Customer Reviews for

Fury (New Species Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read!!!

"Communication breakdown" is an understatement when it comes to new species.

Created in a lab using animal DNA, New Species were "treated as though they were guinea pigs, tools, and nothing more" in the name of science. It is hard to trust or love when you have only...
"Communication breakdown" is an understatement when it comes to new species.

Created in a lab using animal DNA, New Species were "treated as though they were guinea pigs, tools, and nothing more" in the name of science. It is hard to trust or love when you have only known pain and hate.

Ellie Brower only knew the test subject as 416, but she was drawn to him. She agrees to go undercover as a spy to gather evidence of Mercile Industries illegal drug research, in hopes of freeing all the test subjects, but especially 416. A strong character, she is determined to do anything to save the New Species, even die. She is one person you can't help but admire and applaud for throughout the story.

416, also known as Fury, can never forget Ellie but he feels betrayed and wants revenge when he comes face to face with her at the New Species Homeland compound, even though there is something inside him that does not want to see her hurt. Communication breakdown can cause a lot of problems and misunderstanding. Watching the plot play out, I found I wanted to scream a few times because of others sticking their noses into the middle of Fury and Ellie's business. However, I must say it made for an exciting and a sweet love story even if I felt the need to pull my hair out because of all the interference.

I saw a few editing errors -- misued words mostly -- but nothing that pulled me from the story. I loved the plot; it was unique and easy to imagine with today's technology in DNA testing, in which something like this could really happen. It was enthralling in that animalistic kind of way, with some hot sex scenes and a lot of heart melting bonding between two people. Most definitely a delicious testosterone filled book that is worth reading.

Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Lacks much to be desired

I typically don't take the time to write a review, but I feel it my duty to do so in this case. I can understand the comparison between this series and the Breeds series by Lora Leigh, but where Breeds holds depth New Species might as well be wearing water wings. I'm a ...
I typically don't take the time to write a review, but I feel it my duty to do so in this case. I can understand the comparison between this series and the Breeds series by Lora Leigh, but where Breeds holds depth New Species might as well be wearing water wings. I'm a sensory reader. I want to be in the book with these characters, feel what they feel, become outraged with them, hurt with them. The writing style of New Species didn't do it for me, verry shallow writing. I almost felt insulted with how the last chapter would be coveyed back in dialog between the hero/heroine, like we don't have the capacity to retain the info. Many other ratings had been good, 4+ stars, so what am I missing? I don't know, didn't like the style of Fifty Shades either, once again for the same reason, insulted intelligence. I don't need anybody holding my hand while reading S&M. If I could comment without give'n it a star, said star would not be there.

posted by 4568908 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    This is a great series.

    I am hooked on JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood Series and I will say that this series is just as addictive as the Brotherhood. Dohner is an excellent storyteller and pulls you in right from the beginning. You will feel every emotion from anger to joy when you read these books. Enjoy!!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read the whole series and the similarities of the opresse

    I have read the whole series and the similarities of the opressed in real life (because of the color of their skin) relly touches a nerve. The romance is incredibe and I am hoping that the story line goes in a different direction instead of more of the same.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Excellent start to a n Excellent start

    Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Couldn't put it down. Looking forward to starting Slade (#2 in the series).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ~ 4 Fury Stars ~ Great start to this series! Fury is book one i

    ~ 4 Fury Stars ~ Great start to this series!

    Fury is book one in the New Species series by Laurann Dohner. The first time I read this I rated it three stars, but now that I know the world, characters, and have a better feel for the New Species I upped my rating. I enjoyed Fury better the second time around. 


    This series is not for the faint of heart, with some close rape scenes, violence, racism, and some very HOT sex. It does take some getting use too the New Species as a breed, the violence they and others go through as well as the oh so SPICY sex. The New Species are trying to adjust into a world that does not want them as well as they are learning about themselves and their animal instincts. It was great to see them trying to learn and adjust to life in the real world. 


    Their is lots of wit and headache too in this book. The couple Fury and Ellie have several obstacles to get over between themselves and others to be in a relationship. It’s all new for everyone. We get to live this new life and experience through both Ellie and Fury’s point of view. The way they handle issues that came up is both heartwarming and heartbreaking depending on the scene. It’s a battle for everyone both as individual people and as a group. 


    Fury is a good beginning to the series and it only gets better as it goes along. If you are looking for something a little sexy and different, then I recommend giving this one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    New fave series

    Just happened to come across this series and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    really good!

    I really liked this book:) Just a really good book in my opinion. I Liked ellie and fury and their story. looking forward to reading the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book that I've read from Laurianne Dohner and

    This is the first book that I've read from Laurianne Dohner and will not be my last. 
    Fury is a great introduction to a new world. New Species were created. Company scientists have spliced human and animal DNA to create the ultra fighting machine, bigger, faster, stronger and quick to heal. Fury has never known kindness until Ellie. Only to be betrayed by her in the end. Ellie was horrified to find out what Mercile Industries were doing. She vowed to get all the information she could to bring them down. She saved Fury from being killed at the hands of a technician by killing him only to frame Fury for his death. The only thing she could do to get out of there and save him and all the others. He has vowed to end her life that is until he has her in his hands and that's the last thing he wants to do to the human woman. Can he have Ellie or is he to much of an animal?
    This is one hot read and Fury is the ultimate alpha male and I loved every minute of it. I'm moving on to book two "Slade".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    When Ellie learns that the pharmaceutical company she works for is doing illegal, not to mention immoral and cruel experimentation on people, she knows she has to do her part to stop it. She sees the men and women whose DNA have been mixed with animals creating a brand new species, and one particular subject she can’t get out of her head. She will do anything to save him, even if it means he hates her, if it means risking not only her own life but all the New Species as well if she is caught.

