Customer Reviews for

Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(301)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Docked for Sexual Content

What if everyone in your world had magical abilities except you? In Alera, where even lighting a lamp requires magic, Tavi is in just such a situation. When the realm falls under attack he has only his mind to help save himself, his family, and the whole of Alera.

F...
What if everyone in your world had magical abilities except you? In Alera, where even lighting a lamp requires magic, Tavi is in just such a situation. When the realm falls under attack he has only his mind to help save himself, his family, and the whole of Alera.

Furies of Calderon follows several characters through the web of conflict that threatens their lives. Overall the story is engaging and enjoyable, but can seem slow and overwhelming at the beginning due to the complexity of the world and situations you are thrown into. There are graphic violence scenes as well as some sexual content. While the sexual scenes are few and not significant to the story, they tend to focus on the characters feelings of "hot need."

As far as a romping good tale goes, I would highly recommend this book, if you can get through the overwhelming nature of the first quarter. However, I have to dock it for sexual content that I do not feel adds positively to the characters, romance, or plot. It is entirely possible to do good clean romance without going beyond something I would feel comfortable with my son reading. I believe it would be possible to black out the sexual content of this book without marring the story.

posted by ssbookreviews on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Witless

In the past 25+ years of buying and reading all sorts of genre, I have only left two books unfinished: this was the second. I made it to page 296 before putting it down in dusgust. The storyline is disorganized, the characters are either cliche or witless, and the plo...
In the past 25+ years of buying and reading all sorts of genre, I have only left two books unfinished: this was the second. I made it to page 296 before putting it down in dusgust. The storyline is disorganized, the characters are either cliche or witless, and the plot-movers are ill-disguised with little reason for their happenstance. The storyline has a boy with an unknown mysterious past, a wannabe spy who's supposed to have incredible talent but makes mistake after common-sense mistake, a spymaster who has switched sides in an upcoming rebellion, and a patina of Roman Empire with all the purported backstabbing that entity had. The characters are pitiful. On the 'bad' guys, you have the following: The expert and cynical spymaster who thinks the change of rebellion cannot be stopped so he switches sides (a character development that would have been better played out over half the book, rather than in just the first chapter). The unbeatable swordsman, who has little passion except for his kinky affair with a 'witch', but kills because he's so good at it. The 'High Lord' leading the rebellion, who has lots of power but wants to be 'First Lord' just because he wants more power. On the 'good' side, you have the following: the boy with no parents who has a mysterious past, can't think much beyond the moment, and is just starting to turn his mind to mush over girls. The godfather figure of his uncle, who is supposed to be experienced, learned, and somewhat wise but who makes mistake after mistake and acts indecisively. The 'loyal' spy who's supposed to be a hot-shot rookie with loads of talent, but who can't take a step without being two steps behind the 'bad' guys. The only way the plot moves is through improbable results of stupid actions. Too many occur in the first 296 pages alone to list. Let's just say that too frequently does 'fate' step in to keep the characters alive after stupidity struck, and too frequently 'fate' conveniently (blatantly) steps in to make a situation even more stupidly convoluted just so that same 'fate' can later untangle it all. In other words, it's not the action or reasoning of the characters that cause things to happen (or not to happen), it pretty much happens just to be happening. I like Butcher's Dresden series, they're not great but they're okay - readable and enjoyable. I thought this would be written well enough to invest in....it's not. Don't waste the money on it if you have any wish for a read better than that intended for young teenagers.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 464 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Docked for Sexual Content

    What if everyone in your world had magical abilities except you? In Alera, where even lighting a lamp requires magic, Tavi is in just such a situation. When the realm falls under attack he has only his mind to help save himself, his family, and the whole of Alera.

    Furies of Calderon follows several characters through the web of conflict that threatens their lives. Overall the story is engaging and enjoyable, but can seem slow and overwhelming at the beginning due to the complexity of the world and situations you are thrown into. There are graphic violence scenes as well as some sexual content. While the sexual scenes are few and not significant to the story, they tend to focus on the characters feelings of "hot need."

    As far as a romping good tale goes, I would highly recommend this book, if you can get through the overwhelming nature of the first quarter. However, I have to dock it for sexual content that I do not feel adds positively to the characters, romance, or plot. It is entirely possible to do good clean romance without going beyond something I would feel comfortable with my son reading. I believe it would be possible to black out the sexual content of this book without marring the story.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Excellent start to an excellent series

