion, who has lots of power but wants to be 'First Lord' just because he wants more power. On the 'good' side, you have the following: the boy with no parents who has a mysterious past, can't think much beyond the moment, and is just starting to turn his mind to mush over girls. The godfather figure of his uncle, who is supposed to be experienced, learned, and somewhat wise but who makes mistake after mistake and acts indecisively. The 'loyal' spy who's supposed to be a hot-shot rookie with loads of talent, but who can't take a step without being two steps behind the 'bad' guys. The only way the plot moves is through improbable results of stupid actions. Too many occur in the first 296 pages alone to list. Let's just say that too frequently does 'fate' step in to keep the characters alive after stupidity struck, and too frequently 'fate' conveniently (blatantly) steps in to make a situation even more stupidly convoluted just so that same 'fate' can later untangle it all. In other words, it's not the action or reasoning of the characters that cause things to happen (or not to happen), it pretty much happens just to be happening. I like Butcher's Dresden series, they're not great but they're okay - readable and enjoyable. I thought this would be written well enough to invest in....it's not. Don't waste the money on it if you have any wish for a read better than that intended for young teenagers.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 465 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Buy it

    Great start for a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great Series

    Wonderful Series, youbwoll loose yourself in these page turners for days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    good series

    I am currently on book 5 of this 6 book series and so far the action hasn't stopped. Great series but you must read them in order. Totally different than J. Butcher's other series. CMT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Great imagination!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Favorite sci fi series

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    very good reading

    love Jim Butcher books keeps you reading to find out whats happening next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Must Read

    An excellent series...loved them all. Hopefully he continues it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Creative and highly entertaining

    I'd heard a lot of good things about the Codex Alera books, so I had pretty high expectations. I wasn't disappointed.

    For one thing, the setting is pretty cool. There's enough worldbuilding to make it memorable, and I found myself interested in the way things worked. The storyline is fairly original, and the writing is excellent. It's one of those things where it throws you into the story without much explanation. Fortunately, it doesn't take very long to illustrate what's going on. The characters are likeable and entertaining for the most part.

    This was a fun and exciting read, and I'll definitely be continuing the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Fans of fantasy, rejoice! Enter Alera, where the elements not o

    Fans of fantasy, rejoice! Enter Alera, where the elements not only come alive, they kick butt! The citizens all have the ability to harness elemental power as if it were a natural extension of their limbs. Well, all the citizens but one. Tavi of Calderon has no such furycrafting ability, and has to rely solely on himself when he finds himself in trouble. Sadly, he finds himself in trouble as if it were his permanent address.
    Butcher has created an incredible world with exquisite detail and a lot of heart. Fans looking for a thrilling series with some of the best paced action storylines ever are in for a treat. However, this book is in the grown up section. The characters are adults, and not all moral compasses point north. There are moments graphic in nature, but if as a reader that is acceptable, this series is a treasure that will be read and reread for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    The story is great and the characters are likeable. Not digging

    The story is great and the characters are likeable. Not digging the writer's style, though, but the story's strong enough for me to overlook the questionable writing and finish the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Love love looooved this series

    Sometimes it's nice to read a story where everyone isn't miserable and your fav characters don't die tragically.... I love those series's too... But the codex alera was like a breath of fresh air. Great build up of characters and relationships and the whole story was just a fun read. Each book was great and I read the whole series in a couple weeks? Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    An New Universe - Brilliant Butcher

    I love this series and my favorite is the one that introduces Calderon. Butcher has created a highly inventive universe. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Coming off Dresden - aver very good read!

    A very good start to a potentially great series. Action packed with good characters interesting situations with unique capabilities. Somewhat like super heroes at the "everyman" level. Read it you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was an amazing read. It's ensnaring plot and irresistable characters brought this story to life. I have read this entire series, and Jim Butcher did an amazing job with intelligent answers and solutions. I will never know how he came up with all of it. Anyone who wants an intelligent and crazy-like absolutely awesome- book should read this. It starts out strong and only gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Excellent Series

    I am a late comer to reading these 'newer' fantasy genre. My adult son put me onto reading Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files which I love, and from there I had to see what the Codex Alera Series was about. Butcher can wonderfully spin a tale, and even if you are not a fan of this genre, as I was not, you'll enjoy the intrigue, suspense, humor and character development expertly written in these books. I wish there were more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THIS SERIES

    My title says it all. Luckily, I discovered this series when book five had just come out in paperback. I started with book one and read all the way through book five in about a week and a half. Luckily, the hardback of #6 came out in hardback a week later, and I snapped it up. (And I don't like buying hardcover books!) It's definitely a series I'll be rereading every few years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Superb!

    An amazing series filled with amazing characters and a great plot!! You will not be disappointed if you read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Excellent start to a series

    I'm not sure what the reviewer below is talking about. There's not a single sex scene in this book. There's talk of rape happening, but it's mentioned in two lines or less. Hardly a sex scene.

    This book is amazing. By the second page I was already hugging the book in a worried panic for the characters who were in danger. It's definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    favorite series in a log time

    worth reading the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jim Butcher is a writing god.

    Be patient with the first 3rd of "Furies of Calderon". It takes a little time for Butcher to lay the foundations of his amazing world, but it is definitely worth the read. Butcher's characters are heroic, flawed, conflicted, and utterly believable. You can't help but love and hate them, even at the same time. The fury-based magic system is one of the most original I've seen. Great care is also given to local politics as well as that between the various races across Alera. Butcher pays the same attention to individual combat as he does to large campaigns. Fight scenes and battles are easy to follow and vividly painted. The most amazing thing about this series is that, unlike others, each book is actually better than the previous novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 465 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24