Customer Reviews for

Furious Love: Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, and the Marriage of the Century

Average Rating 3.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

RIVETING !!!!

I don't usually read biographies and I was only a casual fan of Elizabeth Taylor -- I read of her "adventures, marriages, illnesses, etc. but I wasn't what I would call a real follower of her films and her life. However, I could not put this book down, and I gained a gr...
I don't usually read biographies and I was only a casual fan of Elizabeth Taylor -- I read of her "adventures, marriages, illnesses, etc. but I wasn't what I would call a real follower of her films and her life. However, I could not put this book down, and I gained a great respect for her after reading it - for her strength, her dignity and her kindnesses to her friends - she has a real inner strength -Richard Burton seemed like a tortured soul, but this book gave a real sense of the love and the unbreakable bond they shared. I actually cried when I read the last few pages - that NEVER happens to me! Their life together and even apart was very poignant- and tragic in a way - I almost hated finishing the book because I became so engrossed in their story - I would highly recommend this book not only to those of us who grew up during their Hollywood Reign, but even today's young people,to learn about the old Hollywood, the glamour, etc. and, it was funny in a way to read how scandalous their spending habits were viewed -- compared to Wall Street greed, the money the Burtons spent was nothing ! Today, your average hedge fund manager spends more and they don't even know what real glamour was.
This book did not just portray the movie stars that they were, it gave real insight into the two of them as real people, with real love, real pain,and I think it was very well written.

posted by 4097952 on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dick and Liz the Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie of their day

A great guilty pleasure read.

posted by doctor-zhivago on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    RIVETING !!!!

    I don't usually read biographies and I was only a casual fan of Elizabeth Taylor -- I read of her "adventures, marriages, illnesses, etc. but I wasn't what I would call a real follower of her films and her life. However, I could not put this book down, and I gained a great respect for her after reading it - for her strength, her dignity and her kindnesses to her friends - she has a real inner strength -Richard Burton seemed like a tortured soul, but this book gave a real sense of the love and the unbreakable bond they shared. I actually cried when I read the last few pages - that NEVER happens to me! Their life together and even apart was very poignant- and tragic in a way - I almost hated finishing the book because I became so engrossed in their story - I would highly recommend this book not only to those of us who grew up during their Hollywood Reign, but even today's young people,to learn about the old Hollywood, the glamour, etc. and, it was funny in a way to read how scandalous their spending habits were viewed -- compared to Wall Street greed, the money the Burtons spent was nothing ! Today, your average hedge fund manager spends more and they don't even know what real glamour was.
    This book did not just portray the movie stars that they were, it gave real insight into the two of them as real people, with real love, real pain,and I think it was very well written.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Had me furiously turning pages!

    Jun 24 2010
    By Kate Willard "Realtor" (California) - See all my reviews
    For anyone who was alive in the 1960's and 70's, we know immediately who is being referred to when we here the names "Richard & Liz." The extravagant, extended, on again, off again love affair between these two Iconic Hollywood figures was tabloid fodder for two decades. This book serves it all up on a deliciously full plate. The books style is not dry and academic, nor is it overly salacious, but it does have a gossipy enough tone that exposes all the juicy details! Ok this is not great literature, but it a fun read that is hard to put down, and I think the authors do stick to the facts (with Liz and Richard truth is stranger than fiction). In the end, their story is a sad one. It seems that their fame may have prevented them from sharing a full life together, as they obviously were in love.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brangelina? Definitely not.

    I am not a fan of books told by people that never knew the person or never worked with them. I also never liked books where the book was written out of spite or anger. But, when I heard how this book evolved, I knew that I couldn't wait to get my copy of this book. I have always been a fan of Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, but their love, if you can call such intense passion that, was legendary. They had a love that rivaled even the best of the best love stories. I heard that Elizabeth Taylor isn't calling this an authorized biography, but she helped the writers. Just knowing this will help me savor the story that much more.

    I also recommend another book for sale here on BN.com, it's an inspirational book called When God Stopped Keeping Score. As a divorcee, there is something in that book that helped me move on from my failed marriage. My favorite story is the story of the mother, daughter and the rock. Then, there is the story of the mothers and the ham. Amazing. Just amazing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    FURIOUS LOVE

    VERY CAPTIVATING AND DETAILED ACCOUNT OF THE GREATEST LOVE OF ALL TIME, FUNNY, SAD, THIS BOOK WILL TOUCH ALL YOUR EMOTIONS...ITS AS YOU ARE ALMOST THERE IN THE ROOM WITH THE TWO MOST ENDURING STARS OF OUR TIME..LOVED IT

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved this book. I took it with me on vacation and ate it up. I

    Loved this book. I took it with me on vacation and ate it up. I had no
    idea it would be this good, this involved and personal. I am now
    renting a lot of the movies talked about in the book as well and
    watching those in a new light. Also, the book really touched me knowing
    when this was written E Taylor was still alive. Great love story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A Page Turner

    A interesting book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Dick and Liz the Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie of their day

    A great guilty pleasure read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Great Guilty Pleasure

    A great read that gives insight without giving excuses.
    Despite all the craziness & alcohol, these two seemed to have loved each other as best they could in the midst of spotlights.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    E-sample a disaster

    It is unfotunate that the sample is such a disaster. It repeats the first 20 pages or so at least 5 times, even within sections suddenly you are reading a section that sounds familiar!
    It is difficult to determine the quality of the writing because of the poor technical offering.
    What I did read was well-written and brought forward insights of two famous actors I saw on stage!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Good book

    400+ pages

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    boring

    Said the same things over and over again and again.Do not waste your time or money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great read!

    This was a great read, lots of detail and I got a broad picture of these larger than life actors and the influence they had on the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Repetitve but entertaining

    The author jumps around the timeline a lot, and there is a lot of repetition of information, but it's still entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    Fascinating read into the original on again off again Hollywood love affair. Liz and Richard were icons of there day, old fashioned movie stars who could not live with or without each other. Fun read that brought back some memories for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5