    I enjoy Butcher's Dresden Files series. However, to my mind the Codex Alera series is as different from Dresden as Tolkien's Lord of the Rings is from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The Dresden files are written in the first person and set in the more-or-less real world. The Alera books, however, are third person point of view and switch between characters periodically. Also, the books are set in a fantasy world (Carna) with a Roman-influenced human empire surrounded by other, non-human races. There are fewer funny lines than in the Dresden Files books, but this book builds an entire world with an interesting and original magic system. I read all 440 pages of this in roughly 24 hours - I started it before work, and wound up reading it during breaks and late into the night after work. I actually liked this better than the Dreden Files because of the shifting viewpoint and the original world-building in it. Although this is the beginning of a series, Butcher doesn't leave the storyline of this book unresolved. Instead, the further books in the series pick up new and different threads using the foundation laid here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Could be a great series

    This first book in the Codex series is more of a historical book than an action packed sci-fi adventure. If you are new to reading a series take into consideration that you have to explain all the main characters and learn what this new world is and what is good and bad in it. I would strongly suggest reading the first 2 books in a series to see if you really do like it. You may end up saving yourself a lot of money by not buying them all or realize it is great and become a huge fan of the author and series. To me the book starts off a bit slow. The first half is about learning what the furies are, how they are used in society, who the key characters are, and their background drama. Once you hit the midway mark the action picks up. You get involved in the book. The hero in the book Tavi is a great character. He has strong morals, is very intelligent, clever, and an endearing young man. As the book builds momentum I found myself rooting for our hero big time. I look forward to the next book in the series to see how well the authors story continues and sets up for a long series. This was my first Jim Butcher book and I gave it a four star rating due to a very strong and happy ending. The great thing about this is it is not along the lines of Terry Goodkind or Robert Jordan or Tolkien which is great for a change. No wizards, mord sith, elf's, or sorceresses which of course abound in this genre. So I found it very refreshing to have a new world, with new magic's, and less wickedness. Jim seems to be pretty good at creating something unique and new to me. I recommend reading it if you are new or old to sci-fi fantasy. I enjoyed the adventure and can't wait to pick up the next one in the series. Happy reading all.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Rollicking good read

    I was afraid to read this book as in my experience when an author branches off and tries to invent a new set of characters too many parallels can be drawn between books and it becomes a same old same old. I was very pleased that Mr Butcher brought new characters out of the bag and i really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next two. The only parallels i can draw between Codex Alera and Dresden Files is full of action, well developed characters and cant put it down! Not Witless at all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Enthralling New Fantasy

    I haven't read anything else this author has written, but I must say his Codex Alera trilogy hooked me from the start. He has a nice, quick style and his characters are very well drawn. Most especially, he has a nice Roman flavoring and a new magic system in this world that I find refreshing and not like the usual fantasy novels people have been turning out these days. The only flaw I found in an otherwise wonderful book was how the villians seem to get killed and then brought back from the dead too easily. But then, so do the heroes, and since it is the start of a trilogy, I guess that's okay. You don't want to kill off too many major characters too quickly. A very promising book, I look forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Top Recommendation - A MUST Read!

    I don't often read fantasy fiction, I'm more mainstream. But I love a good story that is well told. My son recommended this (along with his girlfriend) so I thought I'd try it as a change of pace. Butcher's prose is tight and engrossing. I could go on, but I realized two things. A great book is one that you begin to read, turn the page and realize an hour has gone past, your 50+ pages into the book it seems you just sat down a minute ago. Second, I want to get started reading the Second book of the series. This one kept me awake long after my normal bedtime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    The first 2 chapters were a bit confusing, it took me some time

    The first 2 chapters were a bit confusing, it took me some time to understand the language of the fantasy world the author created. Once everything became clear I could not put the book down. I am now on the 3rd book of this series and intend to read them all. Each one is better than the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    Good Alternative to modern fantasy

    I got this book a year ago. It took me a while to get around to reading it. Once I did start reading it, it became a very interesting story.
    The "Furies of Calderon" follows several characters through a plot against the empire. The most interesting part of this whole story is the premises that people have these furies, or spiritual pals, that follow them around through life. As the person gets older their ability to work with their furry gets stronger.
    There are furies for all different aspects of life. I can see how the Jim, the author, could take this and expand on it later. There are furies for the primary elements, Earth, Air, Fire, and Water. Then there are others like Wood and metal.
    The use of the furies in this book provides an alternative approach to modern day fantasy writing. Instead of having powerful wizards and warriors. There are Furies. Those with furies can be warriors, farmers, hunters, politicians, or even knights.
    I believe that anyone that is interested in Fantasy writing will find this book interesting. I would recommend this book to others and friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Witless

