Customer Reviews for

The Future of Us

Average Rating 4
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

posted by booksonmynook on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best frien...
In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

posted by Nikkayme on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

    In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

    As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

    Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

    Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

    The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

    37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Eh...

    I liked Jay Asher's last novel a lot, his writing style was incredible. This book was lame. Emma was whiny. The concept is kinda cool, but for the money, I found it to be not worth it. I wish it had more...depth. IMO, either check it out of the library for free or wait until it goes on sale.

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, futuristic, tale!

    I received this book in the mail about a week ago (without my knowledge!), and I'm so glad I did! I don't think I would have picked up this book on my own, which would have been a shame because it was so endearing! The story is over the course of only one week, but it's definitely enough time for you to learn a lot about the characters and enjoy the story. The whole thing is written from altering perspectives between Josh and Emma (Emma Nelson, which made me think of Degrassi!!), and I really like it when authors do that because then you get both sides of the story. It was a great way to get me to fall madly in love with both characters.

    At first, I wasn't a big fan of Emma. She doesn't really appreciate anything she has, and she's kind of a whiney brat, but she really grows throughout the story. I loved watching Emma grow and develop and sort of find herself and appreciate what's directly in front of her, rather than always wanting more. And Josh. Oh Josh. He's such a kind guy, he's totally crush worthy! I pictured him as the tall, somewhat dorky, skater kid who gets overlooked by a lot of girls, but is such a sweetie he made my heart melt.

    The plot itself is really interesting as well, the idea of finding yourself on Facebook in 15 years and learning about your future self through status updates was a really cool aspect. And all the different things they go to to try and change their futures, or keep them the same, are great to read about. Emma's not happy about her future husband so she decides she'll never meet him. Josh loves that he'll marry the hottest chick at school so he tries as hard as he can to hold on to her in the present. Eventually they learn more about themselves in the present then they ever could, knowing the future.

    Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a little romantic, realistic fiction. The characters go through a lot of real life dilemmas (albeit in a weird time travelish way), and I think anyone (boy or girl) could relate to the story. I really enjoyed reading this, it was quick, fun, thought-provoking, and I even teared up a bit! Go check this one out as soon as you can!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Definately Recommended

    If you read and liked 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asther then you will definately love this!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Hmm..

    It was an okay, easy read. But I kept waiting for something big to happen that would change everything, but that never came. Its definitely a library book, dont buy it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Is this book to fasr!!!!!

    I luv fast paced books but im woundering if this book is to fast somwone plz reply thanx

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Loved it :)

    <3

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Amazing story and fantastic plot. It's now on my shelf waiting to be read over and over agian. Truly awesome!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    From previously reading "13 Reasons Why", I was more t

    From previously reading &quot;13 Reasons Why&quot;, I was more than excited to start this book. Jay Asher and Carolyn Macklers writing styles paired perfectly together to make for an amazing read. I highly recommend this book to anyone. I was able to finish it in 2 DAYS! The book kept me turning the pages and wanting more and more. It was hard to not fall in love with the characters and story line.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    13 reasons why

    Thirteen reasons why is better even though it is more sad.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    A very good book

    This book is spectacular! It kept me reading late through the night, and I think its really uplifting. I just wish it had been longer and in more detail because i liked it so much!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book, even though fiction, makes you reflect on your choices and what the outcome could be

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Love It!

    This book is all about Emma and Josh looking at their own future, i finished this book in one day! i recommend it this book is awesome


    PS: i'm a very picky person when it comes down to books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great book

    If you are looking for a great book to read then i would pick this one it was fast pass and very amazing looked this book but it is mostly for teens that like romance and mistory it was fantastic please read this book you will love it i promise you that

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read!

    Good read. Interesting how things have changed and how Facebook affects our lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Book looks like bout love

    Is thiz book bout LOVE p.s. michie wrote this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    This book sucks

    After reading the first two or three chapters Ive come to a conclusion, Ive seen better works of literature from my fellow middle school students! No matter what anyone else tells you, DONT BUY THIS!!!!!! (I gave it two stars to be nice)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Not bad

    This was a decent book, but not fantastic. Jay ashers first novel blew me away and i kept waiting for this one to do the same but it never did. I feel they had a great story line and they really could have done so much more with it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Really good book

    This is a really good book and a quick read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16