Customer Reviews for

The Future of Freedom: Illiberal Democracy at Home and Abroad

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Enlightening

    Finally someone can explain why some democracys fail and others succeed. Finally someone who understands the cultures that drive the Middle East. Fareed Zacharia for Secretary of State!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Zakaria's latest: what freedoms are you missing?

    This is a great example of a highly acclaimed book that actually deserves its reputation. Author Fareed Zakaria¿s refreshing perspective explains the political and economic world in a new way. He tackles political theory with bright witty style, so you barely notice that you are traveling through intellectually dense presentations on the distinctions between democracy and liberalism, how to rechannel Islamic fundamentalism, the problem with lobbying, the decline of American political parties and the end of authoritarianism. Zakaria clarifies many of the problems relating to the downside of democracy by providing an innovative perspective on the world¿s most serious problems. In this creative, well-researched and thought-provoking volume, he addresses economics, politics and social institutions around the globe. We highly recommend this exceptional book, which is packed with informative, provocative material. Corporate leaders and managers who are interested in the future of liberal democracy and the challenges facing modern society should read every page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Awesome Read

    Zakaria provides some very useful insight into many of the modern day trends that currently afflict our democracy. The book does lack concrete solutions but leaves you clearly informed about the main causes of our current day political malaise. Also Zakaria challenges many modern day notions about democracy and society in general. A must read for anyone interested in government

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible: An in depth analysis of the makeup and evolution of democracy!

    Read this book for a course on democratization theory. Traces the evolution of democratic principles, institutions, and systems over time. Additionally, Zakaria gives great examples of case studies around the world. Zakaria also reveals that Democracies come in all shades and varieties. While some are liberal in orientation, others are illiberal in nature. A good foundational work that should be read by all who are interested in the forces that make up a democratic society and its people. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Freakin' Amazing

    Very inquistive look at the common institutions and political activity we witness in our country and abroad. Momumental in terms of political theory that would be a great read for any politician or aspiring politician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    Listen Up

    A refreshing, original, honest and intelligent work. Zakaria is no polemicist by far, and no fool, He outlines carefully the paramount importance of freedom and constitutional liberty, liberal in the classical 19th Century sense, over elections and illiberal democracy. The parallels drawn between cultural and political development and the destructive power of excess 'democratization' are excellent. Read and think - and worry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    A must read for every American

    A must read for every American that thinks that democracy is the solution for every problem. This problem shows the failure and sometimes consequences of democracy. This book shows the reality of democracy rather than the idealism behind it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    This man should win a noble prize for this book

    If you are interested in current affairs, just go ahead and buy this book and you will not be dissapointed. If not, i suggest you read this article http://www.fareedzakaria.com/articles/newsweek/101501_why.html. It is one of the finest by the author and infact forms a part of this book. If you like it, you will certainly like the book. This book is an amazing analysis of democracy and liberty and how the two words get confused. It dispells a lot of myths about democracy we all carry. Its the one book i have found that has fit the jigsaw puzzle together. Read it - its an enjoyable ride and at the end of it you will end up thinking. 'oh why didnt i see it earlier'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Absolute Must Read for Everyone on Earth

    The Future of Freedom is the most important book I have read in the last year. And I read at least 150 books a year. It may be the most affecting political book I have ever read. It is clear, (almost) non-partisan, timely, and just incredibly, heartbreakingly sane. Fareed Zakaria illustrates the ways in which we misunderstand democracy -- primarily the way in which we confuse democracy with liberty. Also the failure of the international community (often the US) to understand how best to aid the transition from autocratic governments to democratic ones without simply creating new autocratic elites (particularly relevant now -- Jay Garner, please read this book). Along the way he gives a terrific history of liberty, as well as a much-needed smackdown of the idea that Islam needs to be 'reformed' in order to be compatible with any of the following: capitalism, democracy, liberty. Then, just when I thought I couldn't get more pleased, he eviscerates the short-sighted thinking behind referendums in my own country and even quotes a bit of Evelyn Waugh. :-) The only problem with the book is that it was obviously rushed out as a result of current events -- I saw a shocking number of typos, I'd say at least ten, and I wasn't exactly reading this thing as a copyeditor. But in terms of explaining a difficult subject in a way that almost anyone can understand, The Future of Freedom does for democracy what A Brief History of Time did for theoretical physics. I can only pray that it will be similarly successful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Problems inherent in democracy

    I just finished 2 great books: this book about the problems inherent in democracy, and Make Every Girl Want You by Fate and Reil about how to avoid the problems inherent in meeting and approaching women! This book really touches on democracy from all angles, and how it works in some situations, but not in others. The key, as Mr. Zakaria correctly points out, is that democracy needs its limits. If you don¿t keep it in check, it will run rampant. I really like the examples the author uses to prove his points, such as the Germans actually electing the Nazis in the early 20th century! He is correct in his assertion that we need more appointed bodies, such as the World Trade Organization and Supreme Court. Mr. Zakaria has proven once again that he truly is one of the world¿s top foreign affairs columnists. This book is absolutely mandatory reading for anyone studying government, politics, law, or anyone simply curious about the past, present, & future of democracies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    A Fresh Viewpoint For Our Times

    Fareed Zakaria applies the same clarity of thought and expression that he provides Newsweek readers to his 'The Future of Freedom.' His is a welcome point of view, coming at a time when Americans seem hellbent on democracizing the world, regardless of whether it makes sense or not. Zakaria provides much-needed sense and perspective, citing how the hurried application of democracy could result in the opposite of its intended effect. <p>Zakaria favors democracy when it enhances freedom, not wanting it for its own sake. He favors a minimum per capita income to make democracy workable. (I have personally felt that this and a minimum level of education and civil organization are necessary.) As such, he tends to fly in the face of prevailing thinking, but he does so with reason and understanding, both of current situations and of history. <p>President Bush should read this book and provide it to his senior advisors on international affairs. It would aid them in a more measured application of democracy throughout the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1