    I got this book on a whim, and because a cover with a sexy man holding chains clearly equals the kind of book I want to read. Boy was I right, this was a fun, sexy read packed to the rafters full of hot alpha guys with potential for their own books as well as lots of growly, bitey, primal sexy times.

    Ellie and Fury were great together, both sexy and sweet, once they got past a tiny misunderstanding and Fury stopped hating her. The sexual chemistry between them was fantastic, you could feel how much Fury wanted her, even when he didn’t want to. If you are like me and love shifter books where the males are possessive and alpha, especially when they are meeting their mate, then this is the type of romance you will be lapping up.

    The background story about the company – Mercile – creating and eerimenting on the New Species was also interesting, the first book shows you when they are all relatively new to their freedom and they are feeling their way to their new life. I loved seeing the other characters, both male and female and I can’t wait to read more about them

    I really enjoyed this book and it is a good beginning to the series and I will definitely be continuing to read, if you are after something a little sexy and easy to read, then give this Fury a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Great start to this series

    This was very hot and Fury is VERY likeable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great Read!

    I'm going to admit to NOT being particularly fond of the Breed series...the women in the series seem a little clueless to me. I like how Ellie makes a decision early on that she is committed to subject 416 and then does everything in her power to save him...including risking the operation to save his life. I don't I was comfortable with all the oversharing she did of all their business but oh well...it made for good drama. Speaking of drama I like the obstacles they had to overcome...it wasn't just I thought you said this/no I really meant this nonsense. It is my first time reading this author but I've got a feeling I'll be flexing my gift card!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Must Read

    I absolutely love this series. Even thought the story lines are along the same line there are enough differences in the books, from each other, that you really get wrapped up on the characters. Not to mention the steamy scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Recommended...

    Read the whole series and loved all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Good book

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let me first off by saying I was worried this would have been to

    Let me first off by saying I was worried this would have been too similar to Lora Leigh's breed series. However, I was very wrong about this. I am glad Laurann Dohner left a few things out that would have made it way to much like The breeds. I will not list them because it would give some things away. Why would I do that?


    Now onto the good stuff. This story take place in Southern California. Elise who was sent to obtain records regarding New Species sees subject 416 and does everything she can to keep him alive even if it means betraying him so she can get the information out or Mercile Industries. Fury has a past he is ashamed of and does not like to remember. He has vowed to kill one person when he sees her. The moment he does everything changes.

    Throughout the story we get to see the relationship between Fury and Elise grow. We also see the relationship with the female New Species and Elise grow as well. But with those growing relationships comes danger both in and outside of Homeland. Between the all the anger and sadness we are met with love, and passion.


    All in all I can't wait to read the next book. I want to learn more about Breeze, Halfpint, Justice, and Tiger. These are just some of the other characters we meet.

    Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Well written! I was surprised at how involved I became with the

    Well written! I was surprised at how involved I became with the characters. This series is reminicent of another yet was enthralling on it's own merits! I can't wait to read the next book. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    2 thumbs up

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    A well-written 4star read. I’m getting the elephant out o

    A well-written 4star read.

    I’m getting the elephant out of the room first. Yes this is similar enough to be an entry in another popular series about animal/human hybrids. When I first started, I went “Oh no, I’m already reading Breeds.”

    Taking this story on its own merits, here are my thoughts. The star couple (Fury North & Ellie Brower), do not meet cute. She is an undercover nurse at a research facility that is performing tests by combining the DNA of animals and humans to come up with a New Species and then pushing the subjects to their limit. He is one of those hybrids being tested. In an effort to preserve her identity and help those being tortured she betrays Fury.

    There’s a terrific blend of action, suspense and romance being played out between the lead and secondary characters to make this an effortless read. The overall storyline and character base does provide a broad enough canvas for this to become its own successful series and get out of the shadow of the other similar series. I especially liked the secondary characters (including the fanatics) and the amount of suspense & danger woven into the story. It seems in this type of series a great deal of attention is paid to the secondary characters to keep you interested enough to come back for seconds – it worked well here. If there was a flaw in the characterization for me it would have to be the female lead. Ellie almost bordered on martyrdom and annoying – when she was middle of the road she was great.

    I’m definitely willing to give this series a chance to stand on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Not Vampires! Yea

    Very hot and sexy. A cool twist on romance. The language is crude somewhat, but good if you can get by that. Bought the series and read them all in a week. Great entertainment, but the theme got old by the last book. Same formula, different guy.. Still I recommend the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!

    loved the entire series of these books. If you like shapeshifter series, this is a must to have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Love this series

    This is the first of many great books. It takes a slightly different spin than most paranormal romance books.The characters are flawed but fight for their fair share of the "american dream." Love the series and cannot wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6