    In the past 25+ years of buying and reading all sorts of genre, I have only left two books unfinished: this was the second. I made it to page 296 before putting it down in dusgust. The storyline is disorganized, the characters are either cliche or witless, and the plot-movers are ill-disguised with little reason for their happenstance. The storyline has a boy with an unknown mysterious past, a wannabe spy who's supposed to have incredible talent but makes mistake after common-sense mistake, a spymaster who has switched sides in an upcoming rebellion, and a patina of Roman Empire with all the purported backstabbing that entity had. The characters are pitiful. On the 'bad' guys, you have the following: The expert and cynical spymaster who thinks the change of rebellion cannot be stopped so he switches sides (a character development that would have been better played out over half the book, rather than in just the first chapter). The unbeatable swordsman, who has little passion except for his kinky affair with a 'witch', but kills because he's so good at it. The 'High Lord' leading the rebellion, who has lots of power but wants to be 'First Lord' just because he wants more power. On the 'good' side, you have the following: the boy with no parents who has a mysterious past, can't think much beyond the moment, and is just starting to turn his mind to mush over girls. The godfather figure of his uncle, who is supposed to be experienced, learned, and somewhat wise but who makes mistake after mistake and acts indecisively. The 'loyal' spy who's supposed to be a hot-shot rookie with loads of talent, but who can't take a step without being two steps behind the 'bad' guys. The only way the plot moves is through improbable results of stupid actions. Too many occur in the first 296 pages alone to list. Let's just say that too frequently does 'fate' step in to keep the characters alive after stupidity struck, and too frequently 'fate' conveniently (blatantly) steps in to make a situation even more stupidly convoluted just so that same 'fate' can later untangle it all. In other words, it's not the action or reasoning of the characters that cause things to happen (or not to happen), it pretty much happens just to be happening. I like Butcher's Dresden series, they're not great but they're okay - readable and enjoyable. I thought this would be written well enough to invest in....it's not. Don't waste the money on it if you have any wish for a read better than that intended for young teenagers.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Ok

    This was the first Jim Butcher book that I have read.

    Though the premise of the story arc was good, the story moved way too slow. The charaters were likable but pretty predictable. I felt like it read more like a YA novel.

    Overall, not a bad book, but not going to rush out and grab the next one, maybe down the road will give the second book in the series a read.

    H.M. Franklin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great first book that launches a highly intriguing series, finished it in one sitting!

    Action starts in first chapter and doesn't let up. This book introduces Tavi and follows his exploits through a number of nearly impossible encounters and battles. Tavi must use his intelligence alone to win through as he is not able to use any of the Furies of Alera. Furies and the ability of a human to use them are Butcher's delightful implementation of Magic in the world of Alera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    right up there with John Ringo & David Weber

    right up there with John Ringo & David Weber

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just can't do it...

    First, let me say that I absolutely love the Harry Dresden series, and that my typical reading selection is fantasy. I assumed with those two things combined that this book series would be a perfect fit, but after ~100 pages, I just can't do it. The story is boring, and the world is boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    My 26 year old son recommended this series to me. I was skeptica

    My 26 year old son recommended this series to me. I was skeptical at first but now I am hooked. It is an epic story that spans years and
    involves many characters. The characters are well defined and have become "friends". I can't wait to see what will happen with them next.
    The magical world of Alera seems real and the author gives such detailed descriptions that I feel like I have visited Alera. The humor and
    swashbuckling adventure keeps me on the edge of my seat. If you like the Lord of the Rings series, Chronicles of Narnia series, then I 
    highly recommend this series. Thank you to Jim Butcher for spinning such a good tale!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    A pleasant suprise

    I love the dresdan files, I was hesitant at first to start reading the Codex series because it was wtitten in a differnt voice, but like everything else I've read, Jim Butcher captivates you. He's an excellent weaver of magical tales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    Very interesting premise, lots of potential

    I'm a fan of Jim Butcher's other series, but the fantasy genre has some pretty stiff competition in it. I wouldn't go so far as to say that the first book in the series is destined to be a classic, but it's entertaining and the world is an interesting one. I like the different take on magic, here, and I look forward to reading more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    If you are a Dresden Files fan do not read this book!

    It was simply awful. It read at about a fifth grade level, kind of like a Xanth novel but without the well developed characters or whimsical fun. Jim Butcher is a masterful writer but it almost seems as though someone else wrote this and put his name on the cover. Bad characters, horribly predictable plot and one cliche after another. If you are looking for a bad fantasy novel just reread The Golf balls of Shannara.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The story is well told but faces a certain difficulty: world-bui

    The story is well told but faces a certain difficulty: world-building. Butcher must build a world for you and get you to understand it without looking like he's building the world. It's not done too shabby, and if you can get through it, you will love the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Excellent

    I love his other series so i figured i would try this one out as well and i am happy i did. Slow to grab me it quickly sucked me in and now i am looking forward to the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Good but...

    I loved this book,except for the "almost" sex. These were thrown in too frequently and disrupted the flow of the story. These scenes told of hot need, passionate kissing, and some lead ins to sex, although they never actually inluded the act. I would buy the 2nd book, but am just not curious enuf about what happens to endure the writing again. I will say, the 2nd half was much better then the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 464